We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality for this price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Independence Square to your Saves list
Independence Square
Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,221 of 2,859 Rome B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good quality for this price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

tiny double room with tiny bathroom but clean and very near to the Termini Station. small breakfast included (croissants, coffee, tea), quiet despite the street view. decent quality for this price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great choice for cost conscious travellers. We paid about half of what we normally pay at a nearby hotel. The rooms were very basic but very comfortable. For some reason we had to change rooms on our second night. The rooms were quite different in character, as you can see in the photo's. Pino, the host was fantastic. The location is great. A short walk to Termini. Will definitely stay here on my next Roman holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We've stayed there for 3 nights, the room was very clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly. The best and breakfast is located less than 5 minutes walk from termini station and nearby all attractions.
I would definitely recommend this B&B if you looking for good budget accommodation. Don't forget to try the restaurant downstairs, they served delicious Italian food for cheap price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Went to Rome for my 21st birthday with my friends we stayed in here! It was amazing! The Bed and Breakfast clean! And we loved Pino who made the best coffee ever he was really helpful and told us where to visit, the beach he recommended was so beautiful! would recommend this place to everyone! it was quiet at night and safe... Pino if you are reading this we miss you and no one makes coffee like you! Hope to visit again soon! love the English countyside girls (Millie, Jasmine, Danielle and laura) haha xxxxxxxx

P.s Great links to all transport including coach to airport- 5 five minute walk there is also a train station there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent five nights in Rome. Our stay in Independence Square Inn was great. The location is good - very near Termini Station. For Rome, it is very good value and the place is very clean and neat. Our host was Pino. He may be a bit of a rough diamond, but he grew up in the USA, speaks great English and went out of his way to help us. I got sick while in Rome and the staff were really caring and helpful. This is a real gem and I would recommend it to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

stayed here 1 night en route from Lucca to Australia...excellent location...nice basic clean room.....we were able to easily walk to the Termini for our airport pick up.....by bus as reccommended by Gianlucca...he was very helpful on check in but the guy doing breakfast and checkout was quite abrupt to say the least....beware of the taxi driver who charged us E28 from the termini....would have loved to have taken his number and reported him...gross overcharging....overall the hotel was a great choice though......would reccomend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Because we didn't go to Rome to sit in a room, we didn't want to pay the earth. This place offers great value for money and a good location near to Termini station and the metro. We had an en-suite room as we just don't do shared bathrooms - obviously to accommodate the bathroom, the room was tiny. I wouldn't like to think I was staying there longer than a couple of nights coz there really wasn't much room. That said, the room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room only sits 4 at a time and its first come first served however the guy brought our breakfast to the room (pastries, juice and coffee) when it was full our first morning. The room didn't have air con but supplied a fan - I imagine it gets really hot in the height of summer. We left the window open the 2nd nights and it wasn't too noisy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,221 of 2,859 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.