We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff. Rooms beautifully decorated with traditional Italian style. Only 15 minute walk from Historic Rome centre, or buses can be caught outside the hotel. The breakfast on the roof top was lovely and you could look over Rome! concierge was very helpful too. I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Never had any problems with noise and nice and quiet (6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am delighted when we receive such great comments especially when guests appreciate our efforts. We work as a team and try to make our client’s time the most enjoyable and unforgettable. The attention to details is our priority, for any special request I always recommend to contact the Hotel and we will make sure that all your needs are met!
We really thank you a lot hoping to be at your service soon.
GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    292
    169
    105
    47
See reviews for
126
497
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect, near Spanish steps. I cannot understand why they charge for Internet... Also the aircondition was making some strange noise (hope they fix it) rome was a great city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just came back from our five day stay at the Romanico hotel. Let me start with the positive and that would be the hotel's location. It's really easy to get to any of the Rome's main sightseeing spots from the hotel - my tip would be to take a bus or walk. The hotel is walk-able distance to the Spanish Steps and the Fountain di Trevi. Also the Villa Borghese park is near the hotel and you get really nice views of the Piazza del Popolo and the rest of Rome from up there. If you take bus 116, that will get you by the river and you can walk from there to Vatican or Trastavere. Don't bother taking the tube if you are travelling from/to the Termini station, you are better off walking (15mins) or taking a bus.

Now to the negatives - the hotel lobby is really luxurious and we were expecting the same from our room but were really disappointed when we saw the room. It looked very cheap & tacky. It did the job but for the money they charge, I was expecting more. The room looked nothing like the one on the website.
Don't ask the hotel staff for any directions or restaurant recommendations, because they were wrong every time we asked them. For example, re transport. we asked them how to get to Trastavere and were told to get a taxi (40 euro return trip) or to take a bus (which was a wrong bus btw). Luckily my boyfriend noticed that it's a wrong bus and got us on the right one. We paid 6 euros all together for the bus tickets with a bit of a walk. The staff recommended us one restaurant (sorry can't remember the name but it was the one what specialises on sea food/fish) - the food was less than average and was really overpriced - it was the worst food we had during our 5 day stay in Rome. You get better value for money even if you eat in the sightseeing spots like Trastavere.

Overall, the hotel is OK but not worth the money they charge for their rooms. I'm sure you can find better value for money elsewhere. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your comments with others! Feedbacks are really important for us. They help us to improve our standards. Our hotel is located in one of the most important and fascinating area of the Eternal City and within a few minutes walk from the most important attractions as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and so on . Regarding the rooms, our concept is: be Unique! Each room is different from the other, all unique in terms of space, color and furniture; They all decorated in Imperial Roman style and it couldn’t be otherwise.
Concerning the bus information, the actual roots that are listed on the web site are continually updated.
We normally recommend restaurants around the area and majority of our guests are extremely satisfied with our recommendations.
With the hope to have you again as guest in the near future, we would appreciate if you could contact us in advance in order to make sure your that time in Rome will be the best and unforgettable.
We send you our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in July and absolutely loved it. Great value for money, all staff were so helpful and friendly. We think the next time we stay in Italy we'd like to be closer to the piazzas for eating and drinking but for our first visit to the city it was a perfect location, we walked everywhere but there were bus stops just a few metres down the road, on one day it rained we did take the bus to the basillica and it was only 6 euros for an all day ticket with unlimited stops. You can get bus/metro tickets just across from hotel so it's really easy if you did want to. Also the hotel recommended a restaurant to us called il felini, it was just round the corner and the food and service there was absolutely amazing as well. Our room was lovely and cleaned everyday, the breakfast was nice, standard coffee/tea pastries, toast etc on the terrace. We would recommend this hotel to anybody. Thank you to all there, Cath and Luke.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had to stay an additional night in Rome because of a passport snafu and was directed to the Romanico Palace Hotel. It is just a couple of blocks from the U.S. Embassy and Via Veneto, within 15 minutes of the Spanish Steps, so it was in a great location for me. I needed assistance to book an unexpectedly needed flight from Rome to Santorini, Greece, where I would catch back up with my cruise ship, so time was of the essence. The concierge, Julio, was awesome in helping me book my flight as well as assisting me with some other needs I had. He was just great. The hotel is very nice, the room and bathroom were quite large and nicely appointed, and they offer free WiFi. Additionally, they have a lobby bar with reasonably priced glasses of wine available. All in all, my experience at this hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It was in a central area and within walking distance to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We really liked our room, it was very romantic. Staff was very nice. Didn't particularly like the elevators but all the elevators in Italy are small like that. We didn't have breakfast there because we found a nice cafe a couple of doors down with fresh sandwiches and pastry that was cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you a lot for taking the time to share your nice feedback on Tripadvisor and we are truly delighted to read only great comments about our hotel following your recent and short stay that you enjoyed pleasantly with us.
The adjective “Romantic” is the best you could use, creating that magical and poetic consonance with “Romanico” which is always a pleasant music to our ears.
Not only is our location one of the most affascinating and famous in Rome, but it also allows our lovely customers to get in a few minutes to the best attractions such as Spanish Steps, Piazza Barberini, Borghese Garden which is considered as a naturally refreshing area in our Eternal City.
The cafè close to the hotel is surely nice for a quick breakfast but if you really desire to start your day in a perfectt way , you can't help trying the fantastic breakfast on the seventh floor, choosing among a large variety of food and drinks and enjoying in the meantime one of the greatest view of Rome during its sweet awakening!

MILLE GRAZIE ANCORA!

Giulio & Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

e


During our four day stay at this hotel we found the location to be just fantastic. Entering Rome (we rented a car), the roads to arrive into the neighborhood where this hotel is located are not too difficult to navigate and once we checked-in to the hotel we left our car parked all the while during our stay using the hotel’s parking which is available at an additional cost. From the hotel, it is about a five minute walk to the metro and about 15 minutes to the Spanish Steps. We actually only used the subway a couple of times as we found we were comfortable just walking to the major sights for an entire day’s outing. This hotel is on the same street as the American Embassy and others are around the corner so we felt very comfortable walking at any time of the day. Please note, not more than five minutes after we started walking towards the Spanish Steps a couple walked up to us looking for the police station (near the hotel). It seems the man had his wallet, he thought, safely tucked in the front pocket of his slacks - - - no such luck! His ran into a pickpocket as they were exiting the metro.

Our room was in a building a few doors removed from the main building of the hotel. Upon entering this building there is a set of steps up to one of those quaint old elevators, then there was another set of steps after we got off the elevator to the floor our room was on. The steps did not bother us, but if you absolutely cannot handle stairs, be certain to ask for a room in the main building. Out room was very spacious and clean. In addition to the bath and bedroom area there was a large sitting area with an armoire, desk and sofa.

Breakfast is served on the 7th floor of the main building. We found the coffee was hotter and there was a better selection of food if we arrived earlier. My husband said to be certain to note that the mortadella was delicious. The view from the breakfast room is very lovely, so it is a fantastic place to start the day.

The main building seemed to be having elevator issues a couple of the days during our stay. The building has two elevators, a newer larger elevator and an older smaller one. The newer elevator was out of order, so we had to use the smaller one up to the 7th floor for breakfast. T’was a bit too crowded feeling and warm for me so I used the stairway which was no problem at all.

The pricing of the hotel is very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay at Hotel Romanico Palace in Rome again, however we would be very certain to ask for a room in the main building and always arrive for breakfast early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and a lower level just in case there are elevator issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#330 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.