We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merulana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Merulana Inn to your Saves list
Merulana Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Merulana 19, 00186 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great !,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was our first time in Rome and we are very pleased with our experience at this hotel . Location is great and price was amazing . Service was A1 ,
. If you arrive by air you could save some money and take the train to the hotel it is located 3 blocks away from Termini

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
112
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you really want a feel of Rome, stay here ! Is Home away from Home ! The staff are Great ! Everything is so close by just a hop-skip-jump !
10 mins to Roma Termini station,5 mins Hop-on-hop off Tour what else do you need and restaurants every corner of the street.

Room Tip: Book in advance to avoid disappointing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

MERULANA INN

PROS:
* Good, free Wireless Internet
* Decent free breakfast
* Good location...Rome is so spread out that if you are too close to any one attraction, you will be extremely far from the others. Merulana Inn was about 15 - 20 minute walk from all the attractions (about 40 from Vatican). Close to Termini station also.
* Clean.

CONS
* Nobody working at a front desk type scenario. Hotel was on the 3rd floor of a random building. If you are checking in, they will have someone there, but there isn't anyone to answer questions or to help you plan your visit, as advertised on their web site.
* Elevator was so small, I was too scared to get on it!
* Room was very small, though for Italy I suppose it was okay.

My main problem was with Rome itself. I found it very dirty, touristy, and tacky. The ruins and Vatiican were fantastic, but the overall feel of the city was tacky and crowded. It couldn't hold a candle to other European cities I've been to, both in and out of Italy. I'm glad I went for the Colosseum, etc., but my 2 night stay was more than sufficient. I was ready to get out of there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The hotel is in close proximity to the main train station and is a short 10 minute walk to the colosseum.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location is ideal. It's close to churches, the Colosseum, train terminal, with wonderful restaurants all around. Miss Judy took great care of us dispite our coming in after 10 p.m. The breakfasts were tasty and filling with a lot of variety and choices. The accommodations were great for us, but our traveling companions had trouble with their air-conditioning and had to sleep with their windows open, so they were bothered by all the street noises. The elevator is a bit tricky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street or ensure your air conditioner works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herten, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is a very good adress! Perfect location about 5 minutes walk from Termini train station where you can grab metro, trains or buses.
About 15 minutes walk from the Coliseum.

Rooms are very nicely decorated, very quiet.
Warm welcome and very nice and helpful assistance from Judy!

We'll definetely recommend this adress and will be back when we go back to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Merulana Inn.
Despite some of the reviews, our check in process was fine, the only catch being the lady didn't speak any english, but she was very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was a good size, good bathroom, and very clean and comfortable.
Good location near Termini station, although there certainly are nicer areas in Rome to stay, but it suited us quite well.
I can't really believe all the bad reviews about the breakfast, we both thought it was good, better than at many other hotels, and I was never left hungry.
Overall I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merulana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merulana Inn

Address: Via Merulana 19, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#125 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merulana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Merulana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merulana Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merulana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.