We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great concierge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - great concierge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had to stay an additional night in Rome because of a passport snafu and was directed to the Romanico Palace Hotel. It is just a couple of blocks from the U.S. Embassy and Via Veneto, within 15 minutes of the Spanish Steps, so it was in a great location for me. I needed assistance to book an unexpectedly needed flight from Rome to Santorini, Greece, where I would catch back up with my cruise ship, so time was of the essence. The concierge, Julio, was awesome in helping me book my flight as well as assisting me with some other needs I had. He was just great. The hotel is very nice, the room and bathroom were quite large and nicely appointed, and they offer free WiFi. Additionally, they have a lobby bar with reasonably priced glasses of wine available. All in all, my experience at this hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    313
    178
    111
    49
See reviews for
130
526
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It was in a central area and within walking distance to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We really liked our room, it was very romantic. Staff was very nice. Didn't particularly like the elevators but all the elevators in Italy are small like that. We didn't have breakfast there because we found a nice cafe a couple of doors down with fresh sandwiches and pastry that was cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you a lot for taking the time to share your nice feedback on Tripadvisor and we are truly delighted to read only great comments about our hotel following your recent and short stay that you enjoyed pleasantly with us.
The adjective “Romantic” is the best you could use, creating that magical and poetic consonance with “Romanico” which is always a pleasant music to our ears.
Not only is our location one of the most affascinating and famous in Rome, but it also allows our lovely customers to get in a few minutes to the best attractions such as Spanish Steps, Piazza Barberini, Borghese Garden which is considered as a naturally refreshing area in our Eternal City.
The cafè close to the hotel is surely nice for a quick breakfast but if you really desire to start your day in a perfectt way , you can't help trying the fantastic breakfast on the seventh floor, choosing among a large variety of food and drinks and enjoying in the meantime one of the greatest view of Rome during its sweet awakening!

MILLE GRAZIE ANCORA!

Giulio & Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

e


During our four day stay at this hotel we found the location to be just fantastic. Entering Rome (we rented a car), the roads to arrive into the neighborhood where this hotel is located are not too difficult to navigate and once we checked-in to the hotel we left our car parked all the while during our stay using the hotel’s parking which is available at an additional cost. From the hotel, it is about a five minute walk to the metro and about 15 minutes to the Spanish Steps. We actually only used the subway a couple of times as we found we were comfortable just walking to the major sights for an entire day’s outing. This hotel is on the same street as the American Embassy and others are around the corner so we felt very comfortable walking at any time of the day. Please note, not more than five minutes after we started walking towards the Spanish Steps a couple walked up to us looking for the police station (near the hotel). It seems the man had his wallet, he thought, safely tucked in the front pocket of his slacks - - - no such luck! His ran into a pickpocket as they were exiting the metro.

Our room was in a building a few doors removed from the main building of the hotel. Upon entering this building there is a set of steps up to one of those quaint old elevators, then there was another set of steps after we got off the elevator to the floor our room was on. The steps did not bother us, but if you absolutely cannot handle stairs, be certain to ask for a room in the main building. Out room was very spacious and clean. In addition to the bath and bedroom area there was a large sitting area with an armoire, desk and sofa.

Breakfast is served on the 7th floor of the main building. We found the coffee was hotter and there was a better selection of food if we arrived earlier. My husband said to be certain to note that the mortadella was delicious. The view from the breakfast room is very lovely, so it is a fantastic place to start the day.

The main building seemed to be having elevator issues a couple of the days during our stay. The building has two elevators, a newer larger elevator and an older smaller one. The newer elevator was out of order, so we had to use the smaller one up to the 7th floor for breakfast. T’was a bit too crowded feeling and warm for me so I used the stairway which was no problem at all.

The pricing of the hotel is very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay at Hotel Romanico Palace in Rome again, however we would be very certain to ask for a room in the main building and always arrive for breakfast early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and a lower level just in case there are elevator issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent a week exploring Rome and really enjoyed this hotel. It is close to walking distance of the tourist attractions and yet located in a quiet part of the city close to the embassies and businesses. It is very close to Villa Borghese and about a 15 minute walk to The Spanish Steps. There are several good restauarants located closeby. The staff are incredibly friendly and everyone is there taking good care of your needs especially the serving staff at breakfast where the view of the city inspires one for a day of sightseeing. If you are staying in Rome for a duration of at least 3 days remember to purchase your Roma Pass to visit museums and use the public transportation. You also should check in with the concierge Noemi and her partner who will answer your questions and book trips to see the sites; theatre tickets, etc. They will happily assist to your travel needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for the best words that you chose accurately to describe our hotel in a perfect way.We really would like to offer our customers a service that could be surprisingly better than they may imagine, making them live a memorable and dream stay.Our fantastic breakfast offers you all the variety of food and drinks from soft and fresh croissants, homemade cakes to our famous “Cappuccino” or “Espresso” kindly served by our staff on the seventh floor and gives you the opportunity of planning your future days from enjoying the amazing panoramic view of our Eternal City, defined as the spectacular encyclopedia of living history.If it’s true that all roads lead to Rome, I hope to have the chance to be again at your service in the next future and I send you my WARMEST REGARDS!

GRAZIE ANCORA from the bottom of our heart!

Giulio & Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location of the hotel was very convenient.Almost everything was within walking distance. There was also a bus stop nearby and the metro station was just 400m away. The staff was very helpful (special thanks to Roberto) and the room was very clean as well.Moreover, our room was upgraded to a deluxe one, without extra cost. The breakfast offered on the top floor of the hotel was absolutely satisfying and the view was fantastic. Definately would go back!

No free wi-fi, which is really unimportant when in Rome...Just in case!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review left. Our priority is always to satisfy our customer’s requests and we always work hard to guarantee to them an excellent service. Regarding the Wi-fi,I can assure you that it is absolutely free and if you ask our staff, a code with username and password will be kindly delivered to you. Neverthless,as you rightly said, it would be a pity to spend a lot of time on Internet when you can spend a pleasant day in our wonderful city, rich of attractions which are worth to see.

THANK YOU A LOT!

Giulio & Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in this quirky hotel. Great location. Smiling Angelo serves a great wine, nothing is too much trouble for Roberto on reception. Found all the staff friendly and helpful, especially as my Italian is very limited. The breakfasts are a little limited, but adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your nice comments about our hotel and especially about our staff that I'm always proud to define as the "centerpiece" of our magnificent hotel. With great smiles and always taking a kind attitude, we are delighted to serve our customers in order to meet their needs and satisfy completely all their requests.

GRAZIE MILLE and please don't hesitate to contact directly the Hotel to keep up to date about our new services as the romantic dinner at the roof garden where the illuminated Rome is on your feet to make your future stay memorable.

Giulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm always sceptical about reviews and always end up worrying if I read negative ones....so here's an HONEST review. We stayed in one of the rooms in the annex reached by stairs or a rather small lift! Carpet was a bit shabby on route but the room was ok, clean with A/C. Jacuzzi bath didn't work but that didn't bother us. The photos on the website do over glamorise the hotel to be honest but basically you get what you pay for! Our main complaint was that the hotel didn't accept credit cards, which to he honest, in this day is hard to believe! We didn't eat here so can't coment on food. Overall a satisfactory stay but not a UK 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for the nice comments you have shared with others. All the feedback that are given are quite precious to us. They help to improve the service The rooms at the dependence are all unique every one different from each other and they all recall the Imperial style. They are all located in one of the historical building of Via Boncompagni. Anyone that would like to experience where and how the Romans live in the center of the Eternal city, this would the right solution. The building itself is about 150 years old located about 200 meters for the famous Fellinian Via Veneto , within 10 minutes walk for the main attractions as Piazza di Spagna or Trevi Fountain.
It is a pity you didn’t have the chance to try our fantastic breakfast room with its astonishing panoramic view. With all the variety of food and drinks ,the roof garden is probably the best way to start your morning, perhaps with a fresh Italian Cappuccino with an homemade slice of cake.
I can guarantee that any pictures would not be able to express the beauty of such great place as our lovely terrace!
Regarding the payment for any kind of service ,We do accept ALL type of cards.
We really hope to have the pleasure to be at your service on your next holiday in the Eternal city
If possible get in contact with us directly in order to make sure that your stay would remain memorable.
From myself and the rest of the staff a big GRAZIE!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rome
#170 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#324 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.