We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Monti

Trattoria Monti
Via di San Vito, 13/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
+39 06 446 6573
Improve this listing
Ranked #552 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

there are only twelve tables here. requires reservation. food is simply fabulous. we had the best ravioli stuffed with grouper and savory spices. service great and they speak passable English.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    185
    38
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Do people knows whats good food is?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the must ridiculous place I have seen in my life!
It is a joke to see the writing concerning that place... it was recommended from a friend and the hotel were we stayed (Hotel de Russie) just told me it was trend but no more.
Well, Trendy is definitely not the word, small, very small table, touristic people, friendly staff but nothing Trendy if you compare with a place in Paris or NY!
Anyway, I was ready to forget that side if the food was good, but here we are, that was a disaster, nothing special. not even good.
I am able to cook better the lamb chops with sauté potatoes I had, and the four starters were all flan.. onions flan, courgette flan etc my pasta were too "al dente" and the sauce was not testy.
Very disappointed and surprising people are still writing good revues, get a grip and try some good place in Rome, it is plenty!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Choose main courses carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I started with the zucchini flan with carrot sauce which I only ordered because of trip advisor and it was truly delicious. My husband had an antipasta of fried stuffed olives and tempura fried artichoke which was also good. We shared a tasty risotto with mushrooms. My main dish was cod and I should have realized it would be salty but it was so salty that I couldn't finish it. My husband's main dish was pidgeon which was pretty dry. We shared a good pear tart for dessert. There were mostly Italians in the restaurant and perhaps if we had ordered other choices we would have liked it even more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Four visits in three days kind of says it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good Trattoria serving fresh quality produce. We've just got back after a spontaneous quick trip to Rome and this family run establishment ticked all the right boxes. Friendly service and warm ambiance, Trattoria Monti offers it all, whether it's a quick snack at mid day or the full monty in the evening. On all four visits the restaurant was continuously full so booking is advisable.
Not much else to say that other satisfied guests haven't already commented on. October/November are great culinary months to visit all of Italy and Rome is no exception. Go and enjoy the Porcini, the Pecorino Romano, and last but not least, the laborious Puntarelle Romane..... poetry on a plate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow!! Everything I read in other reviews and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place. Everything was excellent.
Every food item we tried was something to remember! We started with a zucchini flan with carrot sauce which words can't describe.
My fiancée speaks fluent Italian, but I don't speak a word. The waiter was perfectly comfortable using both to speak to us.
What was also great about the service and atmosphere was that the staff made us feel at home and didn't have that "we are better than you" attitude that you find at some places here in Rome when they know you are not Italian.
As we read in other reviews, the place is not very large and is always full, so be sure to call in advance to book a table.
I give this place 5 stars.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Monti also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Monti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.