We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although we have traveled quite a bit throughout Europe and have very reasonable expectations for accomodations, this hotel was a disappointment. The conciege was helpful and friendly. However the front desk staff was downright rude. The rooftop terrace is closed in the evening. Do not be mislead by the picture the hotel has posted. It would have been lovely to sit on the roof at night and enjoy the skyline. Unfortunately, this is not possible. Very poor operating elevators (my husband got stuck). We will not be returning to this hotel on our next trip to Roma. The room was clean, bed was just fine. The location is ok, close walk to Via Veneto and near the US Embassy. Overpriced. The staff really ruined this experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your kind review. Your point of view for us is really important and it makes us improve our services. The hotel,as you mentioned, is located in one of the most important,fashionable and historical area of the eternal city. In fact within a few minutes you can reach the best attractions as Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Via del Corso and so on. The terrace on the seventh floor is opened in the morning for the breakfast. Its astonishing view and the vast selection of food and drinks will make an excellent start of the day. During the evening, a dinner service can be arranged in the most romantic way…Imagine the illuminated Rome whilst you’re tasting Italian food and drinking a nice glass of wine. We are very happy that you found your room nice and very clean. Each room at the Hotel Romanico Palace is different from the other. We are very proud to offer a very unique style. In order to make your Roman holiday memorable we always recommend to contact the hotel directly. We always make sure that the clients needs are met. We really hope to have the pleasure to have you again as a guest and demonstrate you that our service is really good.

Giulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    283
    161
    103
    45
See reviews for
114
471
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windsor, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed four nights at this charming hotel, just a little off the beaten path. The location turned out to be perfect as it was within walking distance of many sites, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. We walked just about every where, although I will admit that some people may think it is a little farther away than they might like. My husband and I committed to walking everywhere we went in Rome as you are less likely to miss things! We even walked to the Coliseum area and the Vatican. The staff here was very welcoming from the beginning, and our room was quite nice, with a large tub and shower combo. Not always easy to find in Italy! We had breakfast included and found it to be fine although not what most Americans would expect. That is part of traveling, though. Nice bar area with reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to the hotel staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location just a block or so from the US embassy. However, the rooms are a little over the top in the decor department. The staff is friendly for Romans but not so by American standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we order b&b deal , at the check in the reception staff (that was super not nice) told us that our deal not include breakfast, than other staff manager try to explain us the interior problem that the hotel have with the agency that we place the order ( price line) and all that - just not to let your guest having a breakfast that was seriously not worth it!

all other detail like rooms , food service were not the level of 4 star hotel.

must say that the concierge guy was totally different and help us so much with the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are sorry for the breakfast issue but at the end the service was provided without any extra cost at our fabulous terrace on the top floor with its splendid panoramic view.
Please be aware that making a reservation through any Online Agency or website – except the official hotel’s website, you don’t deal directly with the hotel so, like in your case, there might be communication problems about the room/service booked. The hotel must follow-up a spefic procedure to inform the Agency and must wait its reply to allow amendment and changes.
That is one of main reason why I always recommend EVERYONE to email our staff to double check the reservation and express any request, in order to make sure that all the needs are met.
Hoping to be at your service again in the next future, from myself and the rest of the team a big THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was situated in a perfect area in Rome, a short walk from the bars and restaurants, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, and the hop on hop off buses which are vital for seeing all of the sights of Rome. We were situated in the annex part of the building, the rooms were clean and we weren't disappointed with the decor, the reason why I booked this particular hotel.
I will be returning to Rome and would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice words that will be shared with everyone!
As I always recommend, when possible, try to contact the hotel directly in order to make sure that all YOUR needs are met!
We really hope to be at your service in the next future!
From all the staff and I a big GRAZIE!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is well located and reasonable for central Rome. It's in a quiet neighborhood, which is worth thinking about in this city. If you don't mind walking, you can walk to most any of the major attractions (except St. Peters Basilica and the Coliseum area). It is clean, the staff are helpful and the breakfast on the rooftop is fine, though nothing to boast about. The bathroom was very large and entirely renovated with a huge beautifully tiled tub and all sorts of gadgets--but no towel racks! The actual bedroom was pretty small and cramped (as is the case for many hotels in Italy), possibly smaller than the bathroom! It was slightly less claustrophobic if we had the French windows open, which you can do because there is very little street noise. The decor is all red and gold--definitely not my taste, but the beds themselves and linens were nice. Elevators are very slow in the mornings around breakfast and check-out times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write you nice review!
The position of the hotel Romanico Palace is very central, very close to all the major attractions.
Regarding your room, it is nice your appreciation towards the bathroom, probably is the most “ROMAN“ room of the hotel! All our the rooms are different from each other, in terms of color,space, and furniture. They all recall the Imperial style but all unique!
As I always recommend, please call the hotel directly and if you do have any special request please ask and we will try our best to make sure that your needs are met!
We really hope to be at your service in the next future!
From all the staff and I a big GRAZIE!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After reading very mixed reviews of the hotel I went there with an open mind and fairly low expectations. It is worth staying here for the location, its really central (and on an offer very good value compared to other central hotels which we found very expensive generally), in a quiet spot and you can easily walk everywhere you want to go in 15-30 mins. The promotion we booked had us upgraded to one of the "suites" (shown in the picture) which was large but the decor was run down and a very tatty (as was the rest of the hotel except the lobby which was nice) and it wasn't really luxurious. However, there were clean sheets and towels and the bathroom was spotless and very modern which was the main thing for us as we spent little time in the hotel. The room was very spacious and had a nice balcony which was lovely in the sun although the "Jacuzzi" was filthy. Breakfast was a non event, nice roof terrace though. If you are happy with a piece of toast and a coffee before you head out, which is all we wanted, then its fine but otherwise you will be disappointed. Overall, we booked the hotel on a special promotion and didn't pay much for it. I didn't see the other rooms but had it not been for the upgrade to the bigger room with the balcony, and if we had paid full price, I would have been extremely disappointed. (were a couple in our early 20's)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.