We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Poeta

Dar Poeta
Vicolo del bologna 45, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
06-58.80.516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #675 of 8,708 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Trastevere
New Britain, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must when in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza I had in Rome! Perfect crust! Relaxed casual atmosphere. I am craving the Nutella and ricotta calzone right now!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    892
    247
    72
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile


We read about Dar Poeta and decided to stop by for lunch.
Obviously , this was one if the best decision we took during our trip to Rome and we enjoyed every moment there . After walking through the little pictorial streets of Transtevere , we found us the small street on which Dar Poeta is located . The friendly staff and colorful atmosphere were just the appetizer towards one if the best Calzone I have ever tasted and a lovely pizza my wife tried . Just get there !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great pizza, terrific find in the heart of touristy Trastevere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were two friends, ordered a pizza each, 1 litre of water and 1/2 litre of the house red wine. Paid 11 Euros each. The wine was wonderful for a house wine, and the pizzas were just great- we got the spicy salami and the 4-cheese pizzas. Don't know which was better, both were excellent! Loved the dough. Not quite Roman, not quite Neapolitan ... something in between. We were too stuffed for dessert afterwards. The place fills up quickly, and doesn't accept reservations so don't be shy: walk up, put your name down on the list, and patiently wait your turn. I'll be coming back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Pizza in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spent a semester of college living in Rome and was told I had to go to Dar Poeta. I cannot thank the person who gave me this tip enough. I went at least a dozen times while living there, and every time was incredible. Whenever I have friends or family visit Rome, this is the one restaurant I always send them to, and it has never let anyone down. All of the pizzas are amazing -- save room for the nutella calzone for dessert.
Wish I could have Dar Poeta all the time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When The Moon Hits Your Eye ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Gob dropping selection of pizzas. Staff happy to put prosciutto on mine on request. Don't be afraid to ask and go with an empty stomach and time to spare. No small portions here. Worth truffling out in the depths of Trastevere. Definitely amore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Poeta also viewed

 

Been to Dar Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Poeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.