We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardinal Hotel St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cardinal Hotel St. Peter to your Saves list
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leone Dehon 71, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #692 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
HERE
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A VERY GOOD HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel before 5 years in the middle of the summer. The hotel was a budget one. 4 stars but not too expensive.We got a double room which was very nice and modern. I like it very much. The problem was that the room was on the ground floor just near the main entrance which was not good as we couldnt open our windows and we didnt have a view at all.The room was not big, but quite fair for 2 ppl.Breakfast, which was included in the price, was quite good with many things to eat for almost any tastes. The staff was very polite and helpfull all the time.The hotel had an open pool which was lovely despite the fact that we didnt use it as we had to explore the whole Rome. The hotel is situated in a quite district, just 2-3 klm from Vatican city which was our first destination. The first time we did it on foot, so its not too far, unless you cant handle it. If you dont want to walk and you dont afford to pay for a taxi, you can walk about 3-4 hundred meters and take the bus.
Overall we had a great time with a logic budget. I ll consider to visit it again if ill come back to Rome, which by the way is the most romantic city ever.

Room Tip: Dont take a room on the ground floor. Prefer the upper floors as the hotel has excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    187
    130
    65
    43
See reviews for
123
193
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were forced to stay here for one night due to an electrical fault at our original booking. The room was small but nicely furnished, (very hot!) we turned down the heat and went out to explore. (staff gave no instructions and appeared not to want to converse (any language). It took 30 minutes to fathom out the walk to St Peters square, ( map given by original hotel ((Executive Style Hotel, who were pleasant, helpful throughout.). Once there, we allocated our OMNIPASS tickets and there was no going back, we had a great time ! Breakfast at Cardinal St Peters was very nice, lovely cakes and pastries, pleasant !( but the following hotel was SO much better ! ) however, we did access the rooftop terrace,(closed) and got a lovely view of the dome of St Peters, took our own wine and grabbed some chairs. (What a shame this was not meant to be accessible ! the toilets up there were open, plenty of chairs and tables and hot tubs, but not working! (it was 17 degrees, 10 pm!-would have been lovely!)
Tried to get a good night sleep but room was SO hot ! turned off heating and opened windows wide ! Relief! MISTAKE MISTAKE !!!!!!! Noise from tanks, electric or whatever it was, was constant!(we were at the back of hotel) it was as if there was a generator followed by constant hot water heating, WE GOT NO SLEEP!
On the whole. if you pre book your room, make sure you have a balcony (we didn't) , make sure staff explain transport and turn off the heat! you might enjoy !
We were offered no transport next day to our original hotel, no apologies and were almost bullied into paying for mini bar ( which we did not use, despite being told we (might?) be entitled by original hotel. (OVERALL IMPRESSION? Hmmmmm........)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel staff stole more than $4,000 worth of personal items including a macbook laptop, iPhones/Ipods, and many nice cameras. Do not stay here or you may get your items stolen. There hot tubs don't even work. Also its extremely far from anything fun in the city.

Room Tip: Dont get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimo v, Direttore at Cardinal Hotel St. Peter, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mr(s)

We have received reports of this type of theft only by a students group that stayed in our hotel mid March.
To state that these valuables have been robbed by hotel staff , is considered by our law, defamation , so we'll do the necessary reports regarding to this aspect.

The hotel is equipped with safes in all rooms

The safes are capacious to contain the ipads too. We do not understand how is it possible that these valuables, (if there really were all these ) were not kept in the safe.

It is strange to think, nowadays, that college kids, leave the inseparable i-phones in the rooms and do not take them with them when visiting the Eternal City.

It is also strange that the cameras are left in the room during a city visit of one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
(Were there really all these cameras ?)

The hotel has just one room with a jacuzzi bath which is of course working. This room has not been assigned to you. So why do you report things that are not true ?

The hotel is located in the Vatican area , 15 minutes from St. Peter's Square and 20 minutes from the city center by public transportation. public buses run very frequently.

In the offer that was sent to you the location was certainly highlighted and this hotel in this location was chosen by you.We certainly understand that the city centre can be more appealing but we are not in the middle of nowhere as you would like to make it appear.

Given the wrong information about the jacuzzi, about the location of the hotel, we wonder if maybe you are mixing up with another hotel ?

No properties in the world , much less in the united states , is liable for property left unattended.

I remain at your disposal.
Best regards
Massimo Valentini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We chose the Cardinal St. Peter for a weeks stay in Rome. We wanted a base for the city and a pool to relax by. The price was fantastic, and the rooms a good size and very clean. The real jewel of this hotel is the staff. They are some of the friendliest and most helpful we've encountered. We used the hotel shuttle car from the airport which was great. A five minute walk down the street to the free bus service,and your in the centre of Rome in less than 10 minutes. When we return to Rome we will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned home after staying five nights in this hotel. It was a bit difficult to find as everyone we asked gave different directions and many people just didn't know of it. However, after finding it and working out the public transport etc we were delighted. St. Peter's square is within walking distance for people who are able to walk.
The weather for the middle of February was excellent and made our holiday.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was plenty selection for breakfast and this set us up for the day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you need. Free WIFI in the foyer is fine, but would be better if it was available in the bedrooms.
After a busy day sightseeing, it was a nice quiet location to return to. Would recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: The rooms out on the L shaped limb have the best view of St. Peter's Basilica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here in September on a last minute deal. The hotel was a good 15 minute walk from the metro and definitely not close to the city centre. Our room was very dark, but comfortable, and we got woken every morning by the staff fumbling in a cleaning cupboard next to our room. Breakfast was made for the masses, and not particularly fresh. The rooftop was ok with a distant view of the Vatican, but a lot of maintenance was being carried out, so not very private. Not a hotel that we would return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. location seemed a bit far out at first, however public transport frequency and cost was great.The Vatican is a mere 15-20 minute walk, doesn't seem that far as there are plenty of coffee bars and shops etc.
Would return, rooms spacious clean and well equipped. breakfast has a fair selection and WIFI free in lobby.
Rooftop lounge a must

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardinal Hotel St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel St. Peter

Address: Via Leone Dehon 71, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardinal Hotel St. Peter 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cardinal Hotel St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel St Peter
Cardinal Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardinal Hotel St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.