We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #420 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rome at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had this hotel booked for me with my girlfriend for my 21st birthday. There are far too many people on this website who are expecting hotels to look like those in typical cities, if you want to holiday in true Rome, this is the place to stay. The decoration is fantastic and the rooms are clean, classic and luxurious! The position is in a good area and is within walking distance to all of the main amenities and sights.

We had a room on the sixth floor with views all over Rome and a roman style Jacuzzi bath. Our trip was truly magical and would not have been without the hotel and its staff!

Each day a good healty breakfast is served on the top floor where you can again see all over Rome and hear the bells on the churces ringing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    313
    178
    111
    49
See reviews for
130
525
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Very helpful English speaking staff who were efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well appointed although the decoration would not to have been to everyones' taste and the carpet was stained in one place. Shower powerful but not particularly easy to control due to holder being broken. Air con worked well and although on the first floor and on reasonably busy roads, the room was quite. Location excellent with all the major attractions being within easy reach and a good selection of restaurants close by. Continental breakfast served on seventh floor with superb views over the city was perfectly acceptable without being outstanding. Overall, ideal for a short city break in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This hotel is truly magnificent in its decor cleanliness and the rooms are wonderful, we were on the 6th floor of the anex building next door and the room had just undergone full refurbishment. We were disappointed that we were made to wait until almost 5pm to check in as the room was not ready so we left the bags and went out as the bar was closed.
Then we get to the staff, the bar is never manned and you wait for upto 15 mins for service, the rooftop bar is closed for the whole of august, it is also completely covered and not open like the pictures, you will only get one room key no matter what you say, the breakfast has nothing hot unless you like lots of toast, you can't even heat the croissant's.
However as a base to explore the beautiful city of Rome it is ideal.
I would rate this hotel as 2* service in a 4* hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford On Avon, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Nice place, very clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good and substantial. Our room had a jacuzzi in, which was perfect after a long day walking round Rome! I would return if I ever go back to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was the worse hotel we have stayed at bar none. The decor was tacky and cheap looking. The photos on the website are very mis-leading and look nothing like the real thing. we were on the 6th floor. the lift broke down and access card reader to our room did not work meaning the porter had to come with us each time we needed to go to our room. The manager was unhelpful and extremely arrogant .He never even tried to offer us an alternative room. We definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone. location apart 2 star would be what this place deserved.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My two college student children and I stayed 6 days at Hotel Romanico Palace and I have mixed feelings about the hotel. We arrived approximately 90 minutes early and were told that for an additional fee we could have access to our room. We elected to wait. We had just completed a 20-hour trip and were exhausted. When we finally got to our room, not a minute before check-in time, we found two standard sized beds, not queens as I had reserved. I returned to the main desk and requested another room; the deskman gave me an unpleasant smirk and said that my room was a double queen and that no other options were available. Too tired to argue, I returned to our room for some sleep. Shortly thereafter, we heard loud banging on the door. As I got out of bed, the door opened and a man was standing in the doorway. He had somehow opened the door. He seemed as surprised as I was and ran. Once again, I visited the front desk. This time a new man was at the desk and he simply replied "impossible." Given that I had prepaid my reservation we opted to stay at Hotel Romanico, but we were cautious and used the safe religiously. We had no other problems. As for the room, like most European hotels, there is no real closet. Our room was of decent size but you had to step over suitcases to get from one side to the next. There was not place to sit in the room, other than on the beds (the small wooded chair in the room was not comfortable). The beds were rock hard, seriously. Even my college student kids who can sleep anywhere complained about their backs hurting from the rock beds! The bathroom had a clever arrangement in that there was always ample hot water and a good shower head, but the base was very shallow with a slow drain so that you were forced to turn the shower off to avoid flooding the bathroom. My dad used to call these "army showers" where you used water sparingly in an on-off fashion. Unfortunately, my son ignored this condition on several occasions. There was a sign that it is "forbidden" to bring in drinks and food from the outside. We ignored this sign. Across the street there is a nice lady who sells cold drinks and fruit as much lower prices that the hotel. The breakfast room was lovely with a view overlooking the city; the food was standard. During our stay, tour groups would be given a hot breakfast, while other guests would be limited to the continental fare. The breakfast manager would stare and seem to scowl at guests who ate too much or lingered too long. We ignored him as well. To get internet, you are required to buy a ticket, 5 Euros for an hour, if I remember correctly. The location of the hotel is a bit distant from old Rome, but within walking distance to spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. The hotel is very close to the American Embassy. Taxi to Vatican is about 15 E. The bus line stops directly across the street from the hotel and is very easy to use; bus pass for entire day is 4E. When we asked about a bus schedule, the vendor laughed and said, Rome bus-no schedule. We always felt safe walking, even very late at night.
We returned to Rome four weeks after our initial stay as we were departing FCO to return home. We opted not to stay at Hotel Romanico. We chose a closer hotel that was actually not as nice. The trade-off, however, was worth it as we were more spontaneous with popping in and out of the hotel,not having to walk quite as much. My advice is that if you chose Hotel Romanico, consider making a reservation that is not prepaid to allow yourself to move if you have a problem. Hopefully, you wont and your stay will be wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked the trip very last minute hence we may have paid more than we should have.
We paid for a deluxe suit, however on check-in we were had a few difficulties where we were given a standard, so we called reception and switched rooms and the same thing kept occuring. Overall, we moved 4 rooms until we were happy and got what we paid for.
Nevertheless, DO NOT be fooled by the "jacuzzi" photo's, it is a normal bath and shower combined with the jets in the bath tub... in which we were expecting to have a round jacuzzi bath tubed from what it said in the description.

The service was excellent, after the few problems that were solved in the beginning the staff were very friendly and made sure everything was in order after.

The room was very spacious, however it there was very limited amount of sunlight that came into our room. The bathroom was cleaned everyday when we went to breakfast. The sheets were very clean. The maid was nice enough to pick up clothes from the floor and fold them on your sofa.

Breakfast was fine, can't expect much more, the breakfast area had a lovely view of Rome. We didn't spend much time using the hotel facilities so can't really comment on then. Opposite the hotel is a lovely lady who has a market stall of drinks, and snack. I recommend you get the days bottled water from her. Or buy water from her to drink in the hotel. For a 2L bottle it was only 2 Euro's compared to the high prices in the hotel.
There is a spar shop around 5 minutes walk (signs everywhere)

However, the one disadvantage is that there are ENGLISH SPEAKING channels on the tv, the only one was BBC world news. Apart from that, the rest were Italian which is completely understandable... however, it can get quite boring for those who do not understand any Italian like myself.

We did walk everywhere we went, apart from Vatican City which was a cab ride away. Hard rock cafe and other restaurants were at the end of the road (around 10 minute walk max) And to get to places such as Fountain of Trevi it was a 15 minute walk... Was a lovely walk.

Overall, it was a very nice place to stay. I would say it was slightly far, but not too far that you can't walk anywhere. The staff were great, and the service was up to it's standards.

If you find a good deal for this hotel, I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#170 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#326 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.