We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique accomodation in the countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pignocco Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Pignocco Country House to your Saves list
Il Pignocco Country House
Strada del Pignocco 3 | Santa Veneranda, 61122 Pesaro, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pesaro
Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unique accomodation in the countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Il Pignocco Country House takes just a bit of 'finding', but is worth the trouble.

We booked the Feronia apartment for four nights and found it to be one of the more unique places we have stayed. It is actually on four levels: kitchen/sitting area on the first level, bathroom (with whirlpool) on the second, bedroom on the third, and open-air terrace on top. Spiral staircases connect the levels, and windows (curtained, of course) abound on the bathroom and bedroom floors. Air conditioning is independent for each of the three enclosed levels.

Service is as expected a B&B accommodation, that is, linens and towels are not changed daily as in most hotels. This is not generally an issue, and a refresh can be requested if needed.

The property is gated. Guests are given a card, along with the room key, which will open the gate...and also serves to operate the lights in the room (they will turn off a few minutes after the card is removed).

Plenty of parking is available very near the buildings, so transportation of luggage is not a problem.

The kitchen is supplied with flatware, towels, pots and pans, and condiments. A small refrigerator and cooktop provide the means to prepare simple meals in the apartment.

The bed was large (it actually takes most of the third level area) and comfortable, and the whirlpool bath functioned flawlessly.

From the rooftop terrace, there are fine views around the countryside and across part of Pesaro to the sea. The autostrada is visible (and slightly audible) to the south-east.

For the most part, it was very quiet at Il Pignocco. The one exception was the night of our arrival when somewhere in the near distance someone was having a very loud party...well into the night. While it was quite annoying while sitting outside, inside we could not hear it.

The owners (Anna and Francesca) were accommodating and helpful. They and their families live on-site and are eager to help with any arrangements. We especially enjoyed Osteria del Giogo - a very authentic trattoria in nearby Novilara.

We did not examine any other apartments, but can certainly recommend Feronia as a unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the Il Pignocco website for information on the apartments, and correspond with the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
69
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Siamo stati 4 giorni con mia famiglia al Pignocco. Era bellissima, very relaxing. I will finish in english: the place is typically italian with "pace", olive trees, great swimming pool within the olive trees field, elegance in the rooms and outside, very convenient kitchens in the rooms which is great for a family with kids.

Our hosts were very nice and organised a party because we had the chance to stay while there was the "festa del basilico" in the village Santa Veneranta. The place is close to the Autostrada but as it is on top of the hill, it is not a problem. It is a great place!


Famiglia di Parigi in giro in Italia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just returned from our week in Pesaro, staying at Il Pignocco.
The appartment, the house, the garden, the people and the surroundings are really beautiful! And the placing is excellent for trips to Sirolo and Urbino, which were the two fantastic towns we chose to visit.
To stay up the hills like this was a much better solution for us than by the ocean/in the city. Beautiful scenery, fresh air, nice views and quite surroundings.
The one thing we would like to tip you about, is in fact the quite surroundings. We felt that we disturbed some of the other guests, being two families includning two boys at twelve. That`s the one think I would consider...
Otherwise: BEAUTIFUL!
Best wishes,
Marianne Mikalsen and familly, Norway

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were 2 couples who spent a week at Il Pignocco, and we loved it ! It was like having a private summer-house in the most beautiful surroundings in the country-side, but close to both town, villages and the sea. Among many good thing we noticed that the air-conditioning was super-effective and super-noiseless :-) The staff is extremely nice and helpful.
Inge & Poul
Esbjerg, DK

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is one of the loveliest, most serene, and tasteful places I have ever been to. The family has taken such care with every detail: from faucets, to door handles, to tiles, to a hideaway kitchen module, to the hammock by the pool. If you care about graceful, simple, timeless design, you will really love being here. The setting is wonderful: fields of sunflowers, a grove of olive trees, the town of Pesaro in the distance, and the lovely old (but fully renovated) structure of the villa itself (muted grey with grey shutters and an old chapel just behind). The family is very helpful; their little grandaughter toddles about and a friendly golden retriever blesses the domain. A wonmderful restaurant in the small town ten minutes away. Excellent in every way.

Room Tip: we had a second floor suite in the separate building, which slept four easily; lovely porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amstelveen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

it is a very beautifull place. Apartment is big and a great terrace.
kitchen is a little bit small.
We would love to come back..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Pignocco Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pignocco Country House

Address: Strada del Pignocco 3 | Santa Veneranda, 61122 Pesaro, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Pesaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pesaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa of Pignocco rises in a panoramic position on the gentle slopes overlooking the seaside town of Pesaro. It is an ancient and fascinating farmhouse dating back to 1700 and today it has been carefully restructured. What was once the barn, the stall, the tower and the sharecropper’s residence have now been turned into comfortable apartments, where one can take a relaxing vacation surrounded by nature and close to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Pignocco Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pignocco Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.