We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would totally recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angeli di Matilde

Angeli di Matilde
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Angeli di Matilde to your Saves list
Angeli di Matilde
Via Muzio Attendolo, 26-00176 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,782 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would totally recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very clean, nice room, the owner was very helpful and friendly,the self service breakfast was fresh each day,many options from coffee to tea cereal juice etc,its not in the center but it ahs good public transport u almost dont have to wait for the tram or bus as they pass contantly.Very good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

It started badly enough, and it just got worse by the day. First, the instructions to get to the place was not THAT accurate. There were 2 trams, yes, and the instructions on the website said to get off at the 10th stop, but didn't specify whether it was the 10th when taking no.5 or the no.14 (the indications on the Termini station showed different stops for each along the Via Prenestina, the 10th stop of one was not exactly the 10th stop of the other!), i tried calling the B&B with my mobile phone, got no answer, tried a phone in one of booths in the station, got no answer, and finally after about 15 min of calling from my mobile, had somebody on the line, but for all the trouble, it didn't help as he didn't seem to understand what i was asking.

Anyway, after some time, we got there. The location is not as close as it seems from Termini -- it's about 20 min ride but the trams are frequent. Then it is not really a B&B in the usual sense , it is an apartment unit where the family rents out rooms on a daily basis. There is no lift, so if you are with luggages or with an elderly companion, it is quite difficult. The area around is residential, and a large part of this is a community of immigrants. It is quite disconcerting at first to be walking along the main street with a lot of young men and elderly ones, Arabs, gypsies, South Asians, just hanging around and talking -- i have nothing against them of course, but it made me feel very much like an intruder into their little community.

Tanya gave quite an efficient introduction, and we felt quite at home right away. That is, before the small and increasingly annoying things happened. It was quite all right the first night, we were tired and we coudn't be bothered with the details of the room. The following day, we had wanted to leave our important documents and valuables in the supposed safe, but to our consternation, the darned thing needed batteries! She didn't bother to tell us, and where the hell would we find extra batteries just when we were ready to leave? Anyway, there was nobody around to ask -- and this was how it was going to be exactly for the next 4 days, or until almost right before we were to leave and had to pay. They play the disappearing act very well, except of course during payment time!

There was nobody to attend to our questions and problems which we started having-- we didn't even know on which door to knock, who we could call, at what time there would be somebody available, etc... the light in our bathroom would not turn on (it was supposed to be automatic), imagine having to shower in the dark -- and having nobody around to attend to it! Then the sink would not drain -- horrors! Still, nobody around. Linen was never changed in the 4 nights we were there. And the darn huge decorative jar with ancient plastic flowers in them by our window was sooo unimaginably dusty and dirty, though we did not notice this at first. imagine how it was when we opened the window, and a small breeze came in -- it just blew dust clouds all over our beds, and the floor -- and since we could find no proper broom and cleaning things, it stayed like that the entire time!



on our 3rd day, around 6 am, when it was still pretty dark, the doorbell rang, and it rang for almost 3 quarters of an hour incessantly -- it was impossible to go back to sleep! finally, somebody answered, and we heard noises, it seems a family had arrived in an early flight, and had to go straight to the house. they were just in the narrow corridor chatting with one of the owners (the guy). but imagine the inconvenience to all other guests in the house with the crazy ringing. by that time, we had wanted to talk to somebody about the problems in our bathroom, but the guy after some time just disappeared, not even bothering to acknowledge us, or ask if everything was ok.

on our last night, i was given wrong info even regarding the travel time of the Leonardo express, and the price (i couldn't get the info myself as the codes they gave me for wireless internet did not work) -- but of course i found that out only the next day on our way to the airport. then instead of a proper receipt, i was given a stub of paper with a number printed on it to serve as receipt, nothing with even a semblance of something official. it was obviously a useless scrap of paper.

as if all these inconveniences were not enough, when i got home, i realised i had lost my micro SD. it could only have been lost in the room we stayed in, as on our last day, i had opened my mobile phone to take out the batter as it had gone dead. i had not opened my phone for ages, and neither after that. in any case, i wrote an email, called them (the sister who answered did not speak english, so it was impossible to make her understand), nothing. i called again the following day, and somehow got my message across, and was told, no they did not find anything. hard to believe. so anyway, i lost all my data, and photos, video and music, and i'm not even sure if they knew what i was talking about. and anyhow they didn't seem to be the kind to be bothered about their guests.

the size of the room itself was ok. but the bathroom was tiny, and quite disgusting, it is old and the tiles badly need to be changed, water from the shower would inadvertently flow out to the floor as the curtain does not fit properly, there is no place to put soap and shampoo in, etc etc. the wardrobe is utterly useless -- it is small, and already half of the space goes to extra linen or duvet which they keep there. so the entire time, i didn't even bother to take out my clothes from my luggage!

the breakfast is horrible -- the quality is like a third rate hostel's. on our first morning, we could not even have coffee -- the darn thing needed something (we couldn't understand the italian instruction) and nobody was there to attend to it. the bread is this small white loaf, which were not replaced on the entire time we were there (nobody except us touched it, it seems) -- on our last morning, the slices crumbled in our fingers when we attempted to take some out -- ridiculous! there were small cakes and cookies, all of bad quality -- the cheapest kind there is. at least the milk looked like milk, and there was small packed juice. yes, you wouldn't go hungry, indeed -- these were stuff that could fill a stomach. but just that.

overall, a very bad stay -- if i could give just one-half point, i would, but TA does not give that option! the one point would be for the quiet street (though we were facing the street, this did not pose a problem), the good-sized fridge, and an aircon that was working and quiet.

not recommended at all!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We had no problems finding Angeli di Matilde using the directions we were given. From Termini, it took about 15-20 minutes on the tram (10 stops). Upon our arrival, we were met by Tonya, who made us feel welcome right away. She showed us how to use the a/c, TV, internet, and explained the breakfast and how to work the coffee machine. Then she gave us maps and information on transportation and answered any questions we had about Rome. Great service and a great host! We paid up front, cash only, and felt right at home!

The room was average in size, and very clean. The bathroom was very small, but it was so nice to have our own bathroom that it didn't matter. The room had a refridgerator, TV and air conditioning. Very comfortable.

The breakfast was your standard European breakfast, all self-service, consisting of juice, coffee, milk, cereal, breads, pastries and yogurt.

The location, while not in central Rome, was easily accessible by tram and in a normal working-class neighborhood. The area always felt safe, even at night. Tonya directed us to a GREAT restaurant called LA SOSTA DI ROMOLO E REMO. Take a right out of the B&B, your first left, and it's on the left. 5 minute walk. Great, inexpensive food. We went there twice.

I highly recommend this B&B for anyone on a budget looking for a cozy, easily accessible, friendly place to stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed in Angeli di Matilde for 3 nights. The room was quite small, more suitable for a couple (we are 3 adults and 1 teenager). Everything was clean and neat, the price was reasonable.

The staffs were very friendly and helpful with ok English. They recommended us to a great local restaurant with very good food and cheap. Breakfast was ok as we expected.

Just one thing, the location was a bit far from the center though it was very convenient to public transport.

If you're looking for a private place for your budget travel, I strongly recommended Angeli di Matilde.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Upon our arrival at Angeli di Matilde, Tanya made us feel at home instantly. She showed us our room and bathroom, the kitchen and snacks and breakfast foods that were available, the computer (with internet) that was available for our use (with printer), and then even provided maps and directions on how to get around, etc. Not only was the B&B clean and quiet, but we left with new friends. I would highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Rome that is fairly close to city central (10-15 tram ride to Termini), gives you the freedom to come and go as you like (just like any hotel), and also has the nicest people to help make your stay even more enjoyable. Thanks Tanya and Cristian!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

The room and bathroom were small, but very clean. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. The neighborhood was a little scary (graffiti and protect-o-guard) but we encountered no problems. Transportation into the city center was close by and easy.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We stayed in this B&B in Rome. The people that ran the B&B were very friendly and helpful and they don't make you feel like you are staying in someones house. The room was big, the bathroom was small but clean. The location is about 10 tram stops away from the Termini Station. It is a bit out of the way by the transport is good for getting to places. The area may seem "local" at first but we got used to it. It was good value for money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angeli di Matilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeli di Matilde

Address: Via Muzio Attendolo, 26-00176 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,782 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Angeli di Matilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeli Di Matilde Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angeli di Matilde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.