We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fried Artichokes Anywhere In The World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piperno

Piperno
Monte de' Cenci 9, Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
39 06 68.80.66.29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,425 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best Fried Artichokes Anywhere In The World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ristorante Piperno is in the Jewish Quarters of Rome tucked away in a side street - and it has been there for more than 150 years - up a small allay laced with cobbled streets - and on approach you see this most wonderful outside dining area with large umbrellas and tables decked with white table clothes.

The fried artichokes are just amazing - and very much to expectation - after all I had traveled all the way from Singapore to reacquaint myself with this most delicious dish. In addition, with had a selection of white fish, squid and prawns accompanied with fresh spinach - and of course a refreshing white wine from Sardinia.

A must visit when in Rome away from the hustle bustle.
Please remember - lunch hour is from 12.15 to 2.30.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    186
    64
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, Average Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a nice lunch sitting outside in a quiet, pretty location. The artichokes alla guida were tasty, but maybe a little too greasy. My husband's lamb dish was tough, chewy and pretty flavorless. My gnocchi was very good, but not what I ordered. I know the restaurant is an institution, but I enjoyed the experience of their beautiful outdoor dining more than the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A classic gem in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you gravitate toward classicism and tradition Piperno will satisfy immensely. This is a restaurant that has confidence in its style, its cuisine, its service. One gets the feeling that nothing has changed here for decades and in that there is great comfort. The preparations are simple, straightforward and impeccably done. A recent meal began with sensational, savory deep fried artichokes (a case can be made the best in Rome), followed by utterly perfect linguine with clams, and then sweet fresh simply grilled large scampi. Each course was exactly what it should be. Waiters are dressed in white and the owner was in constant motion around the room greeting regulars. This will go on my 'musts" list for Rome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
942 reviews 942 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
1,341 helpful votes 1,341 helpful votes
“very traditional & very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a very traditional restaurant located near the synagogue (but not Kosher). It's really 100% of what I expect when it comes to 'traditional', the interior, the waiters and the food (no experiments).

We had the mixed starters which were just fantastic (stuffed zucchini flowers, fried artichokes etc.) and a bacalao. This was already a lot - but we already ordered our main courses. I had the Trippa a la Romana - which were 'ok', but not more. Our friend ordered the Ravioli with Trippa and I've to say it was FANTASTIC. The combination of Ravioli with the stronger taste of Trippa makes it the perfect 'meat'. As dessert we took the 'grandfather balls' - WOW!!!

Come hungry, because the food is very heavy - but excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were looking forward to the “definitive” artichokes alla giudia which have long been a specialty of Piperno and which we had had many years ago here. They were unimpressive this time. So were our two main courses. We had the lamb sweatbreads with artichoke and the lamb stew (agnello in umido) with potatoes. Both were indifferently prepared and tired; they seem to have been reheated from yesterday’s leftovers.

Almost all of the customers were Americans comparing notes on their cookie-cutter Rome-Florence-Venice tours. Meanwhile the staff stood around looking bored. This place has gone way downhill, and we will not be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piperno also viewed

 

Been to Piperno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piperno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.