We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but a must-see. Transports you back in time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Museums

Vatican Museums
Viale Vaticano, 00120 Vatican City, Italy
+39 06 69884676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$79*
and up
Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel...
Ranked #13 of 25 Attractions in Vatican City
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Art Museums, History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With more than five miles of corridors, this vast complex of museums chronicles the history and accomplishments of mankind over the last 2000 years, featuring classic masterpieces such as Rodin's "Thinker" and the Sistine Chapel.
Bombay
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Crowded but a must-see. Transports you back in time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Vatican museum is certainly the best I've ever been to. It's worth both the time and the money you will spend to see it! Go as early as you can before the crowd builds up. We did the guided tour as we couldn't be bothered to waste half a day standing in a line. It's worth the few extra euros.

The museum is immense and spells grandeur. There's so much to take in you can hardly manage it in a whole day. But do go there... What's the use of traveling all the way to Rome and not visiting the Vatican. You'd have to be crazy to not do that, right???

Point to note -- If you go there on the last Sunday of the month, entry to the museum is free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,802
    1,582
    607
    267
    234
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Visit in the afternoon when it is much quieter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Vatican Museum is incredible and huge! Bearing that in mind we embarked on an official Vatican Tour with a guide which was a little bit more money but definitely worth it. Our lovely guide provided an in depth explanation of the Sistine Chapel along with lots of information about other artworks and rooms in the museum.

My tip is that if you are travelling during the low season, you might want to check when you get to Rome/Vatican City how busy everything is. It was fairly quiet when we were there in early November and we walked straight into the museum (no queueing!) and there were only 5 people on our 3pm tour. This was nice as we were able to walk faster (not waiting for everyone to catch up) and ask more questions. However our tour guide did say that the mornings can still be quite busy and she said visiting in the afternoon was much better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The sheer volume of art and works is astounding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Seriously, you can get lost in here. It could take you weeks to see everything. So many styles and types of art from the various Popes are here.

I HIGHLY advise you hire a tour guide. This will let you skip the line, get through security easier (near airport-type), and will give you a good path to follow while learning about the things you are seeing.

It is nearly unfathomable the size of the collection in the Museum!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful attraction, even if you are not religious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This museum is a must-see! It is absolutely beautiful and I cannot stress that enough. I personally am not religious, but the experience is still very touching. I would recommend either doing a tour, which allows you to skip the long line, or buying a guidebook. There are informational reviews placed around the museum, but I appreciated having the extra knowledge from our tourguide and the book that I had taken with me.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I completely underestimated the sheer size of the Vatican Museum. The Museum was just room after room after room of stunning artwork. For instance, there were exhibitions which included egyptology, ancient Roman sculptures, oil and water colour paintings, huge tapestries and so much more.

It really was never ending, and once you finally make your way through to the Sistine chapel you are once again blow away by the talent that of Humans and in particular Michelangelo himself.

I would recommend a whole day looking around, its definitely not an attraction that should be rushed. Also, if you upgrade/book in advance you can also go on a Vatican gardens tour as well, something we missed.

Absolutely amazing though, well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vatican Museums also viewed

 

Been to Vatican Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Museums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.