We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Poor cuisine, High prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma

Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma
Via Tor de' Conti 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 6792446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #717 of 8,750 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $41 - $108
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Roof Garden Restaurant Forum is one of the Rome's premier restaurants... The panoramic view of the Imperial Roman Forum is breathtaking and the atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxing and warm. Internationally acclaimed it offers a diverse and creative menu and whilst the menu focuses on Italian dishes some more universally known dishes are available for guests who would like to try something closer to home.Finally, we should mention the Roof Top American Bar is the perfect venue for a delicious cocktail or pre dinner drink whilst waiting for your table!
valbonne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Poor cuisine, High prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Location is outstanding but unfortunaly the service and cuisine are out of age. Service staff is stressed and still under heavy tradition, food is not equal to location and what shoyld be the standarts for such a place. Prices are indeed in accordance with the view. Overall you should go only in summer for drink on the bar above the restaurant but avoid restaurant. Value for money is not at all given. I have been twice in a month and second was last. I am sure they can do better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    116
    58
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We wanted to celebrate and were so disappointed especially since we had recently eaten in London in an excellent restaurant and this restaurant failed dismally in comparison. The view over the forum was spectacular and the service, supervised by Renzo was impeccable but the food was not even average. The lamb a Roman speciality was barely palatable and expensive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto T, Direttore at Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're very sorry to hear that this guest didn't find our cuisine satisfactory; we apologize for that specially if that was a special occasion for him.
We could only say, but not as an excuse, that sometimes lamb could have a very special taste that doesn't suits all palats because of his gamy taste but, evidentlly, our guest must be a person who orders lamb a lot and therefore we can only apologize to him.
Thank you for this critic because it gives us the opportunity to review certain dishes in our menù that, perhaps, are not so appropriated for an intenational public.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great outdoor option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice rooftop restaurant close to the Forum and the Coliseum. The vegetable tempura was a bit soggy but everything else was fine. Good, prompt service in a nice outdoor setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto T, Direttore at Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice rieview.
All critics are necessary and very helpful for us; they tell us what people want and monitorize the changing in people's taste.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet - expensive and fair food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here for lunch for two reasons: it was right across the street from the Roman Forum and it was a featured restaurant in my favorite movie Only You. The hotel itself is old! You can smell the old but it somehow gave it some charm. The restaurant had a restroom which was kept up and the restroom downstairs was also well kept. The lunch was buffet style with appetizers, entrees, and dessert. We each had the buffet, 2 bottles of water and 2 beers. The buffet is 25E each, the beers were 10E total and the water was 3,50E each but we were only charged for 1. 63,50E total.
There was a table of 4 already there when we arrived then another couple showed up while we were eating. Very low attendance. The buffet had salad, fresh fruit, pickled olives, Roma tomatoes, ravioli, white fish, a rice dish, beef dish, grilled veggies and steamed greens plus much more. I was not impressed and for the most part it was not the greatest of meals. My husband claimed he didn't feel well for the rest of the day into the early morning hours from this meal. Could be the food could be a coincidence. The view is wonderful; however, after being on the top rim of the Colosseum and the top of the Vittorio Monument (see other reviews) the view was not that great. The view is the best thing about this place. The only bad thing that I can say about it was when we went to get our food we started out with the entrees section. We didn't want appetizers. The waiter came and said "No, No start here then get rest". This would have been fine except the arrogant attitude was unnecessary and the bossiness was also uncalled for. I don't need to explain how buffets work in the USA, although I never eat at them, but you can imagine we aren't told what to eat first. He could have just been pointing out that they had a range of items to choose from but it's the way he said it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Roof Garden Hotel Forum Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.