We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Hotel in Roma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massimo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Massimo to your Saves list
Hotel Massimo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 35, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #428 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Georgetown, Guyana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hotel in Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in December and thanks to Sammy and Gabriel for their assistance. They were great. The hotel is only 15mins from Termini and a little hard to see as the name plate is small but it's across the street from the Inka Chicken restaurant and just past the Ristorante al 39. It's inside the small entrance in the large wooden door and located on the 3rd floor. It's close enough to most sites to walk or the Metro station at Termini. Conads supermarket is 5mins away in the Piazza dell'Independenza and there is a pharmacy at the corner of the street so if you need provisions they are very close.

They gave us a triple room which helped and the ensuite was good though the shower was quite small. Not deal breaker, but I'm 6'2" and it's tight. There's a minibar fridge and a TV with Italian channels. Took a little to get the TV working as there was a missing cable, but Sammy was helpful. The heater/AC unit was good as it was cold in the room at night, and the remote has a sliding cover with more functions inside which we didn't see at the start. There is also free Wifi that worked without problem.

Breakfast is really quite good. Lots of choices ... juices, coffees (from machine), tea, cereals, cheese, meats, buns, breads, spreads, and canned and fresh fruit. The coffee machine is available 24/7 for a small fee. My girlfriend wasn't crazy about the taste of the water coming out of the machine, but I was ok with it. The hot chocolate is REALLY sweet. Yes it's a small eating area, but it's quaint and not a problem.

Good hotel. Great staff. Very good place to stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was the furthest from the eating/reception area though it wasn't too loud in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was in Italy for 4 weeks (Nov-Dec 2013) and Rome was my first stop. Room was clean with working TV (Italian channels) and mini fridge and with bathroom. Breakfast was simple - juices, coffee, cheese, ham or salami, bread, and fruits. Sammy, the hotel receptionist, was very helpful and knowledgeable. Reception open from 7-11AM and from 4-7PM. Termini is about 10-15 minutes walk. The nearest Metro station is 5 minutes walk and Conads, the grocery chain, just 2 blocks away. A few restaurants along the street though I did not try them. Going back to the hotel late at night, I felt safe. The hotel itself is on the 3rd floor with a small lift. Lastly, room wifi was fast.

Room Tip: Room with a street view seemed nice for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Arrived at this hotel at 10pm as it was after 7pm you are instructed to collect your room keys in the hotel next door which was fine as it was seconds away. Once inside the hotel you find a small reception and breakfast area which is just perfect for central Rome. The room was spacious with an en suite bathroom and double bed with TV. There was also Wifi which was good as it enabled us to update our pictures of Rome on Facebook. Over all this hotel was perfect in every way imaginable. The employees are very kind and helpful. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Gabrielle on reception was very good to us and kindly let us leave our luggage after check out as we flew out later that day. Breakfast is simple like others say but still filling and varied. The coffee machine is great. Very conveniently located near Termini and we walked to many sights during our stay like the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. Room was large and bed comfortable. Many restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Great little place. Clean and in a great location. Breakfast isn't great and could do with some variation as the same thing everyday can get very boring. Worth staying at if you are on a budget and want to be able to get to the main attractions quickly and easily.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinaia, Romania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel couple of nights, in a very nice triple room. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was basic but good (wonderfull coffee machine :)). From Termini to the Hotel you walk less then 5 minutes. The staff is GREAT...Thank you Sami and Gabriel for making us smile each morning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just returned from a short visit to Rome with my daughter. The hotel we were booked into for the 4 night stay was experiencing problems with the water to our intended room and asked if we would mind sleeping the first night at the hotel next door, The Hotel Massimo. We were a little unsure as our original hotel was a 3+star rated hotel and The Massimo was rated 2 star. I have experienced the Italian rating system in the past so did not have high expectations. We need not have worried as the standard of room was very high....deserving of more than the 2 stars in my opinion. The staff were welcoming and friendly and explained everything we needed to know without a problem. We were told that the hotel had only been open for a short while but one would have not known this as the 2 young men we encountered at reception were very knowledgable and professional. I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo

Address: Via Palestro 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Massimo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Massimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.