We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms-great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Re di Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Re di Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Re di Roma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vercelli 21, 00182 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Patras, Akhaia, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great rooms-great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Pros: Easy to find, about 3 minutes from the metro station Re Di Roma (Metro is open till 11:30 p.m). The staff was friendly and eager to help/ give us info about the sights-transportation. Plus, it provided us with printed maps of the city. The rooms were very clean, modern and neat. New sheets and towels every day. free wi-fi, great air-conditioning system. Breakfast was ok (many options, but they could have been of better quality).
Cons: They should ask for IDENTIFICATION when someone asks for his key. Almost every time we returned there was a new person at the reception that had never seen us again, due to the shifts, but they easily gave us the key just by telling them the room number.
Overall great value for money. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    411
    49
    3
    3
See reviews for
165
576
38
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Front Desk staff was excellent, especially the gentleman on the evening shift, who gave great recommendations for nearby restaurants, location of nearest ATM, even printed maps for us! Breakfast was good, they even had Nutella! The location of the hotel is very good, just 5 minutes from a subway station, and around the corner from the subway station is a small supermarket. The only minor problem we had was there was no shower curtain in the bathrooms, just a divider that is half the length of the tub which didn't prevent water from splashing onto the floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co., California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just returned from spending five nights at the Re Di Roma. At first, we were a bit concerned as we walked to the hotel from Tuscolana Station. That station is a dump, and the neighborhood not so great, so we were concerned. However, as we walked up the hill, the neighborhood got nicer, until we reached the Re Di Roma.

This is a little boutique hotel just a few hundred feet from the Piazza Re Di Roma, which contains little stores and markets and a Metro station with a subway connection to all the major tourist sights of Rome. The hotel, however, is well outside the tourist area itself. It is not within walking distance of the tourist areas, so you will need to take the subway, taxis or drive.

The rooms are clean and modern, with nice modern bathrooms. The air conditioning worked well and the wi-fi was reasonably fast. The room price included a nice buffet with a fair selection of foods. All in all, for the price, this hotel was an excellent value. There is a great pizzerria, Pizza Re Di Roma on the circle, and several small markets nearby. If you get homesick, there is a McDonald's near the circle that is open very late.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked four rooms here in Summer 2011. At first I was worried because it was an excellent price, and then the knowledgable roman taxi driver had never heard of the hotel. When we finally arrived here all of my fears were quashed. What a fantastic hotel, the rooms are spotless and modern, the free breakfast of good quality and the service was top notch. Nearing the end of a five week trip we were tired, Rome was hot, and we really needed somewhere like this to relax. The location is just ok, but there are plenty of transport options nearby (metro station / bus / taxis.) All in all we were very happy with our stay and I would gladly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on February 2012, just in the time when Rome was dealing with heavy snow and rain. We chose this hotel because it had a great online discount when we booked it. Like 60% off. So we got a great room for an incredible price! And the expectations came true.

First off it is very well located. 2 minutes away from the metro and 5 minutes away from Rimini bus stop that will take you to the Colosseum, Vittoriano, etc. There's also a little supermarket right across the square at the metro entry.
The receptionists were very nice. Although the english wasn't the best, they were very kind. Took a tour with us of the hotel and in the morning, they would always call the attractions we wanted to visit to check if they were opened, because of the snow.
The room was very spacious, very modern and confortable. The bathroom was very well equiped and the thermostat was a blessing, because it was really cold outside. There even was a little balcony with a table and two chairs!
The breakfast room was not very big but the variety of food was great. Cereals, juices, milk, teas, iogurts, coffe, bread, croissants, mini baguettes, jams, butter, cheese, salami, of course Nutella.
I higly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again, because you feel you've spent your money very well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed her last year and found it really easy to get to all the sights. The tube station is just at the end of the roads so you can access all of Rome and the airport very easily . Reasonably priced and good rooms with a few English speaking TV Channels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

When considering the price of rooms in the UK and in other locations in Italy and indeed just in Rome at the height of the season, I still find it difficult to believe that this comfortable hotel just outside the centre of Rome charged 2 of us under 80 euros a night for a room for 3 nights including continental breakfast. We had a a large very clean room room with modern amenities and lots of little extras like quality toiletries, a large sofa, a desk, a minbar with sensible prices, and lots of different lighting. They also included free wi-fi. The thin walls between rooms have been mentioned by others. Yes you can hear sounds from neighbouring rooms and on one occasion when a neighbour was having a shower it sounded as though the water was going into our TV! However, if you have considerate neighbours (as we did) then there is not really a problem.

To my mind this must be one of the deals of the century!

The staff were pleasant and helpful, and while the breakfast was nothing special, it was perfectly adequate. The only problem was that the breakfast room was rather small and it could be very busy and difficult to get a table at peak times.

The location is outside the main centre, but it is actually walkable to the centre without great difficulty and is very easy by travelling just a few stops on the metro. It is certainly worth taking advantage of this hotel in my mind and to use the money saved to enjoy other benefits of a stay in Rome. Although as mentioned in other reviews there is graffiti around on many of the local buildings this is not a reflection of the neighbourhood which is in fact a reasonably well to do residential area. One only has to look up to see that this is not a run down area. So don't be put off and just go ahead and book if you are planning a trip to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Re di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re di Roma

Address: Via Vercelli 21, 00182 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
#95 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#113 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Re di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Di Roma Hotel
Re Di Roma Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Re di Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.