We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Neighborhood Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Trattoria Da Carlone

Antica Trattoria Da Carlone
Via della Luce 5, 00153 Rome, Italy
+39 (0)6 5800039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #690 of 8,267 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great Carciofi alla giudia, Carbonara, and trippa
Nice neighborhood restaurant in Trastevere. Opens for dinner at 7 which is typical in Italy. Service can be a bit hot and cold.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    428
    267
    70
    44
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“At home in Trastevere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a recommendation from our B&B owner during our spring visit, we journeyed to Da Carlone as tourists (among a sea of locals) but left three days later as good friends. Though Papa speaks very little English, his son Stefano carries the ball. We quickly became friends when I told him my wife and I were in Italy to watch our son play professional American football. From that point on, we were treated like family/locals. We were always seated quickly, engaged in conversation (got to use some of my elementary Italian), plied with some antepasto and wine (gratis), given recommendations for lunch and dinner choices, and basically afforded the royal treatment. Da Carlone was our go-to spot for dining in Rome. We never had anything but quality food and service layered with camaraderie--truly Italinan dining experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An authentic trattoria romana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really enjoyed a dinner in this nice small and authentic trattoria romana. Suggested by my colleague from Roma, I admit it is one of the best trattorie ever tried. Pasta is incredibly tasty, second meals very nice as well. A good wine list, please try one wine from Roma called Casanese, it perfectly matches with strong tastes of this area. Friendly and timely service, warm and fresh dishes, very honest price compared to the top quality of the cuisine. Do not miss it if you are in Rome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pasta excellent – especially the carbonara. Service – not so good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our landlord in Trastavere, as well as many guest reviews, recommended Da Carlone – with special reference to their spaghetti carbonara.
It was a lovely balmy evening to sit outside enjoying a leisurely meal with friends. We were not disappointed – especially in the pasta. The carbonara really was fantastic, as was the fettuccini with porcini mushrooms and white asparagus. The meat dishes we tried – roast lamb and osso bucco were good but not great
The service was slow – especially since they had a huge group of Americans inside. We had to do a fair bit of chasing them up – for wine, for menus and then to order. However, once the older guy (proprietor?) got on the job, and we joked with him a bit to defuse his off-hand manner everything went very well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food, terrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were told to come here to try the Carbonara, however that would be the only reason to go. We waited by the door for about 20 minutes trying to get a table while staff just ignored us and passed us by, despite there being several empty tables.

Once we were finally seated we waited for a while for someone to take our order and when they did they forgot to bring us the bread we had ordered.

The staff seemed to have a thing against people that weren't italian, the staff were being ever so friendly to all the italian people that were eating there, however our table and also the french couple sitting near us were ignored completely.

The carbonara is really something to talk about though, probably the best that I've had, and once it arrived it didn't disappoint, however like I said, it's the only reason to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Da Carlone also viewed

 

Been to Antica Trattoria Da Carlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Trattoria Da Carlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.