We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer care ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #406 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best customer care ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked this hotel several months ago through an online site that promoted several benefits including free breakfast, which I was particularly interested after seeing the photos on the hotel website that drives me to choose for this property.
Later I contacted the hotel for assistance with the organization of the transfer from the airport and in the time of a few e-mail had already arranged everything, even giving me great tips about my days to spend in Rome .. in fact it was my first time in the Eternal City!

The bad surprise came when finally at check in I found out that even though my reservation was talking about breakfast included, then the Hotel received it without breakfast! After a moment of disappointment, I immediately felt at ease as 2 people of the staff had taken care of my problem, and while one of them contacted the online agencies, the other took care of me and Barbara, my girlfriend, offering a drink at the bar.

After 5 minutes the problem was already solved, no time to finish the drink (which, however, was very good) that we were informed that breakfast would be included in the stay for sure and without any additional costs and that they would solve the problem directly with the online site whom I had booked, which apparently was not new to these unprofessional practices!

The rest of my 3 days in Rome was wonderful, I discovered a beautiful city that will surely be back to visit, and will definitely return to the Hotel Romanico Palace that all members of his staff proved to be one of the best hotels I have ever been, where the customer is always the center of attention, even before the stay and then during our days there, giving us many many good suggestion about place to go and things to do, booking for us City Tour and much more!

Surely the next time I'll return, I will book directly with the hotel by contacting their reservation office, always better to talk with someone who provides the service rather than an online agency where the traveller is just a number!

A big thank you to all, GRAZIE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    279
    159
    101
    45
See reviews for
115
476
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel is in a really good position, and on the plus side the the rooms are clean and the bed really comfortable. There is no way this is a 4 star hotel though. Decor definitely needs updating and the stair carpet and walls in particular are quite grubby. The lift broke while we were there. Don't bother with breakfast and as previous reviews say the rooftop is not as good as it looks and the roof does not open, basically overlooking rooftops, not as nice as portrayed. Watered down tasteless fruit juices, luke warm water each morning for tea and coffee, stale bread for toast which had obviously been left out overnight and fruit consisted of watermelon or tinned prunes! Front of house staff man , tall, bald headed man with glasses was quite rude, extremely unhelpful when we requested lower floor room for my dad who struggled to walk despite mentioning we were celebrating a birthday there, rooms were very small and disappointing. The Americans seemed to have all the nice rooms, so you are ok if your American :)) most staff ignored you not even a good morning as they passed you. Overpriced bar prices even for Rome, would not stay here again to be honest.

Room Tip: Don't have 483/487
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although we have traveled quite a bit throughout Europe and have very reasonable expectations for accomodations, this hotel was a disappointment. The conciege was helpful and friendly. However the front desk staff was downright rude. The rooftop terrace is closed in the evening. Do not be mislead by the picture the hotel has posted. It would have been lovely to sit on the roof at night and enjoy the skyline. Unfortunately, this is not possible. Very poor operating elevators (my husband got stuck). We will not be returning to this hotel on our next trip to Roma. The room was clean, bed was just fine. The location is ok, close walk to Via Veneto and near the US Embassy. Overpriced. The staff really ruined this experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your kind review. Your point of view for us is really important and it makes us improve our services. The hotel,as you mentioned, is located in one of the most important,fashionable and historical area of the eternal city. In fact within a few minutes you can reach the best attractions as Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Via del Corso and so on. The terrace on the seventh floor is opened in the morning for the breakfast. Its astonishing view and the vast selection of food and drinks will make an excellent start of the day. During the evening, a dinner service can be arranged in the most romantic way…Imagine the illuminated Rome whilst you’re tasting Italian food and drinking a nice glass of wine. We are very happy that you found your room nice and very clean. Each room at the Hotel Romanico Palace is different from the other. We are very proud to offer a very unique style. In order to make your Roman holiday memorable we always recommend to contact the hotel directly. We always make sure that the clients needs are met. We really hope to have the pleasure to have you again as a guest and demonstrate you that our service is really good.

Giulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

windsor, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed four nights at this charming hotel, just a little off the beaten path. The location turned out to be perfect as it was within walking distance of many sites, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. We walked just about every where, although I will admit that some people may think it is a little farther away than they might like. My husband and I committed to walking everywhere we went in Rome as you are less likely to miss things! We even walked to the Coliseum area and the Vatican. The staff here was very welcoming from the beginning, and our room was quite nice, with a large tub and shower combo. Not always easy to find in Italy! We had breakfast included and found it to be fine although not what most Americans would expect. That is part of traveling, though. Nice bar area with reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to the hotel staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location just a block or so from the US embassy. However, the rooms are a little over the top in the decor department. The staff is friendly for Romans but not so by American standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we order b&b deal , at the check in the reception staff (that was super not nice) told us that our deal not include breakfast, than other staff manager try to explain us the interior problem that the hotel have with the agency that we place the order ( price line) and all that - just not to let your guest having a breakfast that was seriously not worth it!

all other detail like rooms , food service were not the level of 4 star hotel.

must say that the concierge guy was totally different and help us so much with the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are sorry for the breakfast issue but at the end the service was provided without any extra cost at our fabulous terrace on the top floor with its splendid panoramic view.
Please be aware that making a reservation through any Online Agency or website – except the official hotel’s website, you don’t deal directly with the hotel so, like in your case, there might be communication problems about the room/service booked. The hotel must follow-up a spefic procedure to inform the Agency and must wait its reply to allow amendment and changes.
That is one of main reason why I always recommend EVERYONE to email our staff to double check the reservation and express any request, in order to make sure that all the needs are met.
Hoping to be at your service again in the next future, from myself and the rest of the team a big THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was situated in a perfect area in Rome, a short walk from the bars and restaurants, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, and the hop on hop off buses which are vital for seeing all of the sights of Rome. We were situated in the annex part of the building, the rooms were clean and we weren't disappointed with the decor, the reason why I booked this particular hotel.
I will be returning to Rome and would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice words that will be shared with everyone!
As I always recommend, when possible, try to contact the hotel directly in order to make sure that all YOUR needs are met!
We really hope to be at your service in the next future!
From all the staff and I a big GRAZIE!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#335 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.