We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Da Gildo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gildo

Da Gildo
Via della Scala 31, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
06-580-0733
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,956 of 8,708 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant Da Gildo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wandering through the area looking for a restaurant and a passing woman recommended Da Gilda, saying her family ate there reguraly. They managed to fit us in two nights without reservations. Everything we tried was wonderful. Enjoyed being surrounded by Italian families.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    92
    37
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We ate here 3 times in one week it was that good. Staff is great and friendly, always in for a joke.
Their dolce "tiramisu" was really terrific.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au SG, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pasta and funghi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great dishes, and accurate service. Staff is almost below 30 years and celebrates the classic italian hospitality.
Fettucine con funghi porchini (noodle with mushrooms)
- order it - enjoy it - go back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-Willows
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trastevere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a fabulous restaurant. In a traditional Italian location, so pleased that we stumbled across it!!! When I got home and started to write a review I was pleasantly surprised to see that many others had done the same thing. Affordable, freshly prepared, authentic Italian cuisine. This area of Rome is great and there is a super bar near by that serves fantastic craft beer!!!!' Ma Che Siete Venuti a Fà is its name and yes the Italians can brew beer!!! It's official!! Another real/craft ale bar well worth a visit, or two, is ' Open Baladin.' It has its own website.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza I ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

When I go back to Rome, this is the first restaurant I'll go back to. The pizza from Da Gildos (the place has done pizzas for over 60 years!) is the best pizza I ever had. Although the pasta was avarage.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gildo also viewed

 

Been to Da Gildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Gildo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.