We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Authentic Meal, Work the Walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Meloncello

Trattoria Meloncello
via Saragozza, 240/a, Bologna, Italy (Saragozza)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 1,300 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Saragozza
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Meal, Work the Walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at this restaurant on a hot summer evening. Our waiter nicely explained that the restaurant served "La Cucia Tipica", the typical food of the region(some of the best food in Italy). We started with local antipasti - fresh prociutto and mortadella. We sampled four pastas between seven of us - the Tagliatelle al Ragu, the Gramignia col Ragu di Salsiccia, the Tortellini in Brodo, and the Tortellini Ricotta e Salvia. All were excellent, and we especially loved the Gramignia, a thin, wavy noodle. We drank chilled local Lambrusco, a slightly fizzy red wine, and sat out on the patio. The wine went perfectly with the food, and the meal came to 150 Euros for 4 adults and 3 children. We were the only non-Italians in the place. When we were ready to go, the restaurant called taxis to take us back to the center of Bologna for gelato (dessert looked excellent at Meloncello too.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    119
    66
    42
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A faultless trattoria lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stumbled upon Trattoria Meloncello after walking back down the pioneer walk from San Luca. My wife is fussy about picking the right restaurant and this one caught her eye (despite looking fairly ordinary from the front). It was a really a great, traditional lunch. We each had homemade pastas and both of them were superb. All other tables had "proper Italians" but our waiter was very friendly and helpful (he suggested we try a special maccaroni style from the region with a bolognaise made only with sausage which was superb). It was the perfect lunch and if it was closer to where we were staying we would have gone back for a dinner there as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Beautiful place, perfect service and absolutely great food! We had tagliatelle al ragù and tortelli ricotta and spinaci , the best quality at all! This is a non turistic place so there were only locals and the atmosphere was relaxed. Prices are honest (10-12 Euro for a plate of fresh pasta is more than honest I would say).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were looking for an authentic Bolognese Sunday lunch and that is exactly what we got. We were the only tourists there, food was superb and the service flawless. In terms of cost, we spent around 100 euros for 3 of us and had a starter, main and dessert with wine and coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good quality a little over priced though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

nice friendly setting, very good food, but, as I said, a little overpriced. worth it, every once in a while.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Meloncello also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Trattoria Meloncello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Meloncello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.