We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Wonders

City Wonders
Vatican City, Italy (Formerly Dark Rome Tours)
+39 0683360561
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$28*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City Wonders (Formerly Dark Rome) provides the best possible tours of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica and more via its partnership with the Vatican. Be sure to visit out website to explore the various tour options we offer with exclusive, Skip the Line Access to your favorite attractions.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We can not imagine seeing all of this without our wonderful guide and this tour. It was totally worth every penny and we would highly recommend it.

The tour was from City Wonders (Dark Rome) and we forgot our guides name (she is dating one of the guards she met there!), she had an excellent knowledge and passion of the art and history of these amazing sights.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    55
    17
    11
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extended Vatican tour - better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was not sure what to expect with a Vatican tour. However, this was an unexpected joy. Our tour guide Sev, an archeologist, was extremely knowledgeable , and made the tour very interesting. It was a lesson in art history, as well as site history. We missed the queues, and accessed areas off limits to the general public. All in all, money well spent, and thoroughly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Booked the Vatican Sistine Express and St. Peters Basilica tour for 4 April of this year. Our taxi driver had no problem finding the meeting spot, which for us was the first and only highlight of this tour. Yes, we had early entrance and skipped the crowds. But our tour guide did not seem as knowledgeable as one would expect. He was hard to understand at times, not sure if it was the ear piece or reception but it was annoying. Often we seemed to be on a race with no time to understand what we were seeing. Thankfully I had my Rick Steves book with me so I could read about what we were seeing. Should have waited in line and did the tour with the Rick Steves book instead, would have saved us almost $200!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkRomeCS, Guest Relations Manager at City Wonders, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Shacksugar99,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your tour of the Vatican. It is only through feedback like yours that we can continue to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your guide and that his accent was difficult to understand and that you had problems with your headset. Our guides generally have extra headsets in the event one is not working. At City Wonders, we are committed to providing the best quality tours for our guests and ensuring the highest possible level of satisfaction. I have alerted our Guides Management team about your issues with your guide's accent and the overall quality of your tour; we will be working to make the needed improvements. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we can earn your business back in the future.

Best,

City Wonders Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wonderful tour with a very informative and patient guide. The tour lasted more than 3 hours and was very thorough. I can't imagine going through this museum without a guide. Anna was great!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good investment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Brilliant and worth the organisation back at joke to pre-book this tour of the Vatican. Although very busy we walked straight in as a small party of 12. Excellent tour guide who was enthusiastic and provided us with interesting back stories. She was well organised and knew the Vatican excellently. Lots of time to reflect, take photos. Thank you we would use your company again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Wonders also viewed

 

Been to City Wonders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Wonders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.