We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #406 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
HOlland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Superb Staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I liked this hotel! The entourage is luxurious & baroque (yes, I am aware it is faux, but who cares) and the staff is absolutely brilliant. They did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. A+.

We were a bit unlucky with the room: only Italian channels on the tv (whereas the channels-menu stays they also have BBC and CNN), the jet streams in the bathtub did not work and somehow on the second day we found our door unlockable (you could open it from the outside), but still, you don't hear me complaining.

The hotel was a bit farther away from Piazza Barberini than we anticipated on, but we did find some nice places around the hotel. There is a lovely and affordable Irish pub a just 150 meters from the hotel (we found the bar pretty expensive), and some nice restaurants, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    284
    161
    103
    45
See reviews for
114
472
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a two night city break.

The plus points:

Hotel is central and within easy walking distance of the via veneto.

The staff are helpful and speak good English.

The rooms are clean and big enough for a couple of nights.

The breakfast is a selection of cold buffet and was fine for what we needed.

The style of the hotel is kind of 'faux roman' with everything painted to look old. It kind of amused us more than anything !!!

The downside:

We had asked for rooms near to our friends. We had the 2 nd floor with a small balcony and they had the 4th floor with a view of a brick wall and some pipe work ! So request a balcony if u want one!

Our toilet kept constantly blocking and always left a drain smell in the room !

The bar does not stock everything on display. Some of them are empty bottles or boxes....

Nice hotel and fine for a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if u want one. some rooms have an internal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was my third trip to Italy, so I've had a few experiences with other hotels there. I must say, this hotel was amazing. It was on he northeast side of the city, about a 10 minute walk to Trevi Fountain.

First, location. Location was great because it was off the beaten path from the hustle and bustle of touristy attractions. It was a quiet area with tons of good restaurants around it. It was about a 5 minute walk to the Capuchin Crypt and the Barberini square (which is also where the metro is).
It was about 2 blocks from the Borghese gardens which are just absolutely lovely, so overall, if you want to be in a quiet area where you can relax after a long day, this hotel is perfect.

Our room:
We upgraded to the Luxury Suite while we were there and let me tell you, it was worth every single penny. It was the corner suite that had an outside jacuzzi and overlooked the city. We even had the pleasure of seeing fireworks from out balcony, which was magnificent. The room was gorgeous and had all the amenities I needed. The only thing I found was disappointing was the wifi access from the room. My life revolves around having the internet and having internet access, so that was the only negative thing I have to say.
Other than that, the bathroom was spotless, the shower had jet massagers, and the actual room was perfect for the two of us.

The hotel:
The staff were so incredibly helpful while we were there! Everyone was so nice and so willing to help us out with whatever we needed. The hotel had a bar where we could sit and enjoy wine or even a mixed drink and just relax. Once again, let me say the staff were great!

Overall:
Everything about this hotel is spot on. It is unique, gorgous, and the staff are so great! The rooms, although not as big as American rooms, are still great. Who needs a big room anyways when you're just sleeping and relaxing there!

The only thing I would wish to change is the wifi. There is wifi access but it is kind of quirky and doesn't work as well as I would have wished. If the wifi would have been better, this hotel would have had 5 stars from me.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to luxury suite for the best view and romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

it is a great location and rooms a spacious and "traditonally/antik" decorated -a bit of "kitsch" not for those as myself who are a bit allergic but oterwise very nice- the reception is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast at the top floor is na experinece by its own

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, just me and my son, it was a very pleasant stay, the location is very good , staff members excellent, the rooms were very clean , complimentary breakfast was decent. I will pick this hotel again when i go back to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently had a short holiday in Rome with my mum and my sister. We'd not been on holiday together for a while and booked our trip via lastminute.com and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It was our first time in Rome.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for us.

Location: It was located within reasonable walking distance of all the main tourist attractions in the city and plenty of good restaurants within a short walking distance. The view from the restaurant at the top of the hotel offered a fantastic view across the city

Ambience: The decor was a comfortable mixture of sumptuousness and modernity. The hotel was well decorated and maintained well throughout the building. Our room, containing two double beds, was spacious, uncluttered light and airy whilst also offering a decorative interior design and artistic detail to make the room seem a bit special unlike the traditional, predictable bland hotel interiors that you see so often. The room was very clean, all of the electrical goods worked as did all the plumbing which was well maintained.

The staff: The staff were extremely polite, helpful and friendly. Giulio Fantozzi was very helpful when we were organising a day trip to a neighboring village in the area. He recommended Bracciano, along with details as to how to get there, which was an excellent day out.

The food: We only had breakfast at the hotel but the food that we did have offered a good variety of continental breakfast foods. It set us up for the day ahead nicely. The coffee was lovely.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights for our first trip to Rome. Really enjoyed it. This hotel is spotless, welcoming and accommodating. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, without exception. They were brilliant at helping us find the best ways to get about the city, with the Metro station being minutes away. Would stay here again when we visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.