We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Espresso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant'Eustachio il Caffe

Sant'Eustachio il Caffe
Piazza Sant'Eustachio 82, 00186 Rome, Italy
39 06 68802048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,081 of 8,266 restaurants in Rome
Price range: $8 - $16
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Espresso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This cafe serves the best espresso in town...however beware of the waiter serving the outside seats!!! if you are not ordering you're not welcomed to sit for a fraction of a second!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    605
    351
    173
    86
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist have taken over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Good but not amazing coffee. Worth a visit if you go to the Pantheon, but do not come otherwise. The staff is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Rome, with attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We started each day of our week in Rome with a Sant'Eustachio cappuccino, and often visited again for a cafe granita in the afternoon. You can enjoy your coffee at the very crowded bar inside, or pay an extra 2.50 to be served at a table outside. The place is always packed. Staff can be pretty unfriendly, and slow, especially if you are not aggressive about being noticed. There are few pastry options. Love love love the coffee, but they really need a bigger space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Second best espresso/cappuccino in Rome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have had espresso & cappuccino both times I've been in Rome (October 2011 & October 2012). Although Sant Eustachio has a GREAT cup of espresso and an equally delicious cappuccino I don't think it is quite as good as Tazza D'Oro's espresso & cappuccino. But since they are so close I think it is worth trying both if you have the time, but if you only have one day in Rome I would recommend Tazza D'Oro (near the Pantheon) over Sant Eustachio. The drinks are better and the atmosphere is MUCH better at Tazza D'Oro. Much more room and less chaotic than Sant Eustachio.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great coffee but the most expensive we had in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We were told that this was THE best coffee around. It was indeed very good coffee but at 5.10 euros each it was the most expensive coffee we had in Rome and the service wasn't great. A smile costs nothing!!

Lots of tour groups seemed to be here as it is in all the guide books. I preferred coffee at tazzo d'oro around the corner. 1.50 for a cappuccino with the locals.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sant'Eustachio il Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Sant'Eustachio il Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant'Eustachio il Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.