We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enoteca Antica di Via della Croce

L'Enoteca Antica di Via della Croce
Via della Croce | 76b - 00187, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
+39 06 679 0896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,151 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

An old Spanish steps area wine bar with a selection of hot and cold dishes, including soups and attractive desserts. We went Saturday afternoon and it wasn't too busy, the service was good and the food expensive for what we had. The steak was tender and a decent size but was served just with a small portion of potatoes for 24 euros. Compared to other restaurants we visited, it wasn't the best. Maybe it's more suitable for younger people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    207
    78
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EVERY ONE AND EVERYTHING IS OTTITIMO! EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Italy has 2000varities of grapes, ARTILLO and MASSIMO have most of them for you anr friends if you arrive alone you will leave with new friends.Trust me Lenny Zanello sr I have triend all the beverages,wine,grappa,got many lady's who came on holidays with me overwhelmed with all,everytime I am in ROMA. I had the pleasure and great experiences even a special NEW YEARS EVE PARTY at the anti-pasti bar when a London news journalist on a date was boredwith her boe tied man, boy friend LOL I saw her evening going down in flames for a crash and burn vacation, Massimo allowed her and I to DANCE ON THE PROSECO MARBLE ISLAND behind the bar top. I hope the picture is framed and still hung up for the public to enjoy. I will be there in AUGUSTO , my FAMILIA make a Great Party for 2000 guests UNDER THE STARS, for a WINE, FOOD, SAFRON PARTY IN NAVELLI. A SAGRA...3 starry filled nihts in the valley of safferon fields PARTY 7 TILL 3 AM .come and live La Dolce Vita. IT'S a GREAT Party. So here you can not beat the ATTENTION AND CARE plus the atmosphere is OLD ROMAN WINE CLASSIC. I AMORE THIS WINE BAR and all the PEOPLE, even the waitress that grabed my free frizannti water, in those blue unique deep azure glass vases. LOL...leonardzanello@bellsouth.net I Live in Florida; USA Family in ROMA .Laqulia,Navelli,Pescara and more. TROIANI FAMILIA BLESS ALL and ENJOY

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely sit at the bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great place - friendly staff,great choice of wines and the food,uncomplicated and delicious.We sat at the bar for antipasti and then took a table for dinner on our first night.As it was in close proximity to our hotel we spent some part of every evening there.Every visit a pleasure..highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved this spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great food, really nice about my gluten-free needs, and terrific evening atmosphere. Their music was unique and very enjoyable. This is a terrific bar/restaurant in a great location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Eulalia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“GREAT WINE BAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Antica Enoteca is perfectly located off the Via Condotti near the Spanish Steps and is just the place for a 'pit stop' whilst shopping or sightseeing. We went there 3 times in three days to enjoy the wide choice of excellent wine - both reasonably priced and more expensive - and the really delicious prosciutto, pancetta, salami and cheeses selection at the bar. We did not eat in the restaurant part and were not inspired by the dishes going past - this establishment is clearly at its best as a wine bar, with cheerful service and a fun, busy atmosphere at lunchtime or in the early evening with clientele of all ages and flavours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Enoteca Antica di Via della Croce also viewed

 

Been to L'Enoteca Antica di Via della Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enoteca Antica di Via della Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.