We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your for any damages before they charge you for it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Hotel to your Saves list
Orange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #652 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Check your for any damages before they charge you for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Location excellent, breakfast served on the roof decent basics. front desk staff were sweet and helpful. 5 minute walk to Vatican, 30 min walk to colosseum, 15 min to Trevi/Pantheon. When we checked in the cheap ikea like shaving mirror was lose from its base on the bathroom wall, the soap dispenser in shower was the kind you see in public bathroom (metal with push dispenser) it swing open but the inside plastic box was open so we just dipped our fingers into it, TV had issues with power cords. I
Guess the cleaning staff gets 1 star for not checking these details for the owner. Because the the hotel was more about serving its purpose with location and price we did not sweat these minor things. THE DOWNSIDE: the cheap shaving mirror fell when moved it to the side it fell broke and CHARGED us 60Euro. So make sure you tell them if anything is on the verge of falling apart as soon as you check in, it's decor is very much on the ikea budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    122
    66
    38
    24
See reviews for
39
169
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the Orange Hotel. The location was great, right by the Vatican so only a 20 min or so walk into the centre of Rome. The hotel is ok, it's not terrible, it's very safe, the staff were fine but it's very very basic. We booked this hotel as we really liked the idea of a rooftop terrace ... The terrace was only available for breakfast (if u paid for brekkie), you aren't allowed up there any other time or just to have a drink as it's owned by a separate company to the hotel & theres a very stroppy girl guarding the area who will send you straight back down if you venture up! The breakfast was terrible so we cancelled it after the first day. Also we had pre paid for breakfast but just fyi every day you have to go downstairs to reception to get a ticket then go back upstairs to the roof before you are allowed to eat anything - again it's because the roof & breakfast are arranged separately to the hotel.

The rooms are an ok size for a city centre but because they are going for a trendy boutique kinda look the rooms are sooo dark! It's really hard to do your make up! So for male business travellers - yes the hotel is fine! For couples or girly trips - no! We had a big jacuzzi bath & that was lovely! But would have really liked a hook to put the shower on as it was a nightmare to wash long hair in a bath. Whether we would stay here again or not would entirely depend on the price tbh. For £50 - £60 a night it would be fine. We paid just over £100 a night & it was a lot for a dark room to be honest! There isn't anywhere you can sit in the sun & get a drink & you have to pay for any tiny extra (eg. wifi - it's not even available in the communal areas without paying).

Last thing - there r NO toiletries whatsoever in the rooms ... no mini shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap so bring EVERYTHING you need!! Oh & the hair dryer - being your own! It's a very weird retro type one but it burns your hands when it gets hot & doesn't work very well!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the mouldy smell in the room, to the terrible service at breakfast, I would NOT recommend this 'hotel'. Zero customer service from the lady serving at breakfast, who was more concerned with finishing her shift. The two members of staff on the Front Desk were helpful with directions, but this did not make up for the overall bad experience! I would have been happier in a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Helen I’ve carefully read your review and I’m sorry you’d this bad feeling about the Hotel due to the Restaurant lack of service, which doesn’t mean we are more like an hostel or you’ll be happier in an hostel, no? It seems more a review you can put on the restaurant profile, then ours. Anyway, if you’d like to check on “Trattoria sul tetto” restaurant profile you’ll find all good reviews, for this reason we decided to commit the breakfast service to them. Clearly there was a gap and we deeply regret for it, we are investigating the matter and we’ll take the appropriate actions, but we insist you should come back and let us change your opinion with a very special treatment. :)
I’m glad you’ve appreciated the front desk assistance, as we are very focused on customer care and we work for the Hotel, Not for the Restaurant and in fact I’m answering from the hotel, not from the restaurant! :) Please check on our website Unusual page where we advertise the restaurant is IN the hotel and not PROPERTY OF the Hotel.
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Not the same as it was: not even close! I have been coming to the Orange Hotel for many years now and given the recent experience I doubt I'll keep this as my default option in Rome.

Once upon a time staying at the Orange hotel was a delight. The location is fabulous enough (walking distance from Saint Peter) to make up for the loud traffic and lack of noise insulation. The breakfast/roof top staff is what made this last trip a turning point to the worst. Harsh and rude in ways that you will never find in Italy is the only way to describe what we have just experienced. 'Don't you have your coupon?' is what age said instead of 'buongiorno' this morning. 'Coupon??' Nothing was handed out to us when we checked in, breakfast was included, never had to give more than my room number before. I kindly reminded her that and she said 'it doesn't matter, go downstairs and get the breakfast coupon'. Literally! 'If you need to verify would you mind calling the reception instead?' I kindly asked. 'One of you need to go downstairs!' she unapologetically yelled. No please, no apology for the inconvenience just YELLING! We both turned around and started walking 4 flight of stairs. Few minutes later I witnessed the same attitude with others. Lovely swearing at the spilled over sugar bowl too. And then, coupon at hand 'Is it really necessary?' she said when we asked for a cappuccino (also included). Seriously? BTW, I was born and raised in Italy. You can't attribute the rudeness above to language.

To be fair the reception staff was much nicer but starting the day with 30 mins of yelling on the rooftop is not something anybody should experience and even less pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Verely thank you for your review, it’s always sad to read a returning guest review stating “Once upon a time”, but then it’s about the RESTAURANT NOT ABOUT THE HOTEL!
I’m not claiming the responsibility away, as I’m investigating the matter trying to find the gap (suspecting that during the vacation time the usual attendant was out) and I’ll work on the restaurant management to make this NEVER happen again. But maybe it’s more a review to be posted on the restaurant profile then ours!
This said I’ll love to host you back and show you we are the Usual-Unusual hotel if not better!
I’m really glad you find our location fabulous and our staff so nice, please contact me any time you’d like, I’ll arrange special treatment for you.
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent one night at the Orange Hotel. The front desk staff was very nice but that was all the hotel had to offer. The room was very small, and the bathroom was dirty. The room had a strange and awful smell when we first enter. The room safe was located in an awkward place (on the floor of the closet, so you had to get on your hands and knees to get to the safe). The worst part of our stay was the noisy street (you can hear the loud cars all night long... non stop). This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Orange Hotel. I can honestly say that this is the most over rated hotel I have come across and I have stayed in many!A conversion of an office block that essentially dupes potential guests into pretending to be a trendy 'green' boutique experience.Orange wet look cushions on the landing and stencilled writing on the stairways doesn't cut it and the room I stayed in was small and miserable.From tvs sitting in aluminium receptacles to blinds that didnt quite make the cill (meaning early wake ups) the hotel is a poorly fitted and 'tired'. Poor YMCA style breakfast with a Rottweiler 'maitre d' that only appears when a guest tries to work out the breakfast protocol. Ludicrously expensive too. How others can rate this hotel positively is a mystery to me! It is handy for the vatican which is where the positivity ends.

Shabby chic might be the objective? Certainly the former . A smelly room was blamed on the air conditioning but was 'eau de B.O'.

Room Tip: Avoid.. There are much better hotels which deserve the 4 star rating in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Good location for sites, but right next to a late night Karaoke bar and busy street. If you want any sleep don't stay at this hotel.

Service is average - seen better and worse.

Rooms are clean, but very basic.

Breakfast and wi-fi is extra.

Overall very poor value for money and the experience was quote painful. Most expensive stay in our entire trip and it was the worst hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear David thank you for your review!
Very sorry for the experience, but we have to say that as soon as we knew your night has been so difficult (as you wrote your review while in the hotel, after the first night) we changed your room and you said you were very satisfied!
What a pity you could not change your review, as you’ve changed your mind!
However we’d like to specify that no karaoke bar is next door, it was just our neighbor birthday party, and, thanks God, it’s once in a year!
Please contact us when you are planning to visit back Rome, we’ll make your stay in to the Eternal city very special with a special deal!
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel

Address: Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rome
#250 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.