We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orso 80

Orso 80
Via dell'Orso 33, Rome, Italy
06-686-4904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,576 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montauk, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really lovely local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place was downstairs from our rental apartment so we gave it a shot and it was a really good pick. The antipasti are the real stars. We ordered a mixed vegetable platter and it came with a huge variety of delicious things like artichoke heart and all sorts of marinated/pickled veggies. The waiter was patient while I spoke my busted-up Italian, which made it more fun. A really good, local, laid-back joint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    148
    74
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gosh.... Our New favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Have known/heard about hjis place for years. Actually work together with a guy who served there 20 years ago.
Was there today 16/3 2013 with a mixed expectations.
After coming out from there ghe place will in our future plans be a Must in Rome. Grest food and lots of locals as well. That are effective quick and service monded We wont hold against them. Great anti pasti misto for mu wife. 15 different thkngs, great soup and pasta for my self. First time in Rome - Not really so our jugdement or evaluation has some weight behond it. And Orso 80 - We will be back asap

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Turistico......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were sent there by the receptionist of our hotel. It was the most awful and bad food we had in our staying in Rome. Very expensive for what it serves. I do not recommend this to anyone. Better avoid this....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even better than we remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I were taken here by an Australia priest living in Rome 7years ago! It was so memorable we had to find it once more and fortunately for us we did. The all men service was friendly and very helpful. To start we shared the famously roman antipasto. It was fresh colourful and very tasty. Ham, cheese, olives, artichoke, peppers, fennel stuffed pumpkin flowers, eggplant, meat balls in sauce, Breads, and on it went. Then we were given enough time to relax before our mains. We ordered Osso Bucco and suckling pig! Both dishes we amazing and not to big after the full on starter! We finished with biscuits and coffee! Our 2nd visit was amazing and we will be back next time we are in Rome! Do your self a favour and try L'Orso!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderfull food good location, excellent value for money. Loved the steak in peppercorn sauce (fillet al peppe) lovely house wine, meal for two with wine and shared antipasti was less than 80 euros and worth every penny!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso 80 also viewed

 

Been to Orso 80? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orso 80, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.