We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible restaurant , doesnt deserve to be classified "indian"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bibliothe

Bibliothe
Via Celsa, 4, 00186 Rome, Italy
06 678 1427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,072 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“terrible restaurant , doesnt deserve to be classified "indian"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

So I was bored today and was longing for Indian food n thought I all give the TripAdvisor app a go to find me a nice indian restaurant

And what did I get . , borderline throw up to manage able food and its nowhere close to the Indian cuisine. The chef who works there who came out n spoke to me hardly had any idea of Indian cuisine , I still gave it a chance n regret spending my money on them

This restaurant is absolute [--] and I would recommend no one on a death bed to visit this place.horrific, am shocked how these guys r still surviving

Summary . . do not dare to go there, get a cheap plastic pizza from next door n u ll feel much better

I visited this restaurant today 9 the January" 13

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pyke8
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sanitized Indian food for monoculture Italians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice food but not authentic Indian by any means. The food was well-cooked and fresh but presented in a way that suggested that they were used to serving Indian food to Italians who had no clue about Indian food. I have travelled widely in India and have never seen colelaw served up, for example, which was one of the salads on the Thali that we ordered. Also papadums were featured as a starter!!! at a cost of 8 euros.
My conclusion : worth going to to get away from the ubiquitous pizza and pasta, but the menu choice is severly limited and emphatically NOT authentic Indian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Veggie Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I like carbs as much as the next vegetarian, but eventually even I got sick of pizza and pasta.

This is a great Indian style vegetarian restaurant in rome. I was craving something different and this hit the spot.

We had a tali plate for €25 each. Not exactly cheap,but OK for Rome and it included more than enough food.

Recommended!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't get "scared" by the vegetarian label”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I never tought I would end up in a vegetarian restaurant in Rome, but bibliothe blew my mind. Great food, awesome service, lovely atmosphere. I recommend it to everyone :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Vegetarian break from Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Close to Piazza Venezia (and the bride cake), this small place has a limited but wonderful selection of dishes making perfect use of spices. There's a lunch menu offer but looking around I didnt find it that special, so I went for some of the regular dishes. I ordered vegetable pakora (about 7 sizeable pieces) at 7 euro as well as steamed vegetables with cheese also at 7 euro. Loved it!! Beautiful atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibliothe also viewed

 
Rome, Lazio
 

Been to Bibliothe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bibliothe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.