We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crosti Hotel to your Saves list
Crosti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelfidardo, 54, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #170 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alba, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2011. Hotel Crosti is extremely clean, the concierges are extremely friendly and helpful and even came up to my room to help me figure out why my computer couldn't connect to the Wifi. The rooms are simple and basic but very clean with modern new bathrooms. A very comfortable bed - I remember sleeping full 8-9 hour nights ever night and waking up totally refreshed. Not a lot of natural light in my room, only a small elevated window. But overall very sufficient and well-kept rooms with nice bathrooms.
The hotel is small and has an old-fashioned caged elevator as well as regular stairs. A very quiet hotel, only a few other older couples staying there besides me. Also on a quiet street away from touristy sites - but I was still able to walk to the Borghese Gallery within about 10-15 minutes, and the Piazza della Republica within 5-10 minutes. Anyway, Rome is not so walkable - but I found it easy to get around and orient myself from this hotel in a quieter neighborhood. Some restaurants around (one directly across the street that was cheap and a good deal but not the best pasta) but I did most of my eating in other parts of the city.
The highlight of hotel Crosti is the INCREDIBLE breakfast - Italians are not famous for breakfast but Crosti does it right - baked apples, tons of pastries, croissants, bagels, hard boiled eggs, various fresh-squeezed juices (I remember watermelon, apple, orange, and lemon), coffee and tea, cereal, toast - very fresh, good quality breakfast but the pastries and the baked apples made it feel most special. I was very happy at Hotel Crosti and recommend it as a quieter hotel in Rome when you have time to walk/use a tourist bus to get to the main sites.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    236
    35
    5
    8
See reviews for
110
306
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Two single rooms booked. 2 Double rooms given. Very clean and comfortable with safe and fridge facilities. Hair dryer also available. A bar opposite one room, but didn't cause any problem - may be due to the fact the rain was so heavy for three nights, nobody was sitting outside. Very pleasant, helpful receptionists. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. Close to the Termini where we were able to access the metro and buses. We booked a bus in the airport to take us from the airport to the termini and back again. Fast, cheap (8 euros return) and reliable. Ate out at the restaurant suggested by the hotel which was very good. Around £20 for 2 courses and wine. Also ate at Peppy's which is a must. Very reasonable prices and live music. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights easy to find from termi station about 10 min walk plenty resturants near by good little bar across the road breakfast continental plenty of choice room with ensuite tv hair dryer etc overall good value

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just had 4 nights at the Crosti and cannot fault it. Great continetal breakfast with lots of choice. We lost (probably pickpocketed on Metro on way to Vatican - so be warned) a passport and reception were very helpful by guiding us to English speaking police station and speaking to British Embassy. Their restaurant 'da vicenzo' further down road made us very welcome and the food was fabulous - 10% discount too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crosti Hotel for two nights and found it to be a very nice place that was a bit far from the attractions of Rome. The hotel staff is very polite and informative and the rooms while small were clean and well appointed. The bed and pillows were hard for our tastes but after a full day of walking around the city you will barely notice.
What you will notice are the lights that flickered all night in our room. The high ceiling is curved and on two of the wall there are recessed fluorescent lights that you can't see but light up the ceiling. At night these flickered dimly like a cheap aurora borealis and it was quite annoying.
The bathroom is nicely appointed but the awkward tub/shower combination can be a bit difficult especially if you are a bigger person. The complimentary breakfast was nicer than most we had in Italy with a good selection of food, good coffee and courteous staff.
The biggest problem we encountered with the Crosti Hotel is the location. It is right near the train station which is convenient when coming to or leaving Rome but not close to the sites. My wife and I are young and in decent shape and even we dreaded having to walk all the way back to the hotel after a full day of walking to the Coliseum, Vatican City, etc. There is also not too much around the hotel which mean slim pickings for dinner at the end of the day.
Overall however we were satisfied with the hotel and would recommend it to people staying a couple days in Rome, however if you plan to walk around the city stay somewhere more centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

9/10. Great stay! Recommended highly for travelers looking for value in money stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just came back from spending 3 nights here. The room was good side and always clean. The bathroom was comfortable and hot water was not an issue. The Hotel is very close to train and bus stations about a 5 to 10 minute walk not an issue even with suitcases. We arrived in Rome by plane and had arranged our pick up in advance with the Hotel. Best decision we made! After traveling for 14 hours, the last thing we wanted to do was had to find a taxi. As soon as we walked out of the baggage claim area there was a person with our name that directed us to the driver of a large A/C van with plenty of room, specially since there was only 3 of us. The best part it was only 37 Euros, plus tip.

We arrived at 8am so our room was not ready, but we were able to leave our baggage, brushed or teeth, and were advise on places to go "Rome-ing" around. Tip: is you plan to use buses and train, buy the Roma pass, you can get it from the hotel lobby and it will end up saving you some money. It also includes 2 museums.

Our room has 3 single beds with plenty of room to walk around. The beds were comfortable and there is one huge window you can open and get fresh air. We were in room 103 which is at the end of the hall on top of the breakfast area, so if you are a light sleeper you might want to have a room higher up, you can hear noise early in the morning. Breakfast was great! Eggs, bread, pastries, juices, milk and of course lots of coffee. The girl that helps in the breakfast room is super nice and make great coffee.

The receptionist were all nice and friendly. Specially the older gentlemen at night, he was SUPER friendly! The one in the morning, would help you and answer questions, but didn't look like he really like his job. He wasn't mean.

The hotel own a restaurant, it was ok, but you can find a lot better options if you go wonder around. just up the street you can find at least 10 more.

So overall a great place to stay for the money! also, we did all of our booking through Europeandestinations.com and didn't have any problems, everything we bought we got :O)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosti Hotel

Address: Via Castelfidardo, 54, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crosti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in central Rome, a few minutes' walk from Termini Station in the heart of the capital. The CROSTI HOTEL is in an ideal position to visit Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crosti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.