We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and in-depth tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Through Eternity Cultural Association

Through Eternity Cultural Association
Via Astura 2, 00183 Rome, Italy
+39 06 700 9336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 888 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Through Eternity is a tour company in Italy that provides insightful guidance and commentary on historical and artistic sights, both well known and off the beaten track. The company has been providing exceptionally high quality cultural tourism since 1999. Our guides are all highly educated, fluent English-speaking professionals who bring history alive and provide deep cultural context. The company provides tours and excursions in Rome, Florence, Pompeii, Naples, Siena, Tivoli and San Gimigano. All Through Eternity's back-office staff are native English speakers.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating and in-depth tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went on a tour of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum. Our incredibly knowledgeable guide (John Tinto) gave us an insight into Roman life and told the history of each location in an intriguing way - explaining the social, economic and political context in a way comprehensible for someone who doesn't know much about Ancient Rome. Our guide was exceptionally courteous and clear-spoken. He answered all our questions fully and made sure we were all happy.

There's simply no way you would have the same kind of experience just wondering through the ruins or with an audioguide. Would highly recommend even for someone who's visited these places multiple times!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reema J,

We're could not be more happy to read that you so thoroughly enjoyed your tour with John. At Through Eternity we are exceptional lucky to work with so many fantastic guides. All of the guides we work with went through an extensive selection process to determine not only their scholastic background, but also their passion and enthusiasm for the city. Everyone is a long-term resident or native of Rome and they know the history and the sites better than anyone.

As you can imagine it can be a tricky task to determine the level of depth that a tour should be, given that many people in a group may be first time visitors to Rome. We're delighted to hear that you felt the tour was comprehensible to newcomers while still being in-depth enough for veteran Roman travellers.

We hope that the next time you come to Rome that you'll return to Through Eternity. We are now offering tours in Florence, Naples, and Pompeii as well, so please look us up if you'll be travelling to those cities in the future.

All the best,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    60
    15
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rome Made More Memorable ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Rome is Beautiful as it is, but to truly appreciate it, I think a tour is essential. That said, our Essence of Rome private tour with Through Eternity was wonderful. From inquiry to booking, from confirmations to actual tour, Through Eternity was wonderful. Pip, my initial contact, was very helpful -- explained my different tour options and responded very quickly. Website was easy to navigate and booking went smoothly. Our tour guide, Francesca, was amazing.

We were 2 families with older teens, a total party of 8. Francesca, was knowledgeable and untiring, providing us with chock-full of information on the ancient ruins and the Vatican. Her tour was interesting, made all the better with her friendly personality.

Our walking tour began in the morning from our hotel (by the Spanish Steps), to the Ancient City (Roman Forum, Colosseum, etc), then a Metro ride to the Vatican City. The whole time, Francesca pointed and explained statues/sites along the way; she never, not once, rushed us or made us feel we were taking too long. By the time we finished the Vatican City it was past the 7 hours and she offered to walk us back to our hotel (as she had to pick up her bike anyway), and she still continued to point out and explain things along the way. We felt she went over and above what was expected of her as a tour guide.

The Essence of Rome tour is a pretty exhausting tour (7 hours) yet it truly is exhaustive (you get to visit ancient Rome and the Vatican in one day).

I would definitely recommend Through Eternity -- prices are competitive and it was such a memorable experience. Loved Rome!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear LRiver,

We're so happy to read that you had a wonderful experience with Through Eternity. We try to provide the highest level of customer service from the moment you inquire about which tours would be best for you to the moment your time with us ends. The office staff does an excellent job of putting clients at ease and taking care of all the details so that you can relax and not have to worry about your tours.

We're delighted to hear that Francesca was really able to make Rome come alive for you. Especially with private tours, the relationship with the guide is of the utmost importance and all of our guides are great at making real connections with their clients. They're incredibly gifted at imparting their passion and knowledge for the city in a way that is both informative and engaging. We're so lucky to work with guides who really go above and beyond for their customers and we're so happy that Francesca had such a positive impact on your vacation.

Thank you for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. We would be delighted to see you on another private tour the next time you're in Italy. Perhaps we could show you the amazing treasures in Florence, Naples, or Pompeii.

All the best,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfection Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have had the pleasure of using Through Eternity Tours for several tours. All of the tours and guides have been awesome. I was lucky to have Leonardo three times (two separate visits to Rome and all different tours) he was equally knowledgeable on all of them. He was great at the Vatican, showed his love of the city on the Twilight Tour, and gave interesting information about the Colosseum. This past week I did Rome Underground with Thomas and I was mesmerized the entire time! Thomas was insightful and well versed in world history. This tour was outstanding in all aspects. I repeated the Twilight Tour this trip and my guide was Mario and quite simply it was perfect. It was fun and interesting hearing about Rome from a transplant citizen. Mario was funny and good humored. If I get the opportunity to return to Rome I would absolutely use Through Eternity Tours!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear HappyTrails94,

Thank you so much for returning to Through Eternity once again during your recent trip to Rome. We're so fortunate to have such tremendous customer loyalty and I've no doubt that many of our repeat customers return because our guides gave them such memorable experiences. Leonardo, Mario, and Thomas are all unique guides but they share a common love of the city and extensive knowledge of the various aspects of Rome's history. Through Eternity is goes to great pains to seek out guides who are both long-term residents of the city and have backgrounds in History, Archeology, Classics, and Art History. When you live in the city that is home to your life's work that imparts a profound passion and understanding that is incredibly unique and our guides try to pass on that enthusiasm to everyone on their tours.

It is our great hope that you're able to return to Italy again soon. Now that you've gotten a taste of Rome we would love nothing more than to display this same passion for Florence, Naples, and Pompeii. Whenever you're planning your next trip, please don't hesitate to contact us.

All the best,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must-do tour of Vatican City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is a pleasure for me to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my tour of Vatican City with Through Eternity Tours. Vatican City is a HUGE place with an amazing history, and I felt that I got the most out of my time there thanks to Eternity Tours and our tour guide, Leonardo. Had I gone alone (ie. tourless), I definitely would not have learned as much as I did. Leonardo was a fantastic tour guide. I cannot express enough at how impressed I was at his depth of knowledge. He was also warm and friendly in his demeanor. I would definitely recommend the Vatican City tour to anyone who wishes to make the most out of their day at Vatican City.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sandy S,

We're so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Vatican tour with Leonardo. The Vatican Museums are so extensive and complex that having the leadership and knowledge of an experienced guide makes all the difference in the world. Through Eternity is extremely lucky to work with many fantastic guides, like Leonardo, who are capable of imparting a great deal of information but in a manner that is entertaining and inviting. It's this combination of education and enthusiasm that makes the time fly by.

We're so happy that you found your tour worthwhile. If you find yourself travelling in Italy again in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. We would love to tour with you again.

Sincerely,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Knowledgeable Tour Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a tour fo the Roman Forum and Colessum with Through Eternity. We wanted our two teenage daughters to get the maximum learning experience during our trip to Rome. The guide was excellent and spoke perfect English (since we spoke no Italian this was a must!). We very much enjoyed our tour with Luca De Angelis . He delivered a tremendous amount of knowledge about the Forum and Coliseum and had numerous visual aids to support his teachings. We were very pleased with his tour and would highly recommend him and Through Eternity to others.
We also booked a tour of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's - The In-depth Experience" private tour with Alessia Aletta with Through Eternity. Alessia was outstanding as well! We were extremely impressed with Alessia and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Her English was excellent and she delivered an enormous amount of knowledge during the tour. She was very passionate about her subject ! The tour was a terrific experience and we would definitely recommend Alessia to others.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Through_Eternity, Manager at Through Eternity Cultural Association, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Paul C,

Nothing makes us happier at Through Eternity than reading feedback like yours. We couldn't be happier to hear that your family got so much out of your tours with Luca and Alessia. At Through Eternity we are so fortunate to collaborate with the most knowledgeable and passionate guides in Rome who are capable of imparting a tremendous amount of information but in a fascinating and entertaining manner. We're delighted that you and your family had such a great educational experience.

Our guides go through an intense selection process to determine not only their knowledge of the sites but also their skills in English. As all of our clients come from English-speaking countries, the guides must have a high level or fluency in the language in order to work with us. Your time at these monuments it precious and we want to ensure that the guide who is leading you can communicate his or her expertise effectively and understandably.

We would be absolutely delighted to tour with you again. In addition to Rome, Through Eternity also operates out of Florence, Naples and Pompeii. If you are travelling to these cities in the future it would be our pleasure to delve into the history and culture of these amazing places.

Sincerely,
The Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Through Eternity Cultural Association also viewed

 

Been to Through Eternity Cultural Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Through Eternity Cultural Association, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.