We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Urbino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo San Domenico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo San Domenico to your Saves list
Albergo San Domenico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Rinascimento, 3, 61029 Urbino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Urbino
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Urbino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Albergo San Domenico is directly in the center of Urbino. Across from the Ducal Palace and the Cathedral. Next to the Church of San Domenico. If you drive to Urbino, there is secure parking in a gated area directly assessing the hotel.

The staff greeted us quickly and friendly. The rooms are large, clear but somewhat dated. We enjoyed the comfort. The bathroom was recently redone and has been modernized.

From our previous stay, we remember paying for internet. It is now free but we were only able to access it in the common areas of the lobby and breakfast area.

Breakfast was an extra charge but well worth it. We particularly like the friendly lady who served us Cappuccino in the morning and ready got us a second and even a third.

Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
77
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Albergo San Domenico is central, set in a beautiful, paved area and has a secure courtyard car park at the back. (€12 extra). All Italian hotels are having another tough year and if there are one or two small things that need repair or replacement in your immaculately clean, warm bedroom with bathroom ensuite, try to ignore them because the kindness of the staff will outshine such minor things. We found a plate of crisp apples, a half bottle of wine and crisps to enjoy for free after our journey and before we ventured out for supper. (Tea & instant coffee on offer too).
The hotel is quiet but Urbino is a University town and a few hundred yards from the hotel down in the main piazza, it is lively in the evening but all is tranquil in March further up where the hotel is located.
Breakfast is provided at an extra charge and there is so much on offer. If you have eaten dinner the previous night it may be impossible to manage such a large choice of savoury and sweet things to eat with limitless coffee. We could leave our parked car until after lunch and so we viewed the Ducal Palace, Raphael’s House and enjoyed a superb lunch close by.

Room Tip: The large wall radiator in the bathroom is perfect for drying underwear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a lovely hotel situated in an ideal spot in Urbino, just opposite the Ducal Palace. The minute you step inside the hotel you reaction is 'Wow!' The look of the lobby is an elegant mix of old Italian architechure and modern art. Look out for the feet on the bottom of the filing cabinet!
The rooms are all fabulously large (I visited three rooms, mine and my friends) with plenty of storage, desks, comfy chairs, and a TV. The bed is two singles pushed together but very large and comfortble. I was initially concerned that the sheets would not prove warm enough but they were. The bathroom is also plenty large enough and scrupulously clean. Rooms are cleaned everyday and the beds made up.
There is a great choice of food for breakfast and Enrica, who served us everyday, was always cheerful and friendly. There is no restaurant for evening meals however.
My only reservation about this hotel is that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Other than that I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have spent three days here and I have been very impressed by not only the excellent service of a friendly and welcoming staff, but also by the beautiful room! Large, simply but tastefully decorated , it has a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom and is certainly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in I particularly liked the old fashioned charm of the furnishings. The breakfast is also very good. The hotel is conveniently situated in the historic centre. I recommend this place and certainly hope that I can return before too long!

Room Tip: I can't deselect "pool" and "fitness centre"! I don't think it has eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Situated in front of Ducale Palace and the Cathedral.
Very good access to the main sightseeing spots.
The hotel staff were very kind.
Always tried to help me.

As it use to be a monastery,the atmosphere was great.
Rooms are big and clean.
Breakfast was very tasty. Especially the local ham and cheese.
Loved the tart?Quiche?thing with eeg and ham!!
Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Italia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ok, you are in front of the Palazzo Ducale, and at walking distance from everything in old Urbino. And the hotel is reasonably good for cleanliness, position, breakfast and so on. But it could be definitely better, considering the price you pay and the overall expectations.
They say that the architect that made the restoration from a previous convent decided to make it visible that the hotel is really an hotel added to a previous convent, using very strong colors to distinguish. But the final effect is not pleasant because the hotel all in all is neither new nor old-style. You have this strange features added to a very old-fashioned mood.
Breakfast anyway is excellent, and also the possibility of having a parking at convenient price in Urbino center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and found the hotel to be reasonably good. On the plus side, the staff were helpful when asked, the room was clean and very spacious and hotel is conveniently situated near the palazzo Ducale. Furishings are a little old fashioned and unfortunately the bed was hard and uncomfortable (for me). The breakfast was fabulous and catered for every taste but was not included in the room price despite being pretty sure I read it as an inclusion on the booking website. The wifi was not only expensive but I could only get it in the foyer, not in the room. There were no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. If approaching hotel from bus stop in the Piazza Mercatale, be sure to find the lift (l'ascensore) which will take some of the hard work out of the climb, as hotel is right at the top of the town and lugging a bag up the cobblestoned long steep incline was not easy for this older traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Domenico

Address: Piazza Rinascimento, 3, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo San Domenico 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Domenico Urbino
Albergo San Domenico Hotel Urbino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo San Domenico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.