We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only restaurant in Rome with 3 Michelin stars...now I know why..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

La Pergola
Via Alberto Cadlolo 101 | Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, 00136 Rome, Italy
+39 06 3509 2152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 8,750 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $70 - $600
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: One of the best restaurants in Rome, if not in Italy, La Pergola is much more than just a famous menu. Its three-Michelin stars - the only Rome restaurant to be accorded such an honour - attest to the excellence of its cuisine. A wine cellar with over 53,000 bottles, a water menu with 29 choices, olive oils and vintage balsamic vinegars from the best producers in Italy, and the finest ingredients to be sourced in the Mediterranean -- all attest to the pursuit of culinary excellence. In the last decade the major Italian gastronomic guides such as L'Espresso, Gambero Rosso, Bibenda have consistently voted La Pergola the "Best Restaurant of Rome" and one of the best in Italy. Since November 2005 the Michelin Guide has honoured La Pergola with 3 stars and 5 forks, symbol of exceptional cuisine and "worth a special journey". Furthermore, the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences has awarded La Pergola with the coveted "Five Star Diamond Award!" Each year the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences, renowned worldwide, bestows its coveted International STAR DIAMOND AWARD exclusively on five star establishments that are deemed to be of pinnacle quality by its esteemed Board of Trustees. The award is the most prestigious emblem of achievement and true quality: an award many strive for, but few obtain.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only restaurant in Rome with 3 Michelin stars...now I know why..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of my passions is going to the best restaurants and eating great food. The food at La Pergola was beyond belief! They kept bringing out dish after dish and so many delicious desserts one after the other that even if I tried I couldn't have another bite. It was one of the best restaurant experiences of my life. The restaurant is also located high up inside the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria so the view of Rome was beautiful as well. If anybody gets the opportunity to go, please spoil yourself and do so; it's truly a gourmand's dream come true.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    136
    62
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best View in All of Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Delicious food in a beautiful setting overlooking all of Rome! Arrive early for cocktails on the terrace. Daniele shakes a great Martini.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great chef, imaginative food, personal service with many extras. The only three Michelin rosette restaurant in Rome. Advised to book early, perhaps a month in advance. Very popular with the Italians.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent! Very good food and service! Nice place to visit with your friends and partner, one of the best places I ever eaten!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very expensive but SO worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This past June my family stayed at the Rome Cavalieri hotel. We had read that the Pergola restaurant was one of the best in Rome so of course we had to dine there. We made reservations on the terrace for my husband, myself, and my 3 sons aged 9, 12 and 14.

This was one of the best meals of my life! Granted the portions are not big but since there are many courses, it was perfect because you did not feel stuffed and bloated once the meal was over.

The menu is limited, in fact, the water choices are greater than the meal choices! But all meals we chose were delicious.

The best part of the meal was the dessert menu, by far. We chose one of each since there were five of us and one particular dessert (I could not find it on the website's menu) was the best I have EVER had. It was watermelon based, I believe, and it was all sorts of things you could possibly make with the fruit. The berry dessert was also very good but the best of the evening was the treasure box they bring you at the end of your meal filled with mini pastries! There are 3 drawers per side, for a total of 12 drawers, all filled with 2 or 3 pastries.

As if this was not delicious enough, they still bring you two mini ice cream cones in their own stand. One is filled with passion fruit and the other one is chocolate covered. Out of this world!

The view from the terrace is breath taking. You can see all of Rome and there are few tables on the terrace so you feel like you are dining in private. We were lucky to have the farthest table from the entrance and it was a perfect evening.

Be prepared to spend quite some money for this meal, nothing about it is cheap. Be also prepared to spend from 2 to 3 hours to dine but if you are going to spend this kind of money, make it last! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal, our sons enjoyed the food but did retire to the bedrooms and missed out on the ice cream cones; their bad!

If you have the time, money, and will to indulge I would highly recommend dining at La Pergola.
Beware! You need to make reservations well in advance to get your table on the terrace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergola also viewed

 

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.