We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot of athmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Romanico Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“a lot of athmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

it is a great location and rooms a spacious and "traditonally/antik" decorated -a bit of "kitsch" not for those as myself who are a bit allergic but oterwise very nice- the reception is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast at the top floor is na experinece by its own

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    283
    161
    103
    45
See reviews for
114
471
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, just me and my son, it was a very pleasant stay, the location is very good , staff members excellent, the rooms were very clean , complimentary breakfast was decent. I will pick this hotel again when i go back to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently had a short holiday in Rome with my mum and my sister. We'd not been on holiday together for a while and booked our trip via lastminute.com and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It was our first time in Rome.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for us.

Location: It was located within reasonable walking distance of all the main tourist attractions in the city and plenty of good restaurants within a short walking distance. The view from the restaurant at the top of the hotel offered a fantastic view across the city

Ambience: The decor was a comfortable mixture of sumptuousness and modernity. The hotel was well decorated and maintained well throughout the building. Our room, containing two double beds, was spacious, uncluttered light and airy whilst also offering a decorative interior design and artistic detail to make the room seem a bit special unlike the traditional, predictable bland hotel interiors that you see so often. The room was very clean, all of the electrical goods worked as did all the plumbing which was well maintained.

The staff: The staff were extremely polite, helpful and friendly. Giulio Fantozzi was very helpful when we were organising a day trip to a neighboring village in the area. He recommended Bracciano, along with details as to how to get there, which was an excellent day out.

The food: We only had breakfast at the hotel but the food that we did have offered a good variety of continental breakfast foods. It set us up for the day ahead nicely. The coffee was lovely.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights for our first trip to Rome. Really enjoyed it. This hotel is spotless, welcoming and accommodating. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, without exception. They were brilliant at helping us find the best ways to get about the city, with the Metro station being minutes away. Would stay here again when we visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deep in Powder
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We bid on 4* Hotels for a 5 day stay via Priceline and got Hotel Romanico Palace. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we were very apprehensive, fearing we would wind up in the annex or worse. However we were very pleasantly surprised with the comfort and cleanliness of our room, the professionalism of the staff, specially the breakfast terrace wait staff and the gentleman Latte barista, who remembered our preference from day one. The initial check in at the front desk went smooth and the senior gentleman who helped us was very professional, gave us good tips on dining establishments and sightseeing options. I believe his name is Nikki(not sure of the spelling). Internet service was acceptable considering and worked as well as in other parts we had visited in the previous 4 weeks. The location of the hotel is great, close to many of the major sights in Rome. All in all we would stay here again.
Roland from USA

Room Tip: Our Room was a little small, but what the h... we are in Europe. We were at the 5th Floor and did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent the weekend here. I was initially a little skeptical over booking in the Annex - however I can now tell that the Annex is no longer an Annex - and that the rooms are now an integrated part of the main hotel. Excellent - spot on - great location, nice rooms, new bathrooms, great staff - and great value for money. The decor is actually really nice - and not tacky as it might appear in the pictures.

Anyone complaining about this hotel had wrong expectations to start with. This is Rome - not Dubai.

Just around the corner you get a great breakfast for less than EUR 10 for 2 people - so anyone who is going to get upset by the classic Italian hotel breakfast can save themselves the headache.

Anyway - this hotel hit the spot with me. I was very impressed with the value for money and would recommend it to any couple looking for a nice hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am delighted when we receive such great comments especially when guests appreciate our efforts. We work as a team and try to make our client’s time the most enjoyable and unforgettable. The attention to details is our priority, for any special request I always recommend to contact the Hotel and we will make sure that all your needs are met!
We really thank you a lot hoping to be at your service soon.
GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a room at the Residenza Luxury in Rome which is next door but due to overbooking(?) we ended up staying here. Pretty sure this hotel is nicer than where we booked so we felt like we got a good deal price wise. Our room was nice, much nicer than your average hotel rooms. Bathrooms were nice with a nice shower (with rain shower and body spray nozzles). Hotel was in a nice clean part of town and not your general touristy part of town (that being said restaurant prices nearby reflected the nicer part of town). The hotel isn't right next to any sights but is around 10 blocks from a metro station.
We did have a problem with breakfast. The actual breakfast was nice but we were told upon check in that breakfast was included, then when we checked out we were told it wasn't and that we had to pay 60 Euro for breakfast (15E per person for each breakfast)! Absolutely an outrageous price!! On top of this they claimed to have a slip we'd signed saying we were okay with paying, turns out it was a slip signed by the breakfast manager who had previously told us our breakfast was included! Quite unprofessional and sketchy in our opinion. We argued until we didn't have to pay it but if you stay here be aware of this as it could end up costing you a lot to eat a glorified continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I really appreciate the time that you have dedicated to write your review.

this means a lot to us and helps us to improve our service!
With regards the Breakfast sometimes could happen that the reservation that the client has differs for the one that the hotel has.

We do apogieze for the misunderstanding and I can gurantee that on your next visit to Rome, please consider the offer of a free upgrade and perhaps we can enjoy an espresso together at our lovely terrace on the roof garden.
From all the staff and I GRAZIE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#164 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romanico Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.