We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica osteria da la Stella

Antica osteria da la Stella
Via S. Margherita 1, 61029 Urbino, Italy
+39 0722320228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Urbino
Price range: $37 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Utterly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This really is a lovely little restaurant and I would go back to Urbino just to eat there again. The hosts are so welcoming, kind and attentive and cannot do enough for you. The ambience is lovely (much better than the website would suggest in my opinion) and the food truly award winning. The menu mixes classic dishes with some very innovative ones, and it works well. The beef was exceptional, the cheeses interesting and accompanied by some original relishes. the wine is excellent and it is all very reasonably priced for the high standard it offers. The two meals we had there (in 3 days...so it must be good!) were both ones I will savour for a long time to come.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    137
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Share the 5 course meal, it is too much for one person.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The food was great. The view was great as you looked down on one of the main streets to see the people carrying on their business.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice and quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

In the culinary landscape of Urbino it's one of the best places I know.
A nice place, with a quite elegant atmosphere where it may be relaxing taking a break for a satisfactory meal.
The kitchen offers an interesting compromise between classic Italian cuisine and a certain amount of interesting innovation; it may be nice both for travellers desiring to taste something interesting as well as for Italians.
There also a good choice of wines, served properly.
Of course it's not the cheap restaurant for a fast meal; but if you're enjoying your time in Urbino and want to add something tasty to it... why not!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We loved this restaurant with its beautiful setting. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented from the breads to desert. We asked for wine suggestions, and enjoyed a great Marche wine. It was a perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serendipity - it made our brilliant day in Urbino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

"Just follow the smell of truffles", we were told by a lovely old lady. We did and received a warm welcome from Giovanna and Elivio. We took their advice - and our meal was the highlight of the day, putting even the visit to the Palazzo Ducale in the shade. We experienced the subtle flavour of truffle. Each dish was sophisticated yet simple and was beautifully presented. When we learned that the chefs were just 27 and 21 years old, we were amazed. The recommended Marche wine was special.

This is a very special restaurant in every respect.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica osteria da la Stella also viewed

Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 

Been to Antica osteria da la Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica osteria da la Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.