We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful romantic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #420 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A beautiful romantic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel isn't next to all the sites and attractions but is definitely worth a visit. The rooms are large, immaculate and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Enjoy a walk down the via venetta daily to enjoy all the joys that is Rome.
Best advice I've ever been given by the hotel manager who was absolutely charming 'go get lost in Rome' he was right we found lovely restaurants, quaint little cobbled streets. It was a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for choosing the Romanico Palace hotel , I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience.

A real pleasure to read that you loved our room, where the past blends seamlessly into the present. Baroque mirrors reflect Luxury paneling and the finest of fabrics highlight the understated elegance of designer tables.

Our Architect has aimed to offer his personal guests amazing settings in which to let them enjoy his own extraordinary passion for art, history and the good life.

You reserved the room through our official website and your amazing review confirmed that this choice has been fantastic, we have different room categories which vary significantly in size and layout for every guest that wish to have a beautiful romantic break.

If love involves the arousal of the senses, to many, Rome is the place to fall in love. An evening stroll around Via Veneto , a morning visit to Trevi Fountain, St. Angelo Castle are opportunities to surrender to Rome’s endless sensual pleasures: the sight of a thousand shimmering stars, the sounds of music from an outdoor opera, the touch of the breeze blowing across the Tiber, the aroma of freshly baked bread or the taste of delectable Italian cuisine… whatever you are doing, wherever you are, your senses will be fully involved.

I adored your comment about our staff “very friendly and helpful”. Our entire service philosophy revolves around delivering unparalleled personalized service experiences where no detail is too small and it is very encouraging when our guests comment so positively on their time with us. The small little touches are our way of saying thank you for trusting us with your special moments and the warmth of our hospitality is what we hang our hats on and what we hope will distinguish us from the rest.

I invite you to visit the Romanico Palace’s page on Facebook or to click on the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Your nice words mean that you liked your stay here. You're right. Our position is invidiable and Rome is one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in Italy, when people stop here and they remain fascinated.

We hope to see you again.. every time there is something to be discovered!

GRAZIE
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    313
    178
    111
    49
See reviews for
130
525
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently stayed here during the first 2 nights of my tour with Insight Vacations and I had a great time.

The hotel is charming and historic and in a great location -- 5 minutes walk from the fashionable Via Veneto and maybe 15 minutes from the Spanish Steps. Plenty of cafes and shops nearby and it's in a great neighborhood as well (I had a splendid walk every morning and it was just lovely).

The breakfast is served on the top floor which overlooks the entire city and is very impressive. The breakfast was delicious and served buffet style, except for the eggs and bacon, which were served hot to order. If you want to work up an appetite then you can opt to walk up to the top (7th) floor for breakfast instead of taking the elevator :) There's a balcony that's accessible from the breakfast area where you can take great pictures of the entire city.

The decor was flamboyantly Italian but in a cute way. Lots of golds and reds and typical renaissance vibes. I found it rather charming. The rooms were on the small side, but after all it is a historic hotel in the city center. It's not a behemoth 5000 room Las Vegas hotel.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful -- all spoke English. And the bartenders were superb! They had great espresso, beer, wine and cocktails and all at decent prices.

It was a great start to a great trip!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, then ask politely. I forgot to ask and got a view of a small courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ibos,

thank you so much for choosing Hotel Romanico Palace and for your wonderful review!

We are glad to have satisfied your expectations, we love to take care of our guests, working hard every day to give top quality service with a touch of real Italian style, which cannot be standardized.

You enjoyed and come in Rome with a group, we are preparing special offers just for those who want to do pre or post tour, you can see him through our new website which will be online very soon.

We are so pleased to know you were happily impressed by the décor, the charm and atmosphere cozy and relaxed of our Hotel and its panoramic roof garden where breakfast is served.
Our management firmly believe that when a customer arrives at the hotel must be able to find everything you need, our commitment is to make great every moment of the day: the sweet awakening in the morning, the evening aperitif or after dinner.

The Poeticus Bar is open 24 h, the relaxing atmosphere and the inspiration of our barman Angelo with his aperitifs and cocktails make our local a comfortable place, ideal in every moment of the day.
The menu would envy to the best wine-cellar in Italy, in addition we have also a wide choice of all other drinks, these a great price compared to the tourist traps that there are in the city center.

Our staff can’t wait to see you again for another memorable experience in the eternal city.. Rome in autumn is simply magic.!!!

Warm regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very charming. The bed was not as comfortable as most places, but the room was large and clean. The concierge, Guilio (sp), was great! He could not have been any kinder or more helpful. The breakfast served on the rooftop garden was outstanding. The elevators are tiny, so you need to allow extra time to get up and down, especially with luggage. The staff was friendly and willing to assist in any way. I'm not sure about the location; it seemed removed from many of the things we wanted to see, but Rome is a huge city. All in all, it was a wonderful place to spend a few nights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sarasota,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Romanico Palace Hotel.

I am delighted to read you thought us to be a “lovely and very charming hotel”, we are always looking to improve and enhance our service and facilities and your feedback is crucial to making this a reality.

Our SUPER concierge Giulio (like all the team of the Hotel) try always his best to help all the clients to discover Rome and to enjoy their stay.

We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests, the staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Rome.

It is very important for us that our guests enjoy their stay as much as possible, we therefore pay a lot of attention to every single detail in our hotel: music, fragrance, welcoming note.

Breakfast is our greatest pride for the quality of food but also for the location: every day we receive requests of the most famous photographers who want to use our roof garden to make their shots, we are one of the few hotels in Rome with a large terrace overlooking the city where you can enjoy a splendid 360° landscape.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of products: croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam.

It is served from 07:00 to 10:00 am and for all guest that leave the Hotel before of these hours, we are glad to offer the possibility to request a take away breakfast, there isn’t additional costs.

I am sorry that you experienced a few maintenance issues along with what sounds like an abnormally long wait of for the elevator. We have 2 elevators for guest use, which is normally sufficient for guest traffic. the fact that the elevators are not very large is because the hotel occupies an historical building edified by one of the most famous Italian architects in the world.

You wrote a wise thing “ROME IS HUGHE CITY” , we help to facilitate the discovery: we are most certainly blessed when it comes to location. Hotel Romanico Palace is one of THE most unique spots in central Rome, it is, as you mentioned, it is close to the main sites of interests: Spanish steps (10 minutes), Trevi Fountain (10 minutes), the gardens of Villa Borghese (5 minutes).

In addition to walking, you have the possibility to take subway, the main bus lines.

The most important factor is the district where we are: quiet, very safe, enjoyable in every hour of the day, thanks to the numerous embassies around this area.

According to the length of the stay, our front-desk staff and our concierge are able to schedule your days arranging every kind of tour and giving you the best suggestion in order to make you live an unforgettable Roman experience.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the Romanico Palace in a balcony room on the 6th floor. Once you get over the shock of the OTT decor :-) it's a fabulous hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is also very conveniently located and is a short walk from the "open bus" stops as well as a number of attractions and restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Douglas,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review about your stay at Romanico Palace Hotel.

I can understand that the “shock” is given by the wonder furniture and baroque style of the
rooms, we are great lovers of art and speaking of beauty, we pay extra attention to every single details in our hotel: decoration, cleanliness, layout in the rooms, toiletries …to maintain the welcoming and cozy atmosphere our guests like.

Each different from the other they are the result of a skilful combination of love for beauty and maximum consideration to comfort. Some have a separate lounge area; others have a private balcony with hot tub. Warm tones, sought-after interior design, exclusive fabrics, fine line.

From your room on the sixth floor the view was great, but nothing to do with the amazing view that you enjoyed every morning from our panoramic roof garden on the seventh floor.

The sun of Rome illuminates its wonders while you savor the delights of a rich buffet, not simply awakening but an experience to be lived intensely.

I am glad that you enjoyed also our location and the fact that being centrally located, we still are lucky to be in a quiet street, this certainly is luxury in a big city.

Romanico Palace is “surrounded” by many restaurants, cafè, taverns ; this area is therefore really enjoyable.

We take great pride in providing the highest level of service at any time.

Our staff is therefore delighted to help guests during their stay with dinner reservations or excursion bookings.
They are of course always happy to answer any questions our guests might have before their stay upon reservation.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the italian hospitality!

The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Yours faithfully
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a good hotel in a useful location in Rome. Our room was pleasant and well equipped although the décor and layout of the room is a little unusual. The service we received was of a high quality and we had a good night's sleep. Good restaurants can be found in the surrounding streets.

Room Tip: Be aware that this is a multi-storey building and you may have to wait for lifts. rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for writing about your Romanico experience, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

I am delighted you particularly enjoyed the brilliance of our location. I couldn’t agree with you more, it is a wonderful area and arguably one of the very best places to stay in Central Rome. What makes it so unique is the fact that it has all the charm, quaintness and vibrancy of Via Veneto,yet it is literally a stone’s throw away from Spanish Steps Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese. It certainly is one of Roman’s true gems!

I am thrilled that your room was pleasant every single detail of our room must make the difference: the precious marbles decorate the room with luster and shine, prized paintings and elegant finishes give it the exact prominent that only our architect (one of the most famous in Italy) is able to give with skill.

You had a good night's sleep thanks to our exclusive mattress that is custom designed to create the perfect foundation for deep, calming sleep, while plush pillows, crisp sheets and a fluffy duvet wrap you in comfort.

Around the Romanico Palace there are numerous restaurants and bars at reasonable prices, suitable for every kind of taste, our receptionists know the best place to eat for an unforgettable experience to discover the Italian culinary tradition, we have an excellent staff , but also great food lovers..

Regarding your suggestion, he hotel occupies an historical building with multi-storey that allow us to offer different room type, there are details that can change, one of these could be the view: internal for the standard ( more quiet but certainly with a view of the courtyard) external for others categories.

We have 2 elevators for guest use, which is normally sufficient for guest traffic and I can only deduct that we must have had an elevator out for a short period of time or that there was an unusually high guest demand.

Overall I am very appreciative of your positive review, we firmly believe that word of mouth is the most powerful form of referral out there so thank you again.

I hope you will return to us very soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the Romanico Palace!

Best regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First of all it is very beautiful hotel, people who worked there were very kind, polite and professional! Service was perfect! food was delicious, and what is the most important thing in rome is have a good hotel with a good location. This street boncompagni is very, very good street, I think best street in rome, becouse you are in center, but u are in calm! I can tell everyone than it was most beautiful trip in my life, of course, becouse of i had a honeymoon, but chose correct hotel. It has great breakfast, was served on the top floor with a nice view of rome. .
Nutsa and Nick from Georgia ;)

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dearest Nutsa and Nick,

this is a fantastic review!

We couldn’t ask for a better result than having you describe your recent experience as faultless, we are honored for your continued support and for trusting us with this very special celebration.

I am delighted you thought this was the “MOST BEAUTIFUL TRIP IN YOU LIFE”, your wonderful comments will serve as a great motivator for our team, thank you so much for taking the time to tell us and others about your stay at the Romanico Palace Hotel.

The warmth of welcome and genuine attention from the moment our guests arrive to the movement we say goodbye forms the crux of our service delivery and service aspirations and it is wonderful to hear this was so well reflected in your review.

I firmly believe that truly memorable experiences are always created through brilliant service, delivered by people who really care.

The hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Rome is indeed well placed for tourism being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping area.

Relaxing walks along the green colors of Villa Borghese, exciting emotions looking Spanish Steps, a masterpiece of the baroque art style, the unprecedented beauty of Trevi Fountain, inspired by Roman triumphal arches.

In a big city like Rome before to choose an hotel is appropriate to inquire about the safety of the area, in our case we can feel very satisfied because around every corner there is a police station and 24-hours surveillance addressed to all embassies located neighbor the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast too. We consider it a most important meal which you should enjoy just as if you were home, from our roof garden, the sun warms you and gives you its good morning, lighting up the breathtaking view of Rome.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of products: croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam, quality food is wisely selected o mix the Italian culinary tradition with the international tastes.

Thank you again for speaking so eloquently of your stay and I hope to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Best wishes
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Close to all sight seeing,transport ,trip adviser eateries ,staff very friendly and helpful,good breakfast with beautiful views over Rome ,will organize tours if needed,would recommend to any one.thank u very much for a very enjoyable stay,would love to come back.Clare and Brian Purdy Australia ;)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dearest Clare and Brian,

Words can not describe how thankful we are for your beautiful comments!

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to have been chosen as THE place to stay in Rome and we are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It is very agreeable to hear that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our staff, according to the length of the stay, our lovely concierges Noemi and Giulio are able to schedule your days arranging every kind of tour and giving you the best suggestion in order to make you live an unforgettable Roman experience.

We offer also the possibility to reserve your favorite tour in advance, just go to our official website and after choosing the room of your dreams, it will appear a section with a list of tours available, my suggestion?

Imperial Rome (Tour number 3): Piazza Venezia , Piazza Del Campidoglio designed by Michelangelo from where you will have a fantastic view of the Roman Forum. By coach we will then drive by the Circus Maximus and the Aventino Hill. Stop to admire the beautiful statue of Moses by Michelangelo located in
the Church of St. Peter’s in Chains from where it will take us 5 minutes to reach the
symbol of the eternal city: The Colosseum.

We like the dreams of the future but we don't forget the glory of the past :-)

Breakfast is our strength because it isn’t just a meal but an emotion that we want to give you with the amazing location, from our PANORAMIC ROOF GARDEN you enjoyed a breathtaking view on the city's historical heritage.

Featuring a wide choice of products, our breakfast has become one of the best compliments we daily receive from our Guests and represents our special way of saying “Good Morning” to you.

At our rich buffet, you can decide to start your day with sweet food, like croissants, toasted bread with butter, honey or one of the different flavours of marmalade as well as with salted food like fresh and toasted hot break, served and taken with different kind of jam and cheese.
The variety of fresh and au sirop fruits, the yogurt served with a wide choice of muesli, cereals and fresh fruits, rice bread are only few of the many products of our selection.

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner. We will make sure to share your comment with the teams concerned.
We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

GRAZIE MILLE
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#170 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#326 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.