We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, very centrally located, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
CPH
1 review
“Charming hotel, very centrally located, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

I enjoyed the stay at Romanico Palace. We had a very good offer that included a package with a suite, 1x free dinner, and transport service from the airport to the hotel and back to the airport.

The transport service included was a delight, and even though it took us an hour to get our suitcases the driver never complained about the delay, in fact he was very understanding.

We booked the room to a reduced price, and the suite matched the price. It was a charming and light room, beautifully decorated in ancient style, and had a well cleaned jacuzzi available. The suite was smaller than expected, but at least a very nice and big double room. The service at the hotel was great and helpful, and the language was never a barrier, as everybody was very good at english.

The continental Breakfast at the rooftop restaurant was great, and you had a lot to choose from. Everything was fresh, and was repeatedly replaced. Much better than what I've seen elsewhere in Italy.

Our free dinner was a bit of a disappointment as the restaurant was not very exciting, and the service a bit to rushed. The food was acceptable, but it was very conservative and not very exciting. I'm told that the hotel is looking into other restaurants. However no complaints at all about the bill or the amount of dishes, and we were able to choose everything on the menu without limitations.

All in all, the location was excellent, and the room had everything needed. For the reduced price it was a good choice, but I'm not sure I would have been as satisfied if I was charged full price for the suite.

I would recommend this hotel to others, if they get a good price, and at the same time tell them that they will stay at a small and charming hotel. The beautiful furniture in the lobby will lead some to believe that it's a luxury hotel, and that is perhaps the reason for some peoples disappointment. If you want the utmost luxury you should consider some of the hotels at Via Veneto, but if you want to stay at a smaller, clean and charming hotel with friendly service this could be the right choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Customer Care dep. at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review left regarding our Hotel and your stay here with us. We’ll surely take in consideration all your suggestions and we hope to meet you again here in the future.

Best Regards
Hotel Romanico Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    313
    178
    111
    49
See reviews for
130
525
16
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Just got back from a three night stay here and overall were not exactly bold over with the Romanico Palace.

On a good note, the location was very good although you probably could get slightly better for your money, the bar and entrance of the hotel were nice enough and the staff recommended a really good restaurant, most of the staff were very helpful. Maid service was good also but must be done before 2pm.

Bad side- On arrival we were given the option of upgrading which would cost up to 150 euro extra per night. I decided as my partner and I were there to see Rome and not spend time in the hotel that we would not take the upgrade and spend our money seeing the sites etc instead. I thought we had paid quite a lot for the hotel anyway so was suprised to see that our room was very dated and quite scruffy. There was a very strong smell of damp and the spa bath had a lot of mould on the jets and generally looked very old. The electric tripped out when I used the hairdryer and we had to put the trip switches up (which were outside the room) ourselves once we discovered them as no one answered the phone at reception. The electrics as a whole look very old and a bit hazardous. As previous reviews have mentioned no iron in the room or available at all.

My real issue was with the air con. I have heard that Italian hotels don't like using the air conditioning, for cost reasons I should imagine, but this hotel is on quite a busy road and when we stayed there were road works going on and scaffolding being put up so there was a lot of noise. I called the reception and asked if they could come and see what was wrong with the air con unit as there was no air coming out despite it being switched on. The room was very stuffy and airless and it was way to noisy to have the window open. After speaking to several staff I was eventually told that the air condition was switched off at the mains and they were not going to switch it back on. Very disappointing as the road works started at 7am so no lie ins for us!

I wouldn't really recommend this hotel unless you are getting a serious bargin and you are not too bothered about luxury!

If you do end up here, there are some really nice restaurants and bars around the block from the hotel so don't immedialty head for the tourist areas to eat or drink as you might miss out and spend far more than you need to.

Overall good stay in Rome but could have done better in hotel choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Customer Care Dept at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel.
Concerning the Air Conditioning, we inform you that this service is available from the early Spring time to the late Fall time. During the Winter we set the heating, instead of the A.C., because we have about 10° C during the day and 2-3° during the night.
We understand that guest may like the A.C. all year round, but we must consider the needs of the majority of the guests.
We wish you will understand the hotel’s policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights in total on a recent to Rome, we found the location great but the hotel needs updating, it starting to show its age. Our room was smelling of old smoke and we had one of the best rooms we were told. At first we felt it was good value on booking, but the cost of the drinks in the bar, the ironing services as there is no iron in the room, the internet fee they charge, you begin to feel its about how much they can make once you are in the hotel!
Some of the staff were very helpful to us in suggesting places to eat, etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Customer Care Dept at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for writing your impressions about our hotel. We inform you that per each season we issue special offers and deals, so the customer have a vast range of options and can choose the offer & room that suites best to his/her needs. Our hotel offers several services and facilities (with surcharge), i.e. laundry service, ironing service, in-room minibar, telephone calls, internet connection, business services, printer, laptop rental and more.
We wish we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Rome is notoriously expensive, but this time we struck lucky. A city centre location with immaculate bedroom and bathroom and a fabulous breakfast with truly considerate restaurant staff.
I accompanied my husband on a business trip and the location is perfect for walking to the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese... if you are wearing walking shoes, of course. The Metro is handy with the nearest stop just at the bottom of Via Veneto and the rest of Rome a few minutes away.
I would recommend this hotel for its quiet elegance. We booked with last minute .com and the receptionist pointed out that this time last year it would have cost us 3 times what we paid. Although we didn't use the restaurant in the evening, the roof top venue must be a charming spot with its wrap around terrace and the lights of Rome spread out beneath you. We did manage to have our breakfast outside on the terrace one morning and the waiters happily plied us with cappucinos and esspressos as we gorged ourselves on the lovely breakfast buffet.
Although it has no outside space, this is a city centre, there is so much to do in Rome that I didn't notice. Have a browse around the fabric shop as you walk towards the Via Veneto..... I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, customer care at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the nice review left about your stay with us at the Romanico. As we can notice you had a great time in our city and you would come back. So please do not hesitate to contact us again in the future and it will be our pleasure to assist you in your enquiries.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

As seems to happen so frequently with this hotel, they actually stuck us in the less-expensive Veneto Hotel next door. It is hard to believe this is still because of the same computer problems that were blamed a long time ago so I have to wonder why they continue to do this to people.

It is not clear to me what was "deluxe" in my room compared to a "standard" room. The website led me to believe there would be a jacuzzi or at least a bathtub, but that was not the case. The "courtyard view" was not attractive at all.

Now, on the good side -- I should state that we did enjoy our stay. The rooms were kept very clean. The staff was wonderful, breakfast was very enjoyable, and actually the cappuccino was some of the best I had in all of Italy.

The area is very nice and within walking distance of everything east of the Tiber. It's important to note that it is not quite as centrally located as some other hotels (it is, after all, the Via Veneto area and not Centro Storico) - for instance, it's probably a 40-minute walk from Piazza Navona. Though to be fair, it's a really enjoyable 40-minute walk.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay and might stay there again because we really like the area and it's less expensive than most anything around Via Veneto. But I cannot recommend it to others as it is not really a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Customer Care Dept at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 21, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments about our hotel, despite your idea of a 4 star hotel in Italy, we reconfirm that Hotel Romanico Palace is a 4 star hotel. Concerning its location we confirm that our hotel is located in one of the City centre areas. We would like to point out that our City, thanks to its history, has many important sites and the city centre cannot be restricted on a downtown of a modern City. For example consider that the Vatican City and the Coliseum are opposite (about 3 miles distance between them), but of course both can be considered City Centre sites.
Best regards.
Hotel Romanico Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at The Romanico Palace for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked a suite with whirlpool bath hoping for something special! We even contacted the hotel a few days before we travelled to make sure we had a whirlpool bath because of some of the previous negative reviews. We got an email straight back confirming yes definately a room with whirlpool bath excellent we thought!

We were 5 hours delayed in the Uk due to Italian Air Traffic Control strike so instead of arriving Fri lunchtime as planned we arrived at rush hour Fri evening but never mind we thought we'll check in and have a lovely bubbly bath. The man on reception said oh we have our best suite for you its a lovely room!

We were a little shocked to be shown to quite a small room it had a tiny balcony no wardrobes or drawers it was clean though. Popped the bath on relieved to finally be in Rome to find out the whirlpool bath was not working!!!

They sent someone up to have a look but the man that needed to look was fixing the boiler as there was no hot water!!!!! Perfect end to a not so perfect day.

We complained again in the morning and were told it would be fixed it wasn't! Every person on the desk told us something different we got the impression that they clearly knew that bath wasn't working and frankly never was going to be anytime soon.

One member of staff offtered us a room change to a better room and promised we could take a look when we came back later that day, then with different member of staff on he shook his head and said that was not possible. At this point we were fed up of asking they offered us 50 euros discount we eventually settled for 150 euros!

The room rates they have up on reception are a total joke I cannot believe anybody has ever paid 1200 euros a night for our room I think they should take it down its just ridiculous.

In general breakfast was ok nice sat up on the roof terrace but you have to pay extra if you want any eggs. Not in a bad position to get around Rome thought past many hotels on our way to the Metro that I think would have been nicer.

The bar on an evening is just at the side of reception with no atmosphere I don't understand why they don't use the roof terrace which would be nice at night.

Also really sorry to still be moaning but as previous people have said from 7am tables and chairs are dragged across the floor on the roof terrace which was just above our room and you have to hear it to believe it.

Rome itself was a fantastic place we really enjoyed it and found getting around on the Metro really easy and cheap will be going back but try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Customer Care Dept at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending your opinion and suggestions on our hotel. We are considering for the next season to open the roof top longer during the day and to set a bar for the guests. Concerning the problem with the whirlpool bathtub in your room, we inform you that it has been fixed just after your stay.
Best regards.
Benedetta Cavallini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We have just returned from spending our honeymoon in Rome and spent 5 nights in the Romanico Palace Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly from the moment we walked into the hotel, they made dinner reservations for us on several nights and nothing seemed too much trouble.

We had a deluxe room and had both a jacuzzi bath and shower with massage jets. The decor is gorgeous throughout the hotel. Breakfast is fabulous with amazing views from their roof-top terrace, although it was a shame that dinner couldn't be eaten up there. We enjoyed a glass of prosecco in the hotel bar on a few occasions at a very reasonable price, infact cheaper than most hotel bars we visited in the area.

The hotel has a great location although it was a little further from the spanish steps than we orginially thought, but the trevvi fountain and termini are both only about 15 mins away.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, although we probably wouldn't have paid the room prices had we not found this hotel on lastminute.com. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Customer Care Dept at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for posting your comments and impression about our Hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoied your honeymoon here! We wish you all the best and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our Hotel!
Kindest regards.
Benedetta Cavallini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#326 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.