We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor but far from centre if Rome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papillo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Papillo Hotel to your Saves list
Papillo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Arola, 53, 166 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #593 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice decor but far from centre if Rome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, free wifi but very very very far from town. It is very near to Rome Fiumicino airport (about 20-30mins from airport).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
36
3
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padova
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Modern hotel with restaurant located just off the GRA (Rome ring road). Rooms are fine and spacious with all the necessary comforts. Parking outside free of charge. Has free internet via cable, with a cost if using WIFI ???. There is a large supermarket and electronics shop next door so handy for any necessaries. would recommend both for work and holiday if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed there for 1 night with my wife; we went in group tour by Star tours; the hotel was very good,clean,comfortable;and breakfast was also very good;but it is located quite away from main city; as we went in a group I have no idea about the communication to main city area;when we reached there the lift was not working and we had to bring our own luggage to room and no one helped us and they took quite a long time to repair the lift which was very annoying

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in the Papillo Hotel for two nights. The room and bathroom were beautiful, nicely decorated. We were on a Trafalgar escorted tour; this hotel was the nicest of the four we stayed. The first night was part of the package but we spent an extra day in Rome, hence the second night.

The hotel is remote, adjacent to a highway, although noise was not a factor. To get to the heart of the city we paid 3 Euros each for the hotel shuttle to reach the subway which cost one Euro. For our return in the evening to the hotel we took a cab which cost 35 Euros with tip. We didn't take the subway as we were uncertain about getting a cab at the end of the line. We chose not to take the hotel shuttle as it stops running at 9 PM; plus there may have been coordination issues. It took 15 minutes on the hotel shuttle from the hotel to the subway terminus.

The next morning we went to the airport. The hotel tried to sell us their car service for 55 Euros w/o the tip. We took a cab instead which cost 55 Euros with the tip. However, it was a Sunday morning, traffic was light, and the cab driver "flew." I imagine it would have been more expensive in rush hour traffic and much slower. So the hotel car might not be a bad option.

Breakfast was included. I enjoyed this breakfast least of the four hotels visited. There is a large supermarket next door which also has a sit-down cafeteria. We didn't patronize it other than to buy a large bottle of water for the U.S. equivalent of 40 cents.

I gave the hotel four stars strictly on the quality of the room; I deducted a star because of the location. Not much of anything around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for one night (last night of our TrafalgarTour). The hotel was beautiful. There wasn' t much nearby as far as places go to eat. Luckily there was a grocery store next door to buy food at. There was electronics store nearby as well on the same property. It is very remote and far from the city center. It it closer to the airport. Highly Reccomend for airport access. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. It came with a fridge and large washroom and great shower. Because we had to leave before our breakfast was served , travel bags were set up for each family member which was great for our trip start for the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotel was excellent, but it was actually near the highway, which of course not convenient if you're going into the city. This was the hotel we stayed on our last day of tour so it was ok. There is a nearby department store and electronics store right in the same complex, plus a big supermarket. The hotel lobby and rooms were clean and modern. There was free wi-fi at the lobby, you just need to ask for a code from reception which gives you about 10 hours of access. The hallways were wide and the rooms were of good size. Breakfast was ok, although it was a bit hard to find at first because it seems to be using separate function rooms below.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Avoid it if you do not have a car. It is on the outskirts of the city and very far from everything except the airport. So, if you are flying out next day in the early hours, it's OK. To get to any of the sights or hot spots is very difficult. There is a bus but very infrequent. We were stranded at 10pm waiting for the last bus as stated on the board at one of the metro stations but there were no buses in sight. Finally , had to call a taxi who charged us quite a bit .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillo Hotel

Address: via Arola, 53, 166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Papillo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Papillo Hotel Rome offers a state-of-the-art accommodation experience specialised in corporate events and hospitality. Located just off the Gran Raccordo Anulare - Rome's ring road - our large scale complex is thoroughly modern and offers great convenient access to Fiumicino Airport, the Fiera di Roma Exhibition Centre and the historical centre of Rome. The Papillo Hotel Rome has three large meeting rooms with a total capacity for 150 guests. Each contains state-of-the-art communication facilities and can be hired along with a host of additional services by the day or half day. We have our own internal restaurant and with 82 luxurious guest rooms on offer, full accommodation for all delegates may be provided. With an ultra modern aesthetic design both inside and out, the Papillo Hotel Rome provides the perfect accommodation complement to your high profile event. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the public areas of the hotel with an ADSL connection in every room. Our multilingual and professional staff are on hand 24 hours a day to ensure your complete satisfaction.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Papillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.