We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pope John Paul 2nd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican Museums

Vatican Museums
Viale Vaticano, 00120 Vatican City, Italy
+39 06 69884676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$81*
and up
Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel...
Ranked #13 of 25 Attractions in Vatican City
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Art Museums, History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With more than five miles of corridors, this vast complex of museums chronicles the history and accomplishments of mankind over the last 2000 years, featuring classic masterpieces such as Rodin's "Thinker" and the Sistine Chapel.
Duarte, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pope John Paul 2nd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

i have been to the Vatican many times and even attented a mass given by the famous ,3rd longest reigning popes , John Paul the 2nd , he did so much for the faithful and apon his death the incredible outporing of grief and the lose to the church were overwhelming ! Poland itself accended apon Rome like a plague of locust to honor and bid farwell to there and our Heavenly Father , i myself vowed to return to Rome to honor his Holiness and i accomplished that vow and when i figure out how to post photos with my reviews you will see !

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,758
    1,566
    604
    266
    232
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Resita, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vatican museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

nice place to visit besides the rude security at the Sistine Chapel...lots and lots of art work....take the walk to the top of st Peters long way up but a nice view

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Book your tickets in advance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Okay, I'm not going to kid you, this museum is spectacular and well worth a visit but do be prepared for crowds... and more crowds. There is usually a long queue for tickets but it is possible to reserve tickets in advance. If you reserve tickets in advance over the internet, do it via the vatican's own website rather than any third party which charge hefty prices!
If you like art and sculpture, then this is a museum for you. Mind you, you must like art and sculpture a lot because there is an awful lot of it on show... rooms and rooms and corridors full of it!
The Sistine chapel is well worth a visit, of course, sadly, though you are not allowed to take photos or videos in there (this restriction does not apply elsewhere). You are also supposed to be quiet in the chapel but, ironically, most noise seems to come from the vatican guards gooing 'shh' all the time!
The art on display here is often quite beautiful and special. My only objection was that there was so much of it, it almost seemed vulgar rather then beautiful.
Oh, there is a cafe in the museum but it is a huge disappointment and not really in keeping with the atmosphere of the vatican.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Worth the entrance fee (just)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We pre-booked our tickets on the official website but when we got there we saw there was no queue (Saturday 3pm). Everybody wants to see the Sistine Chapel and it is very well signposted but you have to see most of the museum to get there. A word of warning, the entrance is no where near the main square there are signs but is about 10 minutes walk (anticlockwise).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“W O W!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I don't think I can write enough about the Vatican! Regardless of what religion you believe in, this place is simply magnificent in every possible way! Better to buy your ticket online to avoid LONG queue .. I recommend to visit early in the day, as you will probably need more than 3 hours to explore it, so make sure to wear comfy shoes, & do NOT miss out a spot .. You're not allowed to take photos at some parts, so might wanna be careful with that .. If you go in summer, make sure to have plenty of water, or you can refill your bottle from the cold water tab in the plaza ..

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vatican Museums also viewed

 

Been to Vatican Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican Museums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.