We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

La Pergola
Via Alberto Cadlolo 101 | Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, 00136 Rome, Italy
+39 06 3509 2152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $70 - $600
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: One of the best restaurants in Rome, if not in Italy, La Pergola is much more than just a famous menu. Its three-Michelin stars - the only Rome restaurant to be accorded such an honour - attest to the excellence of its cuisine. A wine cellar with over 53,000 bottles, a water menu with 29 choices, olive oils and vintage balsamic vinegars from the best producers in Italy, and the finest ingredients to be sourced in the Mediterranean -- all attest to the pursuit of culinary excellence. In the last decade the major Italian gastronomic guides such as L'Espresso, Gambero Rosso, Bibenda have consistently voted La Pergola the "Best Restaurant of Rome" and one of the best in Italy. Since November 2005 the Michelin Guide has honoured La Pergola with 3 stars and 5 forks, symbol of exceptional cuisine and "worth a special journey". Furthermore, the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences has awarded La Pergola with the coveted "Five Star Diamond Award!" Each year the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences, renowned worldwide, bestows its coveted International STAR DIAMOND AWARD exclusively on five star establishments that are deemed to be of pinnacle quality by its esteemed Board of Trustees. The award is the most prestigious emblem of achievement and true quality: an award many strive for, but few obtain.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I ate here for dinner while on vacation and had the 9 course tasting menu. The food was amazing and it made it even better when we asked them to pair wine with certain courses. The pasta course was incredible and melted in your mouth.

I can't say enough about the service either. Everyone was incredible and attentive and provided great recommendations when we asked for them. The icing on the cake was meeting Heinz Beck at the end of the meal.

It's certainly a pricey restaurant, but its 3 Michelin Stars and was worth it for us. We decided it would be a nice splurge and it didn't disappoint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    135
    62
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Soooo disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had heard about this place and even were guests at the hotel but couldn't get a reservation! We tried everyday in case someone cancelled....so disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best Italian restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We dined at La Pergola before I started writing reviews. This somewhat explains a long overdue oversight, because this was one our best dining experiences ever. Be sure to reserve well in advance and request a table near the outer edge. The view of the Vatican and St. Peter's will be much better. But if you happen to dine further inside, you will not disappointed. After they brought us champagne to start (complimentary, as it turned out), the server brought us the water menu. We weren't prepared for this. 200 different water offerings! We chuckled and did our best. No doubt you will be able to find just the water that will suit your palate. We decided on a five course meal with the wine pairing. Every course and every wine selection was FABULOUS. The server also took the time to explain every offering and the reason why each wine was paired with each course. By the way, the service was gracious, unobtrusive and all servers were genuinely concerned with our enjoying ourselves, which we did. (The sommelier was even gracious enough to write every wine served so that we could purchase them when we got home.) The portions were all very appropriate and left room for the surprise ending: a good-sized dollhouse with drawers filled with wonderful sweets. This was definitely one of the best meals we have ever eaten and one of the best dining experiences ever. If you are in Rome, La Pergola is a definite must-do.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've eaten at a lot of high end restaurants but this was the best meal ever. We had an excellent meal at Osteria Francescana two weeks ago but the food at La Pergola was superior. Venue, wine and service were all first class. One of the highlights of our trip to Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best meal in my life ! The best part of de meal was a dessert menu, absolutely gorgeus.
We were greeted in a very friendely manner and shown to our table.
We noticed the cutlery was 24 k. Gold.
Good value for a 3 stars!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergola also viewed

 

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.