We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivanhoe Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ivanhoe Hostel to your Saves list
Ivanhoe Hostel
Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Party Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff here is amazing. Super helpful fun and nice, put out beer pong and have pregaming on the weekends. Had a really fun experience, it's definitely intentioned for young travelers who want to party. My bed was comfortable enough, there were enough showers and toilets, fairly clean, they also have a cheap breakfast that was a nice perk. Definitely worth it to rent a lock for one of the lockers. Overall, you get what you pay for, nothing fancy, but the staff and the atmosphere really made my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    14
    11
    35
See reviews for
3
13
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

HORRIBLE! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! I have stayed at better hostels in third world countries. The place was covered in mold and dirt. My sheets had blood on them. The floors had filth all over them. Showers looked like they haven’t been cleaned in years! When I complained at the end of my stay about how dirty everything was the manager said “Well you should have just left.” They didn’t care about your experience and only want your money. NOT WORTH IT

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

AVOID HOSTEL AT ALL COST! Absolutely NO SECURITY! One person in the room had their stuff stolen. My stuff was rummaged through. All manager had to say was “Well, it’s a hostel.” The lockers are the size of a laptop and there are only 4 lockers for 12 people! No lock or key given and the door to the hostel was never locked. One night there was a bunch of people who weren’t even staying in the hostel in our room. Place was disgustingly dirty! DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hostel was only 10€ a night so although we didn't necessarily want a party hostel, my bf and I decided to take a chance. Turned out alright, we got a very cheap bed and met a few ppl, but they all seemed pretty young. Annoying that the host guy kept pushing us to drink, like I get its a party hostel but I travelled all day, leave me alone. The bathrooms were dirty but tolerable, the bunk beds were crammed in the room so don't expect any personal space. The 2€ breakfast was worth it, boiled eggs cheese bread cookies cake jam butter cereal milk juice coffee(instant). Had free alcoholic punch with chips on both nights we were there, and music shuts off at 12 so you can sleep if you bring earplugs and a face mask. Most ppl go to bed late and wake up late, so if this is for you, stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I really had a blast time here, they offer you free champagne, free pasta, welcome drinks,free internet, free wifi 24 hrz, big and pretty much fully equipped kitchen, clean rooms , hot and clean showers.24 hours reception, multilingual & fun staff, free bars tour by night with staff. I really enjoyed my time in ivanhoe hostel. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great place to meet new people, drink and have fun. They have a free cocktail party every other day, and free pasta party on the others, so there's always people around. They have a 12 am curfew so people can also sleep and walk around Rome the next day.
However, my friends and I could never have a quiet moment after that time because other guests and also members of staff would not stop going in and out of out dorm for no apparent reason other than making unnecessary noise.
Apart from that, they do offer a nice breakfast for 2 euros and are very well located, quite close to the Colosseo. Rooms are small, but clean. Note they have a lockout time in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In terms of location, it was a great hostel. We were walking distance from many of the attractions in Rome, the staff were very welcoming and it was generally pretty clean.

They make it very easy to meet everyone who is staying at the hosel, they host a series of events and it is oriented towards younger people(18-30). There is a very good vibe and the staff are super friendly.

The only downside that I would see is the fact that you are required to leave the hostel from 11-4. There is a lot to see and do in Rome but if you are there for a few days you'd want to have the ability to go back early/mid afternoon to relax,wash up.

Otherwise great place, had a great time and I would love to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivanhoe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Hostel

Address: Via Urbana, 50, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Ivanhoe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivanhoe Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.