We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auditorium di Mecenate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auditorium di Mecenate to your Saves list
Auditorium di Mecenate
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dello Statuto 44, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good cheap hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were only staying here for one night, it was at the end of our trip and we had to leave at like 6am the next morning to catch our flight. This place is about a 10 min walk from the Termini station, so it was fairly close and its an easy walk with no real issues of getting lost. I would definitely stay here again if I needed just one night in Rome, its like 3 min walk from one of the Metro stations, but if you are around for a couple of days it might be better to be in the Republica area which is closer to a lot of bus lines. The room is small - especially the bathroom, but its cheap and clean and everything is pretty modern. The elevator wasnt working when we were there, and its on the 3rd floor (in Europe the first floor is 0, so you really have to walk up 3 flights and the flights are large because each story has high ceilings) so it was a hassle getting the bags up, but you only have to carry them up the stairs once, so it wasnt a big deal. We got there early (around 1pm) and our room wasnt ready but the maid was really nice and she let us drop off our bags. Staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    120
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
187
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is at a great location, close to subway, easy to find. That was why I picked it. Room was clean and the window opened up to the street below. It gave us a great sense of what it would be like to live in Rome. Some staff was helpful, gave us lots of restaurant recommendations, but some staff didn't speak very good English. Breakfast was served in the room and it's great! We could get ready, grab bites to eat, and not waste valuable time while vacationing.

However, we couldn't get wifi in our room. I have to sit in the lobby to get wifi. This is not convenient for travelers who rely on wifi to check emails, get info, and Facebook/twitter, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very clean room, good breakfast which is delivered to your room
Great location, just a short walk from the colosseum and close to Termini and the metro
Very friendly, helpful staff with good contact before the trip

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Positives:
1) Close to Metro stop (Vittioro Emmanuele) and the main train station (Termini).
2) Incredibly friendly service. Nothing to seems to be too much trouble for them. Email responses was quick, helpful, and courteous.
3) Breakfast is delivered to the room at an appointed time.
4) Close to the Colosseum.
5) Room rates were exceptionally low.
6) Located away from the tourist areas. Some decent restaurants, shops, and a park are nearby.

Negatives:
1) The beds and pillows are rather firm (not my personal preference).
2) The AC was not as cool as other hotels in Italy.
3) Some of the breakfast items were packaged and not fresh.
4. Walls are thin, and the hall space is tight.

I brought a school group here in June 2013. The staff was wonderful, and the location and price were excellent. Just be aware that the accommodations are not luxurious by any means, and your experience will be great.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one that is not over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just a few minutes walk from Termini train station, in the 3rd floor of a simple building, hides a wonderful hotel with megical rooms, kind, lovely and helpful staff (Khumar rocks!). Stayed there for three nights with a 1.4 year old baby (who got a big free crib and felt like a king). Close to both red and blue Metro lines, a walking distance from several sites. Breakfast was served to our room was simple yet fulfilling and good. Had a wonderful stay! we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although it has been quite some time since our honeymoon, we have been determined to make sure we got this review submitted for the Auditorium di Mecenate and the staff (we actually stayed in here in June-July 2012). We stayed here twice during our honeymoon travels. Prior to traveling my husband, John, communicated with the staff who was more than happy to help make sure everything was perfect for our honeymoon. We chose to stay here as it is centrally located to the Termini, which is perfect for hopping from one place to another in Rome. We were blessed to stay in one of the larger rooms both times with frescos on the ceiling. Our room was perfect for being able to stay in comfortably for the night, have breakfast in our room in the morning, and to leave throughout the day in order to site-see all of the amazing sites in Rome. Fabrizio welcomed us to the hotel and was so helpful by giving us a great little list of places to eat at in Rome and located them on the map for us close to areas we wanted to see. Although we did not try all of the places recommended, each one we did try that was recommended was great! We were blessed to experience absolutely delicious cuisine on our stay in Rome. We stayed up the first day we arrived and for a pick-me-up throughout the day, as we journeyed along one path from site-to-site, we were able to have Tartufo at Tre Scalini (we recommend going in and ordering it out, so you avoid paying surcharge for dining in). Once we came back, the staff welcomed us and helped us plan and schedule our next events. Throughout the whole time we were there, we both enjoyed the breakfast, the stay, the conversations with the staff, and of course the wonderful sites of Rome. Our rooms allowed us to look out into the street and watch daily life, which was a neat experience to have. We absolutely love the staff and the stay was quite affordable. We felt like part of the family while we were here. Can't wait to go back! We will definitely be staying here again when in Rome.

Room Tip: If you are hoping for a little bit more of a romantic and spacious room, request one with a fresco o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We found it tough to find affordable lodging in central Rome so we stayed here. It was conveniently located near a train station and found getting around relatively easy. It is a small family-run business with 5-6 rooms, all of which are very tight with minimal space. The walls are paper thin so whenever someone was in the reception talking it sounded like they were standing over me...The window also looked into a courtyard so other people could see in the room.
However, it was all we needed. It was very clean, had nice bathrooms with reliable hot water and very friendly staff.
I will give one heads up that the staff has a list of recommended restaurants. We only tried one and unfortunately it was my least favorite restaurant throughout our entire trip to Italy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auditorium di Mecenate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auditorium di Mecenate

Address: Via Dello Statuto 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#182 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#288 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Auditorium di Mecenate 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auditorium di Mecenate is a modern Guest House, which aims to capture the traditional spirit of Roman’s hospitality and traditions. Located in an old building in a unique Umbertino style Area (King Umberto II), ideally positioned for those who wants being able to have quick access to principal areas of historical and tourist interest that only Rome can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auditorium di Mecenate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Di Mecenate Rome
Auditorium Di Mecenate Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auditorium di Mecenate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.