We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Africa - Ristorante Tipico Etiopico-Eritreo

Africa - Ristorante Tipico Etiopico-Eritreo
Via Gaeta 26, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
064941077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,594 of 8,547 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place is a little Gem, tucked away from the busy cafe/restaurant strips in Rome.
If your going there expecting a "fine dining" experience you will be disappointed. This place is quite quirky and what id does offer is fantastic African cuisine, great beer and very reasonable prices. It is ideal for families. My wife, daughter (4yrs old) and i went there in May 2012 and loved it.
So if your a bit over all the Pizza & Pasta and you would like to experience something a little different, i recommend you give Africa a go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    199
    68
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Deliciously Refreshing and Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Who would have thought that my 1st experience ever with African food would be in Rome, Italy! I live in the U.S and could not find a resturant so decided to give this one a try. The food was tasty, mouth watering and you have a choice if you want it served with or without spicy sauce. The staff (I forgot his name- a young man) was quite friendly and helpful with food selection. The very next day since it was my last day I took the entire family back and it was an unforgettable night. They thoroughly enjoyed the food as well. The price was so reasonable along with the ambience, music and settings. The chairs were interesting also (like sitting on a large tree stump except with back support). The place was clean, warm and friendly. Wish there was one in NY :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Food was surprisingly fantastic! Went here for something different as there's only so much pizza and pasta you can eat. The waiter was very helpful and explained the menu to us. Food came out quickly..but the short wait certainly didnt reflect negatively on the food as it was all fresh and tasted fabulous! Deffo planning to visit again before leaving rome!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
“Bellisimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wow as soon as you walk in the door you feel like your in Africa the ambience is splendid original African colors paintings and carvings.
If u feel like a change from the hustle and bustle the pizzas and pastas the European lingo but still be in the city this is the place to go.
Unforgettable experience this place is a must do if if you wish to experience a little something out of the ordinary whilst in Rome ;)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heaps of tasty food, on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A friend and I decided to go out in Romefor dinner after having enough pizza, we settled on Ethiopian/Eritrean. We were the only tourists in the restaurants that night, and it was packed, great atmosphere though, not too loud. We had an interrailing budget of €30 a day (excl. accommodation) and this fitted the bill perfectly (starter + main + 2 beers = €23). Another plus for young travellers is that it is located very close to the major hostels, definitely worth giving it a try, a great memory and a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africa - Ristorante Tipico Etiopico-Eritreo also viewed

 

Been to Africa - Ristorante Tipico Etiopico-Eritreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Africa - Ristorante Tipico Etiopico-Eritreo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.