We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Montani

Save Saved
You added Casa Montani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Montani
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 2,716 Rome B&B and Inns
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A gem in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Casa Montani is a unique property; a former townhouse converted into five guestrooms. We spent 18 nights in the suite and were spoiled. Rooms are soundproof and street noise is almost nonexistent. Sleek decor and furnishings, great in-room lounge for breakfasts brought daily by cart, and enjoying a glass of wine at the end of a busy day. Hermes amenities are another special touch. The owners and staff are extraordinary hosts; they are keen to suggest daily activities, restaurants, give advice on anything Roman. We cannot say enough about the graciousness and attention given guests. The location is brilliant. A block away is the entrance to Borghese Park, a haven for locals and residents. Piazza Popolo across the street affords access to three major streets through central Rome; Babuino, Ripetta, and Via Corso. Restaurants, high fashion corridors, hotels are all within easy reach on foot. For travellers jaded by big hotels or mediocre lodging, this is the alternative offering individual attention, lovely surroundings and an elegant neighbourhood.

Room Tip: We had the suite, which is the premier choice, but the four remaining rooms are all lovely too. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    35
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
161
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The suite was clean, comfortable and elegantly decorated and had a great view overlooking Porta del Popolo, which, as the name suggests, is the entrance to Piazza del Popolo (i.e. a fifteen minute walk from the Centro Storico, or if you don't fancy a walk, there is a Metro stop right by the entrance to the hotel). Despite the fact we were above a very busy road, we didn't hear a peep as Casa Montani has excellent (I assume) triple glazing, so we slept soundly every night in a very big, comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and all spoke excellent English. They were very happy to make reservations for us and give us suggestions for places to eat/things to do and every morning we had a lovely breakfast delivered to our room. It's not cheap - but you get what you pay for. My only criticism - and it is fairly minor - is that the bathroom was a little bit on the small side. Apart from that, it is a truly fantastic place to stay in Rome, and - if we have the money - we would definitely stay here again. First class!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here (he has also left a review but I wantd to leave my own!!).

The place is approx 45mins car drive from the airport, Casa Montani arranged our car for us to from and to the airport at a cost of 45 euros each way. This is highly recommended as the bus/metro system can be a little over whelming if you havent used it before. The car was waiting for us when we landed with the driver holding up a sign with our name. You pay cash to the driver with no tips expected.

Casa Montana is situated on the 3rd floor of an office block which has a very impresive huge wooden door and a quaint lift to transport you upstairs. The lift is old fashioned with the metal door you open and close and lock with magnets.

The room we stayed in (suite) is lovely. Its decorated very tastefully and the windows hide the noise of the very busy street outside. The noise from traffic didnt really both us even when the windows were open as it was very entertaining watching the bustle that is constant. Rome never sleeps!!

Our room had beautiful furniture and wall hangings, a tea tray filled daily, a mini-bar with a good selection, a safe, a telephone, free Wi-Fi and very generous wardrobe space.

The bathroom is a little on the small side but has a lovely bathroom suite and is laid out well.

The bed is amazing!! It is huge and so comfy!!! As earlier stated by others the breakfast is basic but does the job. You choose what you want the night before and it is delivered on a silver trolley at the time you request. You can choose cereal, youghurt, pastries, cheese and bread, fruit, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and juice.

Our room was serviced to a lovely standard with clean towels when requested and clean bedding on the 2nd night. the room overall was spotless and you can see a lot of attention and care is put into it.

The service we received was immpecable and very non-intrusive. The hosts couldnt do enough for us and gave us very invaluable information about where to go and where to eat etc.

Casa Montani is situated in such a great place. There are local cafes just outside where you can have a pizza and Peroni for 6 euros each which is perfect for lunch.

The Vatican is approx half hour away by foot and all other must see's are all within walking distance. The Spanish steps are beautiful at night and worth seeing in both the day and night.

There are little markets scattered through Rome selling locals paintings and gifts with the sellers enjoying a good barter!!

Rome is how ever expensive you make it. The accommodation is pricey if you stay in the centre. The local cafes/restaurants are very reasonable and offer simple Italian dishes which are beautiful or you could opt for the more expensive cafes/restaurants designed for tourists which offer basically the same dishes.

There are a lot of rose sellers in the Plaza's which can get on your nerves. The best way to avoid them is to either run away (like I did!!) or have a very stern husband tell them no! The minute you accept a rose from them - ''as a gift'', you've had it, they expect ''a little something'' and get quite irate if you try to give the rose back!

Our overall stay in Rome was amazing, the locals are so friendly, its a beautiful place, not too expensive and Casa Montana toppoed it off for us for making us feel so welcome. Thank you so much, we will most definately be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending 4 nights at Casa Montani. This is the best accomodation we have ever stayed in. My father booked this room for us as a wedding gift so we did not know what to expect. When we arrived we were greeted at the door and made to feel so welcome from the word go. We were given plenty of information about where the main attractions where (colloseum, vatican city etc..) the owner even gave us a map and highlighted the streets we needed to follow to get there. When we were shown to our room we were blown away. We felt like royalty. We stayed in the suite which had the main bedroom which had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, ample wardrobe space with a safe and a big flat screen tv on the wall with sky. It had a extra room where there was a very comfy sofa, a desk with the mini bar and another flat screen tv. The bathroom was spotless and very stylish. Breakfast was served to our room every morning on a silver trolley and included delicous breads, pastries, fruits and yoghurts along with fresh orange juice and hot drinks. It was absolutley perfect. We would be out of the room at around 9am every morning to walk to the various attractions, by the time we got back to the room around lunch time, our room had been serviced with all fresh bedding, towels and the complimentry hot drinks station refilled with clean cups.We cannot praise the staff at Casa Montani enough for making our honeymoon so relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you so much for making our stay in Rome such an amazing experience. We will deffinatley be returning in the future.

Williams (room 1)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The room is perfect, it provides and serene and quiet escape from the chaos of Rome. The design is classic and elegant and there is a perfect little patio with fresh flowers and heating. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very nicely done. The room is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. You feel as though you are staying in a friend's flat instead of a hotel. The room is quite small but doesn't matter as most people go to Rome to see the city so time spent in the room is minimal. There are no other amenities like fitness, restaurants, etc, but you are just next to a metro station and across from Piazza del Popolo (tons of shopping and restaurants) so there is really no need for amenities. As long as you know what to expect, there should be no disappointment. Parking is nearby and easy enough to find, although a bit expensive. We loved staying at Casa Montani and found it to be the perfect home base for Rome. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for the final week of our 3 week honeymoon in Italy. We've been to Rome before but wanted to to do it in style this time. And Casa Montani was perfect! Great location, right beside the Piazza del Popolo and the Villa Borghese gardens so everything was within walking distance. Although on a busy main road we never once heard the traffic, the double (or perhaps triple) glazing windows were great. We stayed in the suite, which was the most expensive room they offer. We had a large and very comfortable bed, plently of storage space and breakfast delivered to the room each morning, the silver tray it comes on adds a touch of class! My only (minor) complaint is the bathroom is a little on the small side, and although this place isn't a hotel (more a B&B) for what we were paying I would have expected clean towels every day. But I would definitely recommend this place, I hope we get to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel was a real delight - hidden away on the third floor of an office block you are not really sure what to expect when you first arrive. However as soon as you enter the doors of Casa Montani into its plush exterior you are made to feel at home. The location of the hotel is perfect being on the northern tip of the golden triangle and we were able to walk everywhere to explore the sights of Rome.

All the staff and in particular Francisco, Diego and Yvonne were very friendly and helpful. They were all very happy to help us with booking tickets to attractions as well as making recommendations and helping with orientation of the city. They all went over and above the call of duty. We were also able to leave our luggage at the hotel on our final day.

The room was nicely decorated and comfortable and the bed was absolutely amazing - quite possibly the best bed I have ever slept in. It made it difficult to drag myself out to go and visit Rome! Breakfast was basic but nice and always delivered with a smile - it was nice to be able to have breakfast in bed.

This is a fantastic hotel which I would highly recommend. It does not have all the frills of a big hotel so would not suit someone who requires a hotel bar or restaurant or other such facilities. There is however free wi-fi which was great when planning our days in Rome.

It is very comfortable and the staff are very welcoming and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Montani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montani

Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 2,716 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Montani 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Montani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Montani Rome
Casa Montani Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Montani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.