We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #417 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hotel nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was the worse hotel we have stayed at bar none. The decor was tacky and cheap looking. The photos on the website are very mis-leading and look nothing like the real thing. we were on the 6th floor. the lift broke down and access card reader to our room did not work meaning the porter had to come with us each time we needed to go to our room. The manager was unhelpful and extremely arrogant .He never even tried to offer us an alternative room. We definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone. location apart 2 star would be what this place deserved.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    301
    174
    109
    48
See reviews for
126
512
16
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My two college student children and I stayed 6 days at Hotel Romanico Palace and I have mixed feelings about the hotel. We arrived approximately 90 minutes early and were told that for an additional fee we could have access to our room. We elected to wait. We had just completed a 20-hour trip and were exhausted. When we finally got to our room, not a minute before check-in time, we found two standard sized beds, not queens as I had reserved. I returned to the main desk and requested another room; the deskman gave me an unpleasant smirk and said that my room was a double queen and that no other options were available. Too tired to argue, I returned to our room for some sleep. Shortly thereafter, we heard loud banging on the door. As I got out of bed, the door opened and a man was standing in the doorway. He had somehow opened the door. He seemed as surprised as I was and ran. Once again, I visited the front desk. This time a new man was at the desk and he simply replied "impossible." Given that I had prepaid my reservation we opted to stay at Hotel Romanico, but we were cautious and used the safe religiously. We had no other problems. As for the room, like most European hotels, there is no real closet. Our room was of decent size but you had to step over suitcases to get from one side to the next. There was not place to sit in the room, other than on the beds (the small wooded chair in the room was not comfortable). The beds were rock hard, seriously. Even my college student kids who can sleep anywhere complained about their backs hurting from the rock beds! The bathroom had a clever arrangement in that there was always ample hot water and a good shower head, but the base was very shallow with a slow drain so that you were forced to turn the shower off to avoid flooding the bathroom. My dad used to call these "army showers" where you used water sparingly in an on-off fashion. Unfortunately, my son ignored this condition on several occasions. There was a sign that it is "forbidden" to bring in drinks and food from the outside. We ignored this sign. Across the street there is a nice lady who sells cold drinks and fruit as much lower prices that the hotel. The breakfast room was lovely with a view overlooking the city; the food was standard. During our stay, tour groups would be given a hot breakfast, while other guests would be limited to the continental fare. The breakfast manager would stare and seem to scowl at guests who ate too much or lingered too long. We ignored him as well. To get internet, you are required to buy a ticket, 5 Euros for an hour, if I remember correctly. The location of the hotel is a bit distant from old Rome, but within walking distance to spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. The hotel is very close to the American Embassy. Taxi to Vatican is about 15 E. The bus line stops directly across the street from the hotel and is very easy to use; bus pass for entire day is 4E. When we asked about a bus schedule, the vendor laughed and said, Rome bus-no schedule. We always felt safe walking, even very late at night.
We returned to Rome four weeks after our initial stay as we were departing FCO to return home. We opted not to stay at Hotel Romanico. We chose a closer hotel that was actually not as nice. The trade-off, however, was worth it as we were more spontaneous with popping in and out of the hotel,not having to walk quite as much. My advice is that if you chose Hotel Romanico, consider making a reservation that is not prepaid to allow yourself to move if you have a problem. Hopefully, you wont and your stay will be wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked the trip very last minute hence we may have paid more than we should have.
We paid for a deluxe suit, however on check-in we were had a few difficulties where we were given a standard, so we called reception and switched rooms and the same thing kept occuring. Overall, we moved 4 rooms until we were happy and got what we paid for.
Nevertheless, DO NOT be fooled by the "jacuzzi" photo's, it is a normal bath and shower combined with the jets in the bath tub... in which we were expecting to have a round jacuzzi bath tubed from what it said in the description.

The service was excellent, after the few problems that were solved in the beginning the staff were very friendly and made sure everything was in order after.

The room was very spacious, however it there was very limited amount of sunlight that came into our room. The bathroom was cleaned everyday when we went to breakfast. The sheets were very clean. The maid was nice enough to pick up clothes from the floor and fold them on your sofa.

Breakfast was fine, can't expect much more, the breakfast area had a lovely view of Rome. We didn't spend much time using the hotel facilities so can't really comment on then. Opposite the hotel is a lovely lady who has a market stall of drinks, and snack. I recommend you get the days bottled water from her. Or buy water from her to drink in the hotel. For a 2L bottle it was only 2 Euro's compared to the high prices in the hotel.
There is a spar shop around 5 minutes walk (signs everywhere)

However, the one disadvantage is that there are ENGLISH SPEAKING channels on the tv, the only one was BBC world news. Apart from that, the rest were Italian which is completely understandable... however, it can get quite boring for those who do not understand any Italian like myself.

We did walk everywhere we went, apart from Vatican City which was a cab ride away. Hard rock cafe and other restaurants were at the end of the road (around 10 minute walk max) And to get to places such as Fountain of Trevi it was a 15 minute walk... Was a lovely walk.

Overall, it was a very nice place to stay. I would say it was slightly far, but not too far that you can't walk anywhere. The staff were great, and the service was up to it's standards.

If you find a good deal for this hotel, I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I have never written a review for anyplace.... but, I had to write one for Hotel Romanico Palace and Rome in particular. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was amazing, and location was perfect. I first researched where to stay for over a month. I looked at all kinds of reviews, the star ratings, the amenities, pictures, I even looked at the satellite views of the hotel street and ended up picking the Hotel Romanico Palace. My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding Anniversary, so it was special to us. Neither of us had ever been to Rome or Italy and it really wasn't the top of our list, but it was within the top 10. What a GREAT CHOICE!!! About the hotel, we were greeted with excellent English (as our Italian is very limited), a great room (looked just like some of the pictures from the website), a spotless facility, and the friendliest staff (and townspeople) that we could have ever imagined. Everyone at the hotel (and surrounding area) were so friendly. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. The in-hotel bar had excellent service, excellent English, great beverages, and a beautiful setting. Please be friendly to the bartender, he is a GEM.) The hotel is a short walk to the Via Veneto, one of the main streets in Rome. You can see the American Embasy from the back (it faces the Via Veneto). Rome (according to several reviews prior to us going, views while we were touring the city, and street views of some of the hotels before we went) has a bad grafitti problem. NOT ON OUR STREET. NOT AT THE HOTEL ROMANICO. EVERYTHING THERE WAS PICTURESQUE AND PERFECT!! We took tons of pictures of our room and from our room windows (but I won't bore you with those). PLEASE STAY HERE!! You won't regret it. (A quick side note, on one of our tours during our 5 nights here, we were asked by our tour guide where we were staying -because they drop you off back in front of your hotel when you are done -and we told her the HOTEL ROMANICO PALACE, and she said 'ooh, that's a NICE hotel! And she was sincere!) The surrounding restaurants (as there isn't one in the hotel for lunches or dinners) were out of this world. They were reasonably priced (by European standards) and the food and wine was absolutely AMAZING!!! If you get the chance to go to LA LAMPADA, please do!! We loved everything about this restaurant (it was suggested by the concierge at Hotel Romanico). We tried almost everything on the menu, and it was all FANTASTIC. We also LOVED RISTORANTE MARIANO (both restaurants are just around the corner from the Hotel -short walking distance and frequented by locals). Their Tortelini was the best I've ever eaten in my life. Someday, we will go back to Rome, we will stay at the Hotel Romanico Palace again, we will eat at La Lampada (probably many times) and Ristorante Mariano. I wished it when I went to the Trevi Fountain!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel on this website i was a little apprehensive about booking a long weekend stay there. However, once i had dealt with the hotel directly and got a really good rate on a suite (due to august being considered low season) we were convinced to give it a go. The reception staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful and quick to respond to all our queries and to sort us out with a discounted price.

To be frank, i really can't understand how the negative reviews of this hotel have come about. Perhaps the hotel has had a miraculous improvement in between then and the time we stayed there, or perhaps people had very different expectations to ourselves. Personally i found the staff extremely helpful and polite and any coldness people may have mentioned i think is actually a high level of professionalism in the reception staff. Of course it lacks the 'family fun' feel of other establishments but this is quite clear from the website and size of the hotel alone. The room was spotless, and cleaned spotlessly every day we were there. Our clothes we had left messy were always folded on the chair or bed.

Breakfast was perfect for our needs - there was a large selection of cereals, fruits, cheese and meats, yoghurts, pastries, breads, spreads and cake. There was tea, coffee and juices too. Obviously the earlier you got there the better the selection but i did see staff topping up supplies late in the morning. If you are expecting a full english breakfast or fry up then you will be disappointed - but surely this is not the kind of breakfast you would expect in continental europe, and it certainly isn't the kind of breakfast i would want before a day of sightseeing (and as a vegetarian).

The staff gave us recommendations and showed us where things were and were generally very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is not in the middle of everything, but it is only on the very edge of the middle of everything - it is not miles out of town. It is a five minute walk to barberini where there are lots of bus stops and the metro, and another five minutes or perhaps even less to the trevi fountain area. From there the spanish steps and piazza navona/pantheon areas are within easy walking distance. Of course the walk back in the blistering sun is a little uncomfortable but it really isn't a long way to walk and you can time your day/walks around the heat easily. It also meant the area was lovely and quiet and lacking in the huge masses of slow walking tourists in other areas which meant a good night's sleep.

The suite we had came with an amazing view on its terrace and even a hot tub on the terrace too (which we used cold most of the time as a very refreshing end to a long day of sightseeing). It came within our set budget of 600 euros for three nights at a centralish roman hotel and we really couldn't have asked for more. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Although the hotel was not that central all attractions were within walking distance or a couple of metro stops away. Room size was ok,shower was great, air con was quiet and room was cleaned everyday.Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, breads,fruit and meats served in lovely surroundings. There were a number of well priced restaurants within 5 min walk- many on Via Flavia.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Just back from a long weekend stay in Rome. I brought my nephew (who is a fanatic on ancient Roman history) for his first stay in Rome and I must say the Romanico Palace Hotel helped to make the trip memorable.

From check in to check out the staff were friendly, professional and courteous.

The hotel is very centrally located (5 minutes walk to Metro in Barberini, 7 minutes to Republica).

The room was spotlessly clean, cool (the air conditioning silently worked all the time) and the bath/shower/jacuzzi a blessing with hot water available at all times of the day.

The rooftop restaurant (where breakfast is served) is spectacular (if not quite 360 degrees!). Food for breakfast is normal enough fare (cereals, fruit, cold meats, bread, juice, coffee).

Sometimes despite a great venue your holiday/break can be tarnished by a poor experience/incident in your hotel. In this case however, the Romanico complemented the great City that it is located in and I would recommend it to anyone.

Well done guys. Ciao, Noel

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#168 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.