We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Frills B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mr Frills B&B to your Saves list
Mr Frills B&B
P.zza Vittorio Emanuele II 70 | Int. 6, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,317 of 2,885 Rome B&B and Inns
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We booked this B&B because of the many favorable reviews on this site. The price was fair. The room adequate (we did not get a balcony room) - The air-conditioning was needed and worked. It is obvious $$$ were spent on the flooring and plumbing. However, it is run down - the walls are dirty; the storage unit in our room is covered with old contact paper that is dirty; there were cracks in parts of the walls - I thought it was like sleeping on a board. It is true that the units are cleaned daily.
However, the area is safe. I would recommend for those who do not care about service and are willing to overlook the lack of upkeep.

Room Tip: Written confirmation for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
42
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We booked a room by e-mail connecting to Mr Frill. He promised us a room with balcony , he takes money for the first night. We prevented him that we are going to arrive to hotel later (11 p.m). Hi wrote -"don't worry everything is fine".
When we came -Nobody opened the door!!!
We had to call Mr Frill- he didn't answer!!

Guests of this hotel opened the door for us and connected with Mr Frill (hi wasn't at the hotel)
When hi came - He said to us "The room is not available. There are not free rooms at his B&B"
We were shocked!!!!!!!!!

And hi offered us the other hotel
It was about 12 p.m. and we had to consent .(it was the easter week -we weren't sure that we would find another hotel fast)
He lead us to another hotel and it was AWFUL!!!!
dirty small noisy room, cheap furniture,
room with view to washed linen and women hanging lined on the line
and nervous host
NEVER DEAL WITH MR Frill!!!!!

Room Tip: just dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The owners met us at the B&B upon our arrival in Rome in the early morning to give us our keys. The rooms were clean and were tidied every day. The kitchen was available at any time of the day, and we were able to keep our own food in the fridge. The breakfast was simple packaged food with coffee, tea or juice. The rooms were quiet, and the bed was comfortable, and there was very little noise from the street. The B&B was secure, and we felt safe in the area. The location was central to the old section of town, very close to Termini train station, and only a few minute walk to the Metro station. Print a map with the location on it, as the only sign is the name on the door buzzer on the outside of the building. We were two adults and our teenage daughter on our first visit to Rome, and Mr Frills was an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This cozy B&B in the heart Rome is a great place for those, who want to spend some time in the Eternal City. It is within a walking distance from the Termini railway station, yet the district around the hotel is very quiet and safe. The B&B itself is situated in a former flat in a beautiful residential building. There is a supermarket and a very nice gelateria, where you can treat yourself to some fantastic ice-cream, just a few hundred meters away. The bus-stop and the underground station are also quite close. There is free wifi in the B&B, but there are also numerous Internet-shops in the vicinity of the hotel. There is no washing-machine (well, actually there is one, but it can't be used), but you can go to a laundry which is in a 10 minutes walk from the hotel - just ask the Giampiero (the owner of the B&B, an extremely nice and helpful guy) where it is.

We spent 2 weeks in this B&B and we really felt at home from the first minute we arrived. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone looking for a stylish, convenient and cozy accommodation in Rome. It's great that I wouldn't need to think, where to stay, when I go to Rome next time. My choice is obvious – I’ll stay at Mr Frills B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

On arriving at Campiano airport, take the terravision bus to Termini Railway station (only 8 euro return) Mr Frills is then only a 5-10 minute walk from this stop. We were greeted by the apartment owner. He was really friendly, relaxed and helpful. Our room was very clean. Room had flat screen TV, hairdryer and towels. Breakfast was a 'help yourself' affair in the apartment kitchen and had cereals, bread, juices, tea, coffee - all fresh and you could have breakfast at your leisure and whatever time you wanted to get up!
Mr Frills is just beside the metro station which was useful for visiting Vatican area. (otherwise would have been a good 45 minute walk) About 15 min walk to Colloseum. Mr Frills is fairly basic but its a great budget stay and is clean and the owner is delightful! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I loved staying here. Interesting artwork on the walls, cool books on the shelves, very nice style. The main caretaker is very cool and friendly. He recommended great places to see in Rome off the beaten path. Very nice location, Overall a very pleasant stay, and a great place to spend a romantic weekend with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed at 'Mr Frills' for the second time in October 2010 and was again it was a wonderful stay. The location is terrific, just a few minutes from the main train station and local metro as well. Restaurants around the area are very nice. There is an internet/phone cafe just around the corner (come out the main front door, turn left, left again at the corner and walk down about 100 metres). Our room was the 'loft' room and was very comfortable indeed. We also purchased local food and ate it in the common room. Would recommend staying here to everyone who goes to beautiful Rome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mr Frills B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Frills B&B

Address: P.zza Vittorio Emanuele II 70 | Int. 6, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,317 of 2,885 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Frills B&B is a stylish B&B managed by two brothers, located in the hearth of Rome in 19th century building. Our B&B is glad to have you as guests in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our home is always open to those who want to visit and know the other Rome, the authentic one, the marvelous, “genuine” and friendly Rome. The strategic position of our home allows to have at hand both the most interesting architectural monuments (the basilica of St: Maria Maggiore, the colosseum, S.Giovanni in Laterano and so on) and the widest range of offers for the spare time, shopping and entertainments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mr Frills B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mr Frills Hotel Rome
Mr Frills Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Frills B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.