We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piperno

Piperno
Monte de' Cenci 9, Rome, Italy
39 06 68.80.66.29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,295 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have been to Piperno many times and time after time the friend items on the menu, especially the artichokes and zucchini flowers, are always the best. My husband also had a halibut wrapped in thinly sliced potatoes and served with artichokes and I had a delicious coda alla vacchinara aka oxtail. For dessert, the wild strawberries with lemon sauce are the best strawberries you will ever have.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    167
    58
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Hotel Manfredi was kind enough to make a reservation for us at this hard to find spot. We set on on foot with map in hand-X marked the spot-but we still had to pull out a GPS to find it. We are so glad that we did.
We sat outdoors in the lovely piazza. Each table was full and I am sure that without our reservation, this lovely table would not have been possible.
Our waiter was helpful in our selections, even help us avoid an near disaster in ordering (sweetbreads was read literally by one of our party as "Sweet Bread") and paced the meal perfectly. The famous artichoke was just as delicious as we had been told. We will make sure to return and have recommended this as a must try to many friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is hard to find but it was a great pleasure.

I had mixed vegetables starter and agnelotti pasta dish for main course and wild strawberries desert. I liked all of them.

Service was excellent but if you are not polite it is possible to have similar yype of service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a pleasant experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I do not often write reviews, but I would hope to help others to avoid wasting an evening and a lot of their holiday money in this place. We read about it in the guide book and thought it sounded really nice and authentic. When we arrived we were shown through a busy bustling atmospheric room and parked in a dingey back room with only a couple of other tables and no atmosphere. I sat on a very uncomfortable "bentwood" chair which was hard and dug into the back of my knees.
The waiter's face was so dour, it would stop a clock. The fried artichoke was greasy and tasteless, and I had a lamb stew which was greasy, fatty unappetizing and totally inedible. The veg arrived cold and we sent it back. The waiter was rude an inattentive, and spoke to us under duress. We skipped dessert and couldn't get out fast enough.
we skipped dessert

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapid
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Enjoyed our evening here. Food was good, service was excellent, and the setting in a very quiet piazza was lovely. Food was just a bit expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piperno also viewed

 

Been to Piperno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piperno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.