We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trambus Open

Trambus Open
Terminal Gianicolo | Street Urban VIII 16, 00165 Rome, Italy
06/6840901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #654 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Trams, Transportation, Other
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disabled View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled to Rome at the end of February 2013 and had a list of things we wanted to do that was fuelled by one of our son's visits there last Autumn. We wanted to go on the Archeobus to go and see the Catacombs only to find that at the time of year we travelled the Archeobus only ran on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday and we were there from Tuesday to Friday (morning), the information we found on the internet before we travelled did not mention this restricted service :o( So we went on the '110 Open Bus' to look around the city, after purchasing 2 tickets at the booth near the Termini we got on a bus just opposite the booth. The 'conductor' on the bus was aghast that we had paid for two tickets because it turns out that the disabled can travel free on the bus :o) so she sent my husband back to the booth to get a refund - which he did! On the first bus we travelled on my headphone jack worked fine but my husbands didn't, nor did any of the other jacks near our seat. On the second and third bus we couldn't get the jacks to work at all :o( The conductors were not actively giving out the headphones (I can understand why) and seem to spend most of their time texting, talking to the driver, or, on the last bus, showing the driver their phone photo's whilst the bus was being driven round the very busy, very narrow, roads of Rome. Worrying....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    21
    35
    137
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alexandria va
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“don't take the bus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was really disappointed by this company. I have used Red City Site Seeing Hop-on Hop-off company in many cities and tried 110open/Archeobus to save a few Euro. Mistake! Not enough stops, not enough narrative! Most of the time the company rep on the bus only talked to bus driver. Not friendly. Narrative rarely matched the location. Schedule times were a joke. If you just want to ride around the city, this is ok but if you want convenience, service or knowledge - forget this company. Going back to Red Bus!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't take this 110 Bus!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are usually against taking HOHO in any cities. But this time, after more than a week walking in a few cities of Italy, we were a little exhausted and decided to take HOHO for a day in Rome. A brief Rome Forum search gave us an impression that 110 is not as bad as the other two and decided to give a try. What a mistake!
The two different buses we rode were out of shape, masking tapes on audio plugs, some sections of bus (seats or something) were covered, one of staircases going to top deck was blocked with chains, … For more than 70% of running time, the audio was silent. For a city like Rome, around almost any corner, there is something to talk about. What a shame! One positive I read from the forum was it runs more frequently than the other two. Not for the day we took. At the Vatican stop, we waited 45+ minutes while watching other three yellow (Christina) and two green (Green Line) HOHO’s buses came and went. When asked what happened, the conductor girl said “maybe the drive before died”! You get the picture.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid trambus open 110”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Following a few other peoples comments - service is just plain BAD. As i am typing this i am standing outside for a smoke as we gave been told the bus will only leave in 30 minutes. This explains the LOOOOONG waits for the bus along the route. Rather pay a bit more for the yellow Roma Cristiana buses as they are actually on time..... Three passed us while we are still stationary. Coincidently also both buses are standing still together.

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID only advce i could provide

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good sights provided by the city, but poor service from the bus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We thought that getting a tour bus service was a good idea to explore the city. The answer was yes and no. Yes, it was a good way to get a ride around Rome and to see most of the beautiful attractions in the city. Seeing the Colosseo and Piazza Venezia for the first time as we went by from the top of the bus felt pretty amazing.

But then came the downsides. I would say, after seeing the not so good and disappointed reviews from others in tripadvisor, that it was because of the lack of customer oriented service. Bus coming late was one problem. We thought that it might be always the case considering the busy street and traffic in the city. But, we were disappointed to find out that two bus were taking breaks at the same time in one of the stop. They said that the bus would not operate for the next 30 minutes and suggested us to move to another bus.

On high notes, taking the tour bus might be a way to explore and sightsee the city for once. But, it might not be ideal as means of transportation especially when you already know your itinerary. Taking a taxi would be much more efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trambus Open? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trambus Open, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.