We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the Romanico Palace in a balcony room on the 6th floor. Once you get over the shock of the OTT decor :-) it's a fabulous hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is also very conveniently located and is a short walk from the "open bus" stops as well as a number of attractions and restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Douglas,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review about your stay at Romanico Palace Hotel.

I can understand that the “shock” is given by the wonder furniture and baroque style of the
rooms, we are great lovers of art and speaking of beauty, we pay extra attention to every single details in our hotel: decoration, cleanliness, layout in the rooms, toiletries …to maintain the welcoming and cozy atmosphere our guests like.

Each different from the other they are the result of a skilful combination of love for beauty and maximum consideration to comfort. Some have a separate lounge area; others have a private balcony with hot tub. Warm tones, sought-after interior design, exclusive fabrics, fine line.

From your room on the sixth floor the view was great, but nothing to do with the amazing view that you enjoyed every morning from our panoramic roof garden on the seventh floor.

The sun of Rome illuminates its wonders while you savor the delights of a rich buffet, not simply awakening but an experience to be lived intensely.

I am glad that you enjoyed also our location and the fact that being centrally located, we still are lucky to be in a quiet street, this certainly is luxury in a big city.

Romanico Palace is “surrounded” by many restaurants, cafè, taverns ; this area is therefore really enjoyable.

We take great pride in providing the highest level of service at any time.

Our staff is therefore delighted to help guests during their stay with dinner reservations or excursion bookings.
They are of course always happy to answer any questions our guests might have before their stay upon reservation.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the italian hospitality!

The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Yours faithfully
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    292
    167
    105
    47
See reviews for
125
497
16
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a good hotel in a useful location in Rome. Our room was pleasant and well equipped although the décor and layout of the room is a little unusual. The service we received was of a high quality and we had a good night's sleep. Good restaurants can be found in the surrounding streets.

Room Tip: Be aware that this is a multi-storey building and you may have to wait for lifts. rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for writing about your Romanico experience, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

I am delighted you particularly enjoyed the brilliance of our location. I couldn’t agree with you more, it is a wonderful area and arguably one of the very best places to stay in Central Rome. What makes it so unique is the fact that it has all the charm, quaintness and vibrancy of Via Veneto,yet it is literally a stone’s throw away from Spanish Steps Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese. It certainly is one of Roman’s true gems!

I am thrilled that your room was pleasant every single detail of our room must make the difference: the precious marbles decorate the room with luster and shine, prized paintings and elegant finishes give it the exact prominent that only our architect (one of the most famous in Italy) is able to give with skill.

You had a good night's sleep thanks to our exclusive mattress that is custom designed to create the perfect foundation for deep, calming sleep, while plush pillows, crisp sheets and a fluffy duvet wrap you in comfort.

Around the Romanico Palace there are numerous restaurants and bars at reasonable prices, suitable for every kind of taste, our receptionists know the best place to eat for an unforgettable experience to discover the Italian culinary tradition, we have an excellent staff , but also great food lovers..

Regarding your suggestion, he hotel occupies an historical building with multi-storey that allow us to offer different room type, there are details that can change, one of these could be the view: internal for the standard ( more quiet but certainly with a view of the courtyard) external for others categories.

We have 2 elevators for guest use, which is normally sufficient for guest traffic and I can only deduct that we must have had an elevator out for a short period of time or that there was an unusually high guest demand.

Overall I am very appreciative of your positive review, we firmly believe that word of mouth is the most powerful form of referral out there so thank you again.

I hope you will return to us very soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the Romanico Palace!

Best regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First of all it is very beautiful hotel, people who worked there were very kind, polite and professional! Service was perfect! food was delicious, and what is the most important thing in rome is have a good hotel with a good location. This street boncompagni is very, very good street, I think best street in rome, becouse you are in center, but u are in calm! I can tell everyone than it was most beautiful trip in my life, of course, becouse of i had a honeymoon, but chose correct hotel. It has great breakfast, was served on the top floor with a nice view of rome. .
Nutsa and Nick from Georgia ;)

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dearest Nutsa and Nick,

this is a fantastic review!

We couldn’t ask for a better result than having you describe your recent experience as faultless, we are honored for your continued support and for trusting us with this very special celebration.

I am delighted you thought this was the “MOST BEAUTIFUL TRIP IN YOU LIFE”, your wonderful comments will serve as a great motivator for our team, thank you so much for taking the time to tell us and others about your stay at the Romanico Palace Hotel.

The warmth of welcome and genuine attention from the moment our guests arrive to the movement we say goodbye forms the crux of our service delivery and service aspirations and it is wonderful to hear this was so well reflected in your review.

I firmly believe that truly memorable experiences are always created through brilliant service, delivered by people who really care.

The hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Rome is indeed well placed for tourism being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping area.

Relaxing walks along the green colors of Villa Borghese, exciting emotions looking Spanish Steps, a masterpiece of the baroque art style, the unprecedented beauty of Trevi Fountain, inspired by Roman triumphal arches.

In a big city like Rome before to choose an hotel is appropriate to inquire about the safety of the area, in our case we can feel very satisfied because around every corner there is a police station and 24-hours surveillance addressed to all embassies located neighbor the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast too. We consider it a most important meal which you should enjoy just as if you were home, from our roof garden, the sun warms you and gives you its good morning, lighting up the breathtaking view of Rome.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of products: croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam, quality food is wisely selected o mix the Italian culinary tradition with the international tastes.

Thank you again for speaking so eloquently of your stay and I hope to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Best wishes
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Close to all sight seeing,transport ,trip adviser eateries ,staff very friendly and helpful,good breakfast with beautiful views over Rome ,will organize tours if needed,would recommend to any one.thank u very much for a very enjoyable stay,would love to come back.Clare and Brian Purdy Australia ;)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dearest Clare and Brian,

Words can not describe how thankful we are for your beautiful comments!

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to have been chosen as THE place to stay in Rome and we are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It is very agreeable to hear that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our staff, according to the length of the stay, our lovely concierges Noemi and Giulio are able to schedule your days arranging every kind of tour and giving you the best suggestion in order to make you live an unforgettable Roman experience.

We offer also the possibility to reserve your favorite tour in advance, just go to our official website and after choosing the room of your dreams, it will appear a section with a list of tours available, my suggestion?

Imperial Rome (Tour number 3): Piazza Venezia , Piazza Del Campidoglio designed by Michelangelo from where you will have a fantastic view of the Roman Forum. By coach we will then drive by the Circus Maximus and the Aventino Hill. Stop to admire the beautiful statue of Moses by Michelangelo located in
the Church of St. Peter’s in Chains from where it will take us 5 minutes to reach the
symbol of the eternal city: The Colosseum.

We like the dreams of the future but we don't forget the glory of the past :-)

Breakfast is our strength because it isn’t just a meal but an emotion that we want to give you with the amazing location, from our PANORAMIC ROOF GARDEN you enjoyed a breathtaking view on the city's historical heritage.

Featuring a wide choice of products, our breakfast has become one of the best compliments we daily receive from our Guests and represents our special way of saying “Good Morning” to you.

At our rich buffet, you can decide to start your day with sweet food, like croissants, toasted bread with butter, honey or one of the different flavours of marmalade as well as with salted food like fresh and toasted hot break, served and taken with different kind of jam and cheese.
The variety of fresh and au sirop fruits, the yogurt served with a wide choice of muesli, cereals and fresh fruits, rice bread are only few of the many products of our selection.

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner. We will make sure to share your comment with the teams concerned.
We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

GRAZIE MILLE
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Romanico Palace is a great hotel located within walking distance to almost all of the historical land marks, Roman ruins, restaurants, shopping and the subway. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and safe. There is a breakfast room on the 7th floor that has a beautiful view of the city.

The staff members there are fabulous! I have never stayed at a hotel or resort for that matter and experienced such warmth. Everyone was knowledgeable about the city and gave us tips and recommendations on what to do and how to get there. My husband and I were greeted with warm smiles each and every time we entered any room of the hotel. Everyone was genuinely warm and friendly and enjoyed interacting with all of the guests. My husband and I spent 7 days at the Hotel Romanico Palace and we were said to leave as we felt like we were leaving family behind.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will most certainly stay here again when returning to Rome.

Elleni G

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Elleni,

I absolutely loved your review; it is music to my ears to read that you thought of us as a “HOME AWAY FROM HOME”.

We’ve always believed that exceptional guest experiences will always boils down to delivering a true personalized style of service that is always warm, always welcome and always totally professional. I am therefore incredibly pleased that our commitment to delivering this service was so well reflected in your experience and can assure you that your feedback will not only be greatly appreciated by our entire team but will also serve as a wonderful motivator for us all.

The front desk and the concierge staff with Noemi and Giulio were delighted to assist you in planning your itinerary, whether it be for dining, museums and monuments, including St Peter's and the Vatican, theatres and opera, or private transfers to and from Rome Airport.

Our panoramic roof garden with a breathtaking view on the majesty of the capital of Italy is the right response for a sweet awakening: quality food and a large variety of products (homemade cakes, fresh seasonal fruit, organic jams, stuffed croissants, salty foods, products for people with gluten allergy). The perfect setting to enjoy, in a single moment, the beauty and art of Rome and the best genuine cuisine.

We aim to capture the hearts of all our guests, whichever part of the world they are from, and whatever the reason for their visit.

I am very happy to know your visit was memorable and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another wonderful roman holiday!

Best wishes
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First night of our tour was spent at this hotel and it's quite pleasant. The room was a bit small but had a king sized bed and served our purpose well. The breakfast was good and was served on the top floor with a nice view of Rome. Front Desk was helpful several times and always with good humor. I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Craig,

It’ a very pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay at the Romanico Palace Hotel.

I am thrilled that you had such a positive experience and simply over the moon that our service really stood out and exceeded your expectations.
We have an exceptionally passionate and enthusiastic team of individuals who truly enjoy being part of our guests’ experiences and simply love what they do. Your wonderful feedback is incredibly motivational for us all and is greatly appreciated.

The breakfast is so crucial for us. We focus and the quality of the products and follow up with all the comments from our clientele to make sure with fully satisfy every guest. Organic food, fresh pastries every morning, homemade cakes, biologic jam, products for people with gluten allergy..
The location is fantastic: a terrace that offers 360° panoramic views on the majesty of Rome, unbelievable way to start the day, we give to our guests the unforgettable opportunity to have a quality breakfast while looking out over the ruins of the greatest empire on earth, to the backdrop of the vibrant and beautiful Eternal City.

For all guest that leave the Hotel before 07 am, we are glad to offer the possibility to request a take away breakfast, there isn’t additional costs.

We always encourage our guests to review our room types on the Romanico website http://www.hotelromanico.com/en/camere.php prior to booking with us as well as contacting them via e-mail, this will ensure they receive their preferred room type and view.
We have different room categories which vary significantly in size and layout and I am very confident we have a room that will tick both the space and value box for all of our guests.

Thank you to recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back, we strive to ensure that you leave Romanico Palace with a face full of smiles, and a heart full of memories!

Yours faithfully
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice decorations, helpful staff. Big rooms.
Rooms were very noisy and without any isolation. WiFi was not working 3 days and staff was unable to fix it 3 days.Very bad smell in the bathroom (it was very challenging to go to the toilet or shower).Breakfast was very poor.

Room Tip: please make sure that room will be quiet, wifi will work. please complain to the staff if there is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Dalius,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing in regards to your experience at the Romanico Palace Hotel.

At our hotel we believe that success is in the details. I personally read and take seriously every review that is sent to Trip Advisor.

The silence of our rooms is exceptional, obtained through the use of soundproofed external walls and quadruple-glazed windows - a privilege which will let you appreciate the convenience of the center without giving up your quietness.
Despite our air conditioning system, you preferred to stay with open windows during the morning and in this way becomes impossible prevent the traffic noise.

The cleanliness of our hotel is our greatest pride, we received numerous awards from major booking sites for our special care and cleaning.
This is the first criticism that we receive in this direction, although when reception staff contacted you to know if your stay was OK, you did not show any complaint about this “bad smell” in the bathroom.
If we were advised of this issue, we would certainly satisfied your request as we always try to do our best.

My sincere apologies for the Wifi but unfortunately we were changing the telephone operator so the connection was pretty poor in the lobby, we decided to switch carriers because we want to offer the best services to our customers.
At today’s date, I am happy to say that speed and quality of wired and wireless Internet is in line to the high requirements that our business clientele would usually expect.

We receive so many positive comments about the breakfast : only the location worth the agreed price, every day we receive requests of the most famous photographers who want to use our roof garden to make their shots, we are one of the few hotels in Rome with a large terrace overlooking the city where you can enjoy a splendid 360° landscape.
Our buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of products: croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam.

I always recommend our customers to contact our reception, as you can see in previous reviews, our professional staff allow us to give you the undivided attention that you deserve.
Guests tell us that one of the main reasons they return is for our careful Staff, I firmly believe in this factor.

Overall is it clear that you did not have the positive experience we would have wanted and I am just sorry that we were not made aware of your unhappiness during your stay so we could have actively pursued avenues to change the situation around and make you comfortable.

Once again thank you for bringing your experience to our attention and I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Romanico Palace

Kind regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#168 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#325 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.