We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining near the Grand Flora” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Baccus

Papa Baccus
Via Toscana 36, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)
+39 06 4274 2808
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Papa Baccus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,887 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $17 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Dining near the Grand Flora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Papa Baccus is rated as a "Quite comfortable restaurant" by Michelin, you can expect good food and service without the stuffiness and splurge of a starred restaurant. It's also located within close walking distance (5-10 minutes) to the Grand Flora on Via Toscana.

While most restaurants in the area are similar, Papa Baccus is different in that it specializes in Tuscan cuisine. The restaurant also prides itself in using Cinta Senese pigs and even makes their own bacon. The restaurant also has a very extensive wine selection, though we did not partake. Service is also quite good here, but that's no surprise given the Michelin rating. The only thing that might bother some (aside from the bread fee) is the somewhat small portion size when compared to other nearby establishments and the fact that the bill states "service fee not included."

So how's the food? Like many places, you'll be served bread with oil and vinegar. Whether you eat the bread or not, you will be charged for it, so you might as well go for it. The bread here is actually pretty good, though it's more the focaccia and roll type that's good, not so much for the sliced bread... but what's even more special is the balsamic vinegar! It has a thick consistency with a nice, balanced flavor that's on the sweeter side rather than the acidic. This is good quality stuff and I nearly filled up on bread because of it! But be sure to save room for the food too, as it is good! On our one and only visit here, my wife and I skipped the appetizers and went straight for the pasta. I ordered the spaghetti with clams & bottarga, while she ordered their amatriciana.

The spaghetti with clams & bottarga was a good, lighter dish with an olive oil based sauce. It has a nice briny, herby, salty flavor with a little heat. On the other hand, the amatriciana here is heavier and a little on the salty side, but still good. Lot's of bacon in this one since they do make it themselves.

After our pastas, the wife and I decided to split a secondi. Since it's porcini season, we decided to order the Piedmont steak and fresh porcini mushroom dish. This dish was delicious, especially the porcini mushrooms! The beef was also good, but it was a little tough and could have used some salt. Next time I think I'll order the dish that's purely porcinis! These mushrooms make the rainy weather worth it to visit this time of year! Another reason to visit are truffles. In fact, the restaurant had a special white truffle menu too to take advantage of the availability of fresh Alba truffles! We unfortunately didn't order any of these, but will if we ever get a chance to do so here again!

Too full for desert, we stopped here. Our grand total (including bottle water, bread fee, and tip) came out to about $110. Worth every penny! If you're in the area and am looking for a great dinner without breaking the bank, check out Papa Baccus! I will definitely be back if I ever make it back to Rome!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I recently stumbled on this restaurant and were thrilled with our meals. I had a boar ragout that was outstanding and a beef and artichoke second course that was even better. My wife had a traditional tuscan vegetable soup and chicken wrapped in ham. Both were wonderful. A basket of freshly baked breads was also very nice. One of the best meals I have had in years.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Expertly prepared dishes but be prepared to pay premium prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sat outside with what appeared to be a number of regulars. For appetizers we shared a mushroom timbale. For main course we had pasta with artichoke & ham and papardelle with boar. Both very flavorful and excellent. Pasta was very al dente. Servings a bit on the small side and €4 for water plus €6 for bread was a little excessive considering service not included. Wine relatively expensive at €10/glass, but it was a good chianti and the waitress poured approx 2/3 of the bottle into our large and lovely glasses. Overall, we felt that the meal was marginally overpriced (€73 without tip) but the food was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Where's the pig?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Their Web site (and why we went) boasts extensively about the special pigs that are used for their (pig) dishes. However, last night, we thought perhaps we were given another restaurant's menu. NO PIG. Not even 'pork' was mentioned anywhere on the menu. Nor on the 'specials of the day' menu. When we asked the waiter - he said 'Pig is not in season. You have to come in spring and summer."
Pardon me Mr. Waiter, but just last night we ate at La Buca Di Rapetta (loved it) and not only do they have baked suckling pig on their everyday menu (delicious), but they had a suckling pig special (prepared a bit differently than the standard menu item.)
And...can pigs be 'out of season' like an artichoke?
Something is amiss here.
Additionally, the place was empty. We had 8:30 reservations, and there were only 4 tables of diners. I asked Mr. Waiter why the restaurant was so empty, he responded "It gets busy at 9:30, 10pm." Then he thought a moment and added "and there is an important football game tonight."
When we left at 10pm, it was still empty. Even with good food, dining in an empty restaurant is lackluster.
So far, no pig and empty. Is there a 3rd strike? Yep. Overpriced. Pastas should be 5 euros less, and main courses should be 10 euros less.
Are there any pluses here?
Yes. Bread basket is filled with warm and interesting choices (enjoyed the little sesame rolls).
Insalata Mista very fresh. The steak was perfectly done and had a very nice sauce. Special pasta with porcini mushrooms was good (not great - could have used something to bring it up a notch in terms of flavor.)
House red was nice.
Another plus - close to our hotel. (Would have been even more disappointed if we had to 'travel' to get to this pig-less restaurant.)
Overall - very disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Amands, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite allright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you stay in the neighbourhood of villa borghese (e.g. NH Vittorio Veneto, Victoria, Mariott,...), this sure is one good place to have a nice diner at right prices. Nice terrace in quiet street, very friendly and helpfull waitresses. Dining reviews are 50% based on mood, atmosphere and other subjective parameters, but when the chef uses high quality products, it is what it is. And in this place, we had nothing but perfect ingredients treated the way the should. Negative point: wine card is a shame, totally overpriced! Only a few (good!) wines go below 40 eur, and that is NOT correct. But still, we would certainly return here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Baccus also viewed

 

Been to Papa Baccus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Baccus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.