We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Romolo

Ristorante Romolo
Via di Porta Settimiana 8, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 06 581 8284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,623 of 8,545 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Description: Since 1930s the Restaurant, located in the heart of Trastevere, offers the traditional Roman Cuisine combining it with overnice innovations and creative recipes for local produce. The famous Garden is a place with historical value in Rome. In the enchanted courtyard, where Raffaello used to flirt with and portray the lovely 'Fornarina', you can dine in a relaxing atmosphere renowned for its magical silence and rich artistic heritage. Special menu for events and meetings to take care of your every need.
Miami FL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Romantic site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Never leave Rome without dining here. It is our Sunday spot. Eat in the garden. They open at 8 and have a very fine menu. Prices are moderate and service very fine. We usually leave Rome on a Monday so this is our last evening in town. Reservations accepted.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    15
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ralphael visited here, but not for the food. We did.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I don't know why this superb white-tablecloth restaurant isn't highlighted in Rome tour books. We've dined there three times over the years, most recently in May 2012, and Romolo always has exceeded expectations for service, food and ambience.

Romolo sits in the house once occupied by Raphael's mistress -- know as La Fornarina -- while he painted Pope Julius' apartments in the nearby Vatican. That bit of history adds an exotic touch to the elegant and sophisticated Romolo, but there's no trace of Raphael or La Fornarina remaining. The service and food, however, are Renaissance quality. Good, hearty Roman fare throughout the extensive menu, including shellfish and sea fish, lamb, beef and chicken, and of course toothsome hand-made pasta of all types.

We dined with two friends, and this was our night to treat for past favors, so the bill -- about 50 euros per person with proseco and wine with dinner -- wasn't a shock, and the value received was fair.

The restaurant is divided into various rooms, some cozier than others, all very charming, and watched over by a wait staff that's dedicated to guests' enjoyment. Weather was inclement on all three of our visits, but a view of the outside garden revealed still another reason to visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were there in March, so the garden was closed. We took our daughter and twelve of her friends. The service was magnificent and the food excellent. it was not crowded, presumably due to the season, but it is very well located just as you enter Trastevere from the river, at the foot of the Via Garibaldi.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I came across this place online while trying to come up with some restaurant options in Rome. It turned out to be close to where we were staying in Trastevere and sounded interesting, so we thought we'd give it a try. Since they close for August and we arrived just at the end of July we decided to go our first night. It wound up being a great choice.

The food is good quality Italian food. It's a lot of the pastas and other dishes you find elsewhere in Rome, but everything we ate was terrific. And the service was top notch. The waiters were there when needed them, but not overbearing. They were helpful with the menu, etc. and also had a great sense of humor. As good as all that was, the atmosphere of the place is impossible to top. You don't really appreciate it from outside on the street, but as others have noted, there is a beautiful courtyard inside the building. It is about as perfect a place to have a meal as I can imagine. It was just a pleasure to sit outside under the stars for a few hours, eat good food, and hang out with friends.

Having been there now, I can't quite figure out why this restaurant doesn't seem more popular or isn't better reviewed (not that that is a bad thing). There are a handful of trattorias down the street that command a lot more traffic and attention, but this one is worth making a special trip to.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a group celebration or romantic meal in walled garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a really nice meal here (Mixed local meats and hams as a starter, oxtail and prawns as mains and some really nice local wine (the cheap Euro12 house one).

This restaurant has a really pleasant walled garden which was fantastic by candlelight and obviously very popular with both locals and tourists for celebrations. The Trastevere area is also the best place for good values eating out and to experience the real Rome enjoyed by locals in the evening away from the tourist traps.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Romolo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Romolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Romolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.