We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We got back last night after a 4 night stay and it was fantastic. Beautiful room on the 2th floor with a huge bed, the room was decorated in red and gold with huge windows. Bathroom had a huge shower all decorated in marble. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the metro and lots of restaurants.

The rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast was wonderful!!. Sat outside looking over Rome from the 7th floor.

Staff were very friendly and accomodating, nothing was too much trouble.

i highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your very kind review.

Every single detail of our room must make the difference: the precious marbles decorate the room with luster and shine, prized paintings and elegant finishes give it the exact prominent that only our architect (one of the most famous in Italy) is able to give with skill.
the Romanico Palace is really a few minutes away from main sites of interests of Rome: Spanish steps (10 minutes), Trevi Fountain (10 minutes), the gardens of Villa Borghese (5 minutes).
We are near to more genuine restaurants, taverns, bars, far from tourist traps with overpriced offers for bad quality, our concierge Giulio will always be at your complete disposal with his valuable advice to satisfy your stay and specially your hunger :-)

Our panoramic roof garden with a breathtaking view on the majesty of Rome is the right response for a sweet awakening: quality food and a large variety of products (homemade cakes, fresh seasonal fruit, organic jams, stuffed croissants, salty foods, products for people with gluten allergy).

We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and passionate team that work tirelessly to ensure that our customers’ expectations are exceeded during each visit, we have people of different nationalities trained to be courteous and efficient, aware of the need to pay attention to the cultural background of the different needs of our clients.

Thank you for submitting your impressions , we are sure this will help a lot all people looking for an accommodation in Rome....

See you again at the Romanico Palace Hotel..
Best regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    297
    171
    106
    47
See reviews for
126
502
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just visited Rome for our honeymoon and stayed at Hotel Romanico Palace for four nights. This place was exactly what we envisioned for our romantic getaway! Julio was exceptional and the concierge and staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, well kept, had free Wifi, and had the Italian romantic flare we were hoping for. Our room also had a balcony with the view of the charming cafes and quaint neighborhood below. We enjoyed the roof top terrace for breakfast each morning with the breathtaking view of the city of Rome! This hotel is centrally located in a great neighborhood with cafes and restaurants around every corner which are all within walking distance and a couple blocks away from free bus transportation to take you anywhere around the city. The staff here are very accommodating! We originally had reservations to stay at their other hotel location a couple doors down that is being renovated for more space for their guests and wanted to stay in the main hotel (nicer and more aesthetically pleasing). They allowed us to switch at no additional cost. They even held our bags for us when we were no longer staying there as we passed back through Rome from visiting other cities in Italy. If we ever have the opportunity to visit Rome again, we will definitely be staying at Hotel Romanico Palace and highly recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone:)

Room Tip: When making reservations, ask to stay in the main hotel and when researching, make sure to read spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your wonderful review!

Spending 4 nights in our beautiful Eternal City in order to spend a romantic and unforgettable honeymoon is thought to be one of the best choice for a new married couple! I Starting from the astonishing view you can enjoy from our rooftop restaurant, I felt bound to say that our amazing and suggestive corners went beyond all your expectations.
Regarding the staff, we always work hard to guarantee the guests the right one to one correspondence between the price you paid and the quality of our service and we are always pleased to help them whenever they want, hoping to meet their needs.
Concerning the rooms at the dependence as well as at the main building are all unique every one different from each other and they all recall the Imperial style. They are all located in one of the historical building of Via Boncompagni,located about 200 meters for the famous Fellinian Via Veneto , within 10 minutes walk for the main attractions as Piazza di Spagna or Trevi Fountain.
Thank you again from the bottom of our heart and if we have the pleasure to be at your service in the next future, get in contact with us directly in order to make sure that your stay would remain memorable!

GRAZIE MILLE DI NUOVO!

Noemi & Giulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel to be great. It's on a quite street, very safe just around the corner from the American ambassy.
There are lots of great places to eat within a 5 min walk.
The hotel itself is clean, the staff are extremely helpful.
If we were to visit Rome again this hotel will be on the top of my list.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you from the bottom of our heart for your nice words about our hotel !

Reading your wonderful review, a word like ESEMPLARE keeps coming to my mind to define our staff and the service we are always used to offering to our special guests!
We are really good at never losing of sight what our customer need at any time.
Next time you're in Rome please contact us directly and we are glad to be at your service and to be on the top of your list again!

GRAZIE MILLE

Giulio & Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff. Rooms beautifully decorated with traditional Italian style. Only 15 minute walk from Historic Rome centre, or buses can be caught outside the hotel. The breakfast on the roof top was lovely and you could look over Rome! concierge was very helpful too. I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Never had any problems with noise and nice and quiet (6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am delighted when we receive such great comments especially when guests appreciate our efforts. We work as a team and try to make our client’s time the most enjoyable and unforgettable. The attention to details is our priority, for any special request I always recommend to contact the Hotel and we will make sure that all your needs are met!
We really thank you a lot hoping to be at your service soon.
GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect, near Spanish steps. I cannot understand why they charge for Internet... Also the aircondition was making some strange noise (hope they fix it) rome was a great city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just came back from our five day stay at the Romanico hotel. Let me start with the positive and that would be the hotel's location. It's really easy to get to any of the Rome's main sightseeing spots from the hotel - my tip would be to take a bus or walk. The hotel is walk-able distance to the Spanish Steps and the Fountain di Trevi. Also the Villa Borghese park is near the hotel and you get really nice views of the Piazza del Popolo and the rest of Rome from up there. If you take bus 116, that will get you by the river and you can walk from there to Vatican or Trastavere. Don't bother taking the tube if you are travelling from/to the Termini station, you are better off walking (15mins) or taking a bus.

Now to the negatives - the hotel lobby is really luxurious and we were expecting the same from our room but were really disappointed when we saw the room. It looked very cheap & tacky. It did the job but for the money they charge, I was expecting more. The room looked nothing like the one on the website.
Don't ask the hotel staff for any directions or restaurant recommendations, because they were wrong every time we asked them. For example, re transport. we asked them how to get to Trastavere and were told to get a taxi (40 euro return trip) or to take a bus (which was a wrong bus btw). Luckily my boyfriend noticed that it's a wrong bus and got us on the right one. We paid 6 euros all together for the bus tickets with a bit of a walk. The staff recommended us one restaurant (sorry can't remember the name but it was the one what specialises on sea food/fish) - the food was less than average and was really overpriced - it was the worst food we had during our 5 day stay in Rome. You get better value for money even if you eat in the sightseeing spots like Trastavere.

Overall, the hotel is OK but not worth the money they charge for their rooms. I'm sure you can find better value for money elsewhere. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your comments with others! Feedbacks are really important for us. They help us to improve our standards. Our hotel is located in one of the most important and fascinating area of the Eternal City and within a few minutes walk from the most important attractions as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and so on . Regarding the rooms, our concept is: be Unique! Each room is different from the other, all unique in terms of space, color and furniture; They all decorated in Imperial Roman style and it couldn’t be otherwise.
Concerning the bus information, the actual roots that are listed on the web site are continually updated.
We normally recommend restaurants around the area and majority of our guests are extremely satisfied with our recommendations.
With the hope to have you again as guest in the near future, we would appreciate if you could contact us in advance in order to make sure your that time in Rome will be the best and unforgettable.
We send you our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in July and absolutely loved it. Great value for money, all staff were so helpful and friendly. We think the next time we stay in Italy we'd like to be closer to the piazzas for eating and drinking but for our first visit to the city it was a perfect location, we walked everywhere but there were bus stops just a few metres down the road, on one day it rained we did take the bus to the basillica and it was only 6 euros for an all day ticket with unlimited stops. You can get bus/metro tickets just across from hotel so it's really easy if you did want to. Also the hotel recommended a restaurant to us called il felini, it was just round the corner and the food and service there was absolutely amazing as well. Our room was lovely and cleaned everyday, the breakfast was nice, standard coffee/tea pastries, toast etc on the terrace. We would recommend this hotel to anybody. Thank you to all there, Cath and Luke.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#325 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.